We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll definitely be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lavender Moon
Ranked #16 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'll definitely be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had a wonderful 2 nights stay here while in Durban for work. It has a lovely relaxed atmosphere that allows you to unwind, and was the best 2 nights sleep I have had in weeks.

The breakfast is also amazing! My first morning there I was surprised with a breakfast burger, which tastes even better than it sounds!

Maria and her staff are also incredibly welcoming and helpful, and their personal touches and friendly manor helps round off a great stay.

This will definitely be my preferred accommodation when in Durban in future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Hobson_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I along with our 4 children (ages 18,10,5,2) recently visited South Africa from Philadelphia and spent 18 nights at a Viletta. I searched for accommodation for several months and spoke to several people but just couldn't find something that totally suited our needs. I was a bit apprehensive about staying at a B&B with the children but after speaking to Maria on the phone I felt at ease and confident that a Viletta was going to be able to meet our needs.

Maria and her staff were just amazing during our entire stay. We loved the morning breakfasts on the balcony overlooking the ocean. It was a beautiful setting matched with a great breakfast every morning. Maria was very attentive to any request we had and did whatever she could to make our stay more comfortable. We felt like we were being hosted by family as opposed to staying at a B&B. My kids loved Maria and the staff and still speak of them weeks after our return.

We highly recommend a Viletta for your next stay. Its close to many great attractions for the entire family, great restaurants and malls close by as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Guest House is located in the magnificent Umhlanga Ridge with a great view of the ocean. The price is very reasonable considering the large and comfortable rooms and the scrumptious breakfast. Better still, La Lucia and Umhlanga are just 3 minutes away.

Room Tip: I like room 2 & 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcobane_Quvile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I'd say this little place is comfortable but not outstanding as the few reviews on here led me to believe (appreciate we all have different views).

Maria was unbelievably brilliant on booking and liaising with me before arrival, though sadly away when I was there so we didn't meet in person. I have no doubt her hospitality is 2nd to none.

The room I was in was pretty small though as I was travelling alone and only there 2 nights not a problem. In my view a few small touches would have made all the difference - cushion covers on the cushions on bed for example rather than just the bare cushion, and nice firm pillows - the pillows looked old to me and were very flimsy.

Note it's quite a hike into town if you want to walk (worse on way back up as all uphill) down a massive road, which I hadn't quite understood before booking. Another touch which would have helped was to have had maps for guests, and info on where to find tourist office. It may have been because Maria was away but nothing like this was available.

Breakfast good.

Think this place has fab potential but prob wouldnt stay again.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LianeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardes Hannah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Search high and low, and you will find it hard to match the high standards of this modest guest house, and the treatment that you get.

Let's take it one by one:

Internet connection: the secured WiFi works flawlessly. It was much better than the connectivity that we had at the office we worked with.

Room: comfortable beds, a safe, a view to the ocean, roomy closet and a spotless modern bathroom. You also get your own kettle, with an assortment of coffee and tea, and your own fridge.

Food: the breakfast is very nice, and Maria the landlady is asking for your requests and does her best to have them met. Would you like some fish with an omelet? You will get creamed salmon with a hefty juicy omelet to accompany it.

Hosting: the landlady Maria has the sole of a true hostess. You very quickly understand that for her you are not just a guest - you are first and foremost a person. She will treat you with great respect, and will go out of her way to keep you satisfied. And it is clear that she does not do it out of business thinking, but simply because this is who she is.

If I am ever back to Durban, I will be sure to take upon Maria's hospitality once again.

Sheer pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
171 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Perfect place to stay in this area.
The rooms are large and has new furniture. The breakfast was outstanding, each morning Maria and her staff prepared something different and the considered our wishes.
The location is great, short way to the entertainment area with restaurants and bars.
Should I come back to the Durban area, I stay at the same place; No question!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Easy to reach from the airport and situated in a quiet area of Umhlanga Rocks.It is a great place if you want to go for a lovely stroll about or a walk down to the beach. There are many local amenities nearby and the business district is not far from here. For a traveller who wants peace and quiet, Viletta Guest House is your place.

The guest house is decorated to a very high standard and it has a five star feel about it. It is immaculate, warm and welcoming. One of the highlights is breakfast; something different on the menu everyday and you can tell that time and passion was put into preparing it. It tastes even better when served on the balcony facing the sea.

All the rooms have WIFI access and my room had a good size fridge and air-condition which is a plus when the weather is very hot.

The hostess makes you feel special. She is warm and professional but flexible at the same time and extremely helpful . She strives to make sure everyone is comfortable and welcomes all requests with a smile.
Her service is excellent with a personal touch.

The place was so impressive that I invited family and friends staying at hotels in the city centre to come over. The hostess prepared a brunch for 10 guests without any problems and everyone had a good time. All wanted to come and stay at a'Viletta next time they are in Durban.

It offered good security for the cars as well as in the rooms, with a safe for valuables in each room.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms offer scenic veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zethu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor's Rest
Anchor's Rest
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Moon

Property: Lavender Moon
Address: 58 Westridge Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa (Formerly 'a Viletta Guest House)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Moon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as A'Viletta, Lavender Moon is perfectly positioned in Umhlanga Rocks, with its mixed unique facilities is able to accommodate holiday makers and business professionals alike. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, the privacy of Lavender Moon will suit you perfectly. Durban offers a multitude of entertainment, whether it be to enjoy the city lights, the Village atmosphere of Umhlanga Rocks and its street-side cafe's, restaurants and pubs, The Gateway Theatre of Shopping experience, a sunny time on our golden beaches or a quiet time at our Guest House. Luxurious. Serene. Lavender Moon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lavender Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing