We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good meal”
Review of Butcher Block

Butcher Block
Ranked #34 of 131 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty good meal”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I was on business and stayed at the hotel that houses the restaurant. Service was very good, quality of meat was excellent and well worth the visit. Did seem a bit on the pricy side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    58
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse by far”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We went to the Butcher block on Sunday 16 June to celebrate fathersday. The welcome we receives was warm and inviting. The tables were neatly set and the view of the ocean was great. I had the oxtail which was absolutely brilliant. My wife had a steak which was also very good. Our waiter was very friendly and the whole experience was fantastic. I would highly recommend this restaurant and they are gaurenteed a returning customer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This excellent restaurant is located in Holiday Inn Express is Umhlanga. Service is very good, but the steaks are excellent on my two recent visits. Despite its 'hidden' location near Gateway shopping centre, they were busy on both nights, testament to their good food

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

A modern, tasteful restaurant consistent with the brand. The food is excellent (especially meats) and servings are generous. Staff are very helpful, knowledgable and seem to have a great attitude. Pricing is average. All in all a nice place to dine. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“cold food”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

ordered through Holiday Inn express - one hour later no food. another call down and had to re-order. when food arrived at hotel we collected from reception and paid. Food was stone cold and tasted awful - it was only pasta - you can't do much to make it terrible but it was horrid. ended up in the bin

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butcher Block also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Block? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing