We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urban Park Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I will not recommend this hotel to my friends and family. I stayed two days in January 2014 and was not happy with the set up of the room as the shower had no door and no privacy. We found that there was no hot water for shower and the wooden floor was lifted up because of water drips when showering. The room was of a poor condition.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2610P1143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Urban Park Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

We live in Umhlanga and stayed over for the night the rooms are clean spacious and staff super friendly but the best off the hotel is the spa do not miss out on that make the time to go for treatments

Room Tip: Visit the spa
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at Urban Park during the Christmas period & had a great deal. The hotel had a shuttle service to the beach & mall which was most convenient considering it was peak holiday period.The staff were very helpful & friendly especially a lovely lady by the name of Hlengiwe ( not sure about spelling). We stayed at the apartments which were well equipped ,comfortable & modern the place was not very well maintained. If this continues it will be a good place gone to the dogs. The indoor pool was perfect for the kids because the could swim until 8 p.m but unfortunately the area was never closed for the night so noisy holiday makers were there until odd hours of the night & being indoor the sound carried to the rooms which was very annoying . All in all we had a great deal considering the sinfully exorbitant prices that other hotels were quoting for that period of time.

Room Tip: Avoid apartments on the first floor because of the noise from the pool & there was not enough n...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyniq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to family living a couple of blocks away.

We arrived early but had to wait until 2pm to check in (we hadn't requested early check-in). The room had a separate living/dining and kitchen area, equipped with a hob, oven, kettle, toaster and washing machine. The safe was awkward to use but, with help from the staff, was pretty useful to have access to.

I liked the design of the bathroom, being part of the bedroom with a door separating the toilet. The air conditioning was top notch and kept us very cool. Satellite TV and DVD player were handy additions. Free WiFi required a new pass code every 48hrs/500mb to connect. Most rooms had a balcony but ours (106) didn't, but I spent most of the day out and about so this didn't bother too much.

There was an indoor pool but it was not heated. However, with so many beaches within a short drive away, I rarely used the pool.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

on the day of arrival the lifts were not working, we had to walk up 3 flights with our lugguage and our infant, even though the hotel was not running at full occupancy the frontline staff did not bother to give us a room at a lower level.

the next morning at breakfast, we had informed the waitress that we are hindus and do not consume any beef/pork products, we ordered our breakfast and to our knowledge we assumed that we were eating mutton sausages, we were latter horrified to findout that this waiter ignored our religion and culture and took the liberty to serve us beef.

we were totally disgusted, management was not apologetic at the time of the incident, instead he wanted us to remain calm so that other guest would not hear of our experience.

we are totally disgusted as we have sinned in our religion and nothing at this stage can undo what we experienced. no monetary compensation can be passed to avoid this incident.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel, but was pleasantly surprised by the room. We stayed in a studio apartment. The little kitchenette is kitted out for self catering. The décor is modern and the room nicely furnished. For the price I paid for the room, compared to other hotels I believe this is value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I've been to this hotel a couple of times before, but this time something was off.

There was no room service menu so had to come down 3 floors to the bar to order room service, they say the menu changed. Food was great as usual, no worries there. A little high priced.

The room I got this time was a single, a little tight so would have rather had the two room suite like last time.

Not much hot water this morning.

Breakfast service once again slow, takes 20 min to get a dish and only offered 1 cup of coffee in half an hour.

Leaking rain water in the dinning room sort of sealed the deal.

Now looking for alternatives in Durban for my next trip, any ideas?

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.7 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
347 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Park Hotel & Spa

Address: 60 Meridian Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £44 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Cities Urban Park Hotel & Spa offers luxurious and comfortable self-catering apartments for short stays as well as long leases at affordable prices, allowing guests to experience the best of the north coast for as long as they need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Urban Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing