We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
uMhlanga Sands Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great place to stay, excellent view to the ocean and great staff that are willing to help the guest at anytime. The place is clean and entertaining with live music during the dinner time. I will recommend the place to my friends.




  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mgcineni Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    198
    56
    16
    16
See reviews for
354
176
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Umhlanga is probably the best destination for a warm holiday at the coast during a cold inland winter. Choices on the beach are limited to two very expensive 5 star hotels (not advisable with an extended family) and self catering flat rentals. Although the rentals top the millions in value, they are more likely poorly maintained, aged and furnished with the worst pawnshop furniture! Few have pools. The Umhlanga Sands has everything and caters for everyone with brilliant, effective staff, excellent facilities, newly renovated units and amazing views. It is, however, a 4 star timeshare resort and do not always have availability for shorter stays. I can recommend this to anyone with or without a family for a great holiday and other hotels can send their staff there for training as to how to perfect customer service. That includes other hotels of higher stars in the same group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliviersfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great resort. Safe, clean and everything is on your doorstep. The staff are fantastic. The rooms overlook the sea and are beautiful. Its a perfect venue for the family or a romantic getaway. I will definitely be back.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent family resort with lots of entertainment for kids. Within walking distance from Umhlanga Rocks restaurants and shops. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. Was spacious and clean. Seems tha rooms was renovated recently.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skk312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked the honeymoon suite at Dinokeng game lodge. What a fabulously relaxing environment. The suite is brilliant with its own deck overlooking the water. The restaurant has a crocodile lying right beneath the deck waiting for a leftover piece of meat. The gardens and breakfast were amazing. The game roam freely in the resort, which was really special. The next night we moved to the rondawel, as we could only have the suite for one night - definately not where I wanted to be after being spoilt.

Room Tip: Definitely the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan and Mathi... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My second stay at this resort for the year and they never disappoint. The best coastline views, loads of kiddies activities and a totally awesome team driven to service excellence. Special thanks to Meresh and Dhirasha along with Carissa, Lawrence, Asthira and Goolam. This is really a special team and only after you have experienced their hospitality, will you understand!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Aradhana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very Family orientated, Very Safe and the kids don't want to go to any other reasort in South Africa. this is quite an accomplishment as my kids they are well travelled. Friendly Staff and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Vishnu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.1 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to uMhlanga Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about uMhlanga Sands Resort

Property: uMhlanga Sands Resort
Address: 44 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — uMhlanga Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort located mere steps away from the pristine Umhlanga beachfront, the Umhlanga Sands Timeshare Resort is the perfect location for travellers looking for something out of the ordinary. Sporting easy access to all the major tourist attractions as well as fantastic facilities geared towards holiday activities, the Umhlanga Sands is a perfect destination for families seeking self-catering Timeshare accommodation in KwaZulu Natal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your uMhlanga Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Umhlanga Sands Hotel
Umhlanga Rocks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing