We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4star facilities but not 4star quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urban Park Hotel & Spa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“4star facilities but not 4star quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I started my visit with requesting airport pick up and drop off while is make my reservation on a well known website, then I continued with an email wanting to confirm my reservation but never received a response. The day I landed at the airport I call the hotel about the airport pick and they had no idea I was coming all though I have given notice plus an email. The trip continued with asking for my luggage to be delivered to my room, which I eventually went to go fetch as it took too long. No facilities was explain upon arrival, not even the shuttle that could take me to the beach. It can't be called hotel and spa as the spa is a desperate entity and charges cannot be made to the room, so in one vacation you would have to swipe your card more than once a day. One good thing is the staff are friendly and surrounding is safe and beautiful. This place definitely need a lot of work when it comes to customers service and how things should flow in a hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelLizzyFizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urban_Park, Manager at Urban Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear TravelLizzyFizzy, thank you ever so much for telling where we can improve. As we deal with a tremendous amount of booking channels, there are always shortcomings and we honestly apologise for the dreadfull non-response. We have 1 lift for both guests and staff (madness I know!) and this delayed the luggage delivery. We are working hard on our operations and have included all your suggestions in the welcoming of our esteemed guests. Again, thank you and sorry!. Hope to see you soon. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    65
    54
    18
    18
See reviews for
53
74
6
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the urban park hotel on April 2014. The hotel was very clean as the staff was helpful. The hotel is located close to the beach, not within walking distance but not far at all. The restaurant and coffee bar is a nice feature and the underground parking is useful if you have a rental car. Excellent for business trips

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urban_Park, General Manager at Urban Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Scott B, we are super happy you reviewed us as a favourable hotel in Umhlanga. We really hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Once again a great hotel, home away from home.

Some issues that could be addressed, like ordering a whisky and water, the bar man proceeded to fill my whisky glass with water. Then when I asked for a jug to do it myself, was told there is only big jugs. So the bar is an issue, maybe F&B manager should do some training. The manager who we saw at the bar, didn't greet us, but I did not appreciate the way she through orders at the chef, and couldn't even say please and thank you.... It doesn't cost a thing lady!!!

Piazza ordered last night to my room was terrible, premised soggy base, rather don't. You menu has taken a dive in the past year.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urban_Park, Manager at Urban Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mark L, thank you very much for your honest feedback. As hotels dont always tell our esteemed guests where we lack, we certainly respect the comments. We are happy to announce we launched a new menu including new F&B Manager to address our shortcomings. Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stunning rooms with superb facilities. Got a 3 person apartment just for the one night unfortunately. The rooms were clean with modern decor and plenty of facilities for cooking. The staff were very helpful, carrying our luggage and sorting out the problem with our safe immediately. There was also a complimentary shuttle bus provided which took us to the mall and picked us up upon request. Gym and pool facilities were also good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SuzyMax94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urban_Park, General Manager at Urban Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Suzy M, thank you for telling us where we did right as most reviewers only complain! We wish to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel after driving around phoned the receptionist who could not give us exact directions and it took us 20 minutes to find the hotel.

The rooms are reasonable but the TV's are mounted on the the lounge wall which is directly next to the next persons bedroom. I had a person watching TV throughout the night and it felt like it was in my room so therefore did not sleep.

We did not stay for breakfast as we had to fly out early the next morning so cannot comment on the quality of the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Carin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urban_Park, Manager at Urban Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Carin14, thank you for your valued comments. The hotel developer have been advised of your concerns and they are looking into moving the television. Many thanks again and regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

modern, neat hotel but service is very poor. Not for family holidays but rather for Business trips.
There hotel restaurant has a small menu and didn't have half the ingredients that day, also when called room service for an extra blanket they did not bring it.

Room Tip: suitable for business trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roopa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urban_Park, Manager at Urban Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Roopa H, again we have to say we strive to get the small things right all the time, unfortunately your experience slipped through as an unchecked one at the expense of your convenience. Please allow us to say we are terribly sorry and working hard to getting it right. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

At first view, the hotel looked nice. We arrived at 10:30pm for a 3 night stay, only to hear that our rooms where "flooded" (overbooked to be more precise, as we were not the only ones). They sent us to another hotel for 2 nights but they were not able to give us directions on how to get there!

On our return for the last night, it took forever to check-in as they did not have our reservations anymore. Out of the 2 rooms we had, one had to be changed. Of course, no apologies offered.

The rooms are tiny, and dark: there are iron shutters covering the windows, and those cannot be moved. As a result, the windows have never been washed outside.

Basically, this hotel looks modern and cool, but it is really a cheap dump inside: dark rooms, broken mattresses, and leaking showers. Not to mention that the breakfast is awful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ex-palmsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urban_Park, Manager at Urban Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear ex-palmsprings, thank you kindly for your honest review. We believe it will help all potential customers make an informed decision. We think we addressed your concerns at the time of your stay with us. We will strive to do better and hope this message reach you. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Umhlanga Rocks hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Urban Park Hotel & Spa
Address: 60 Meridian Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Cities Urban Park Hotel & Spa offers luxurious and comfortable self-catering apartments for short stays as well as long leases at affordable prices, allowing guests to experience the best of the north coast for as long as they need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Urban Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing