We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS”
other travellers have booked this property
Open plan Dining, Kitchen & Lounge Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan Dining, Kitchen & Lounge Area
The modern fully equipped Kitchen The Comfortable Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Open plan Dining, Kitchen & Lounge Area
The modern fully equipped Kitchen
The Comfortable Lounge
The dining area
The Main Bedroom with En-suite Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Main En-suite Bathroom (One of Two Bathrooms)
Main Bedroom with En-suite Bathroom
The Living area leading out onto the patio with wonderful sea views
Sea View from the apartment
Views from the Apartment at Night
Views of Umhlanga Rocks taken from the Apartment
Umhlanga Beach which is located 200 meters from the Apartment
The Main Bathing Beach
The Umhlanga Lighthouse at Sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan M
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

What a FAB apartment. Could not have asked for anything better on our recent trip from the UK. A lovely size and tastefully decorated and furnished with lamps, cushions, pictures and ornaments. The kitchen was very well equipped - had everything you needed. The young lady who came in daily to clean kept everything spotless and she was lovely. The situation of the apartment could not have been better. Just above a Pick & Pay with lots of cafes and restaurants and a short strole to the beach. Jonathan even arranged a taxi to take us to their guest house where we could store our luggage and chill before leaving to go back to Johannesburg. Thank you all once again and we would have no hesitation at staying at any of your apartments again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post such a positive review with regards to your recent stay at 506 Lighthouse Mall. It was such a pleasure meeting the both of you, and our chats will be remembered for a long time to come! It was a pleasure being able to organise a taxi to Manaar House to store your luggage and allow you to relax before you continued on your journey. Our main priority is you and your comfort and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I do hope the rest of your trip was as memorable. Please come and see us again, you are always welcome! Kind regards, Jono, Hermann and the team at 506 Lighthouse Mall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
460deidre...
Somerset West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Good location with secure parking. We enjoyed all the restaurants on our doorstep and the convenience of the supermarket so close. The beach was a short walk away. The flat itself was clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable for 4 people. The only minor complaint was the leaking shower in the main bathroom and dated carpets in the bedrooms. I would recommend lifting these and replacing with laminate flooring. Would we come back, definitely, it was fantastic.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at 506 Lighthouse Mall. We take huge pride in our apartments and it always delights us when a guest notices our hard work. With regards to the carpet and shower, we will have that looked at immediately and we appreciate you bringing that to our attention. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Jono, Hermann and the team at 506 Lighthouse Mall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneCarls...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

506 lighthouse mall was even better than we expected! From the tasteful interior with all needs catered for to the central location, close proximity to the beach and amazing view. This place is an absolute gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for posting this fantastic review with regards to your recent stay at 506 Lighthouse Mall. We are delighted that the apartment exceeded your expectations. Nothing makes us happier than knowing you were comfortable and enjoyed your experience with us. We hope you are able to come and visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Jono, Hermann and the team at 506 Lighthouse Mall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerdkronm...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Apartment”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The apartment itself is perfect. It offers a lot of space, has tasteful furnishings and offers everything you need even for a longer stay (e.g. laundromat and dryer). Secure covered parking. Supermarket literally at your doorsteps. Three minutes walk to the beach. Check in was easy. Hermans was a very friendly host who explained us everything very well. The only thing I did not like is that they gave us a long list with "don'ts". Umlangha Rocks is a bit special. It reminded us to some places at the spanish Costa del Sol (high-rise buildings, cheap restaurants, exclusively for retired people and tourists.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with regards to your recent stay at 506 Lighthouse Mall. We are delighted that you found the apartment to be to your liking and that you enjoyed our time with us. With regards to the terms and conditions you receive on arrival, it is for the benefit of all guests and to ensure your safety and well being whilst you stay with us. Your safety and comfort is of paramount importance to us! We do hope that you are able to come and see us again in the future! Kind regards, Jono, Hermann and the team at 506 Lighthouse Mall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_Sa...
South Africa/UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tasteful oasis in the centre of things”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A fabulous apartment, tasteful, comfortable and in a great location for the beach, restaurants bars and shops, yet a quiet haven. Spotlessly clean with a daily lady who cleans. All the amenities of home. Will never forget sitting on the balcony overlooking the ocean one evening, with a dramatic electric storm in full throes! Definitely hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property and location
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review with regards to your recent stay at 506 Lighthouse Mall. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

One of the many great reasons that 506 Lighthouse Mall is a perfect retreat is due to it's location. All the restaurants, bars and supermarkets on your doorstep, but with none of the noise of the hustle and bustle. Your description of the view and being able to watch a dramatic electric storm really amplifies the reality of how stunning the apartment and it's view really is.

I have also passed your comments on to the housekeeper, and she was thrilled that you found the apartment spotlessly clean. She takes her job very seriously and your comments made her day!

We also hope that you are able to visit us again! You are always welcome at 506 Lighthouse Mall.

Kind regards,
Jono, Hermanna and the team at 506 Lighthouse Mall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessieMcc...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We loved our stay at the Lighthouse Mall apartment! The space is gorgeous and very tastefully decorated. The apartment has absolutely everything you need for a self sufficient stay. The kitchen was fully equipped and the daily housekeeping was faultless. Very handy having a supermarket downstairs and an array of trendy resturants and cool breakfast spots in the same building/ literally across the road. The apartment is very secure with great underground parking. I honestly don't have a bad thing to say about pur experience and would very highly reccomend the apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you both in 506 Lighthouse Mall.

We have thought of everything when it comes to our apartments as we don't want our guests to be without a necessary appliance, furnishing or necessity, like the FREE high speed, uncapped Wi-Fi. Only the best will do for you!

I have passed on your comments regarding the housekeeping to the housekeeper , Precious, and she was beaming with pride. She really takes her job seriously and was really chuffed when I read her this review.

The location of 506 Lighthouse Mall is absolutely perfect as all the popular restaurants, bars and supermarkets in Umhlanga on the ground floor of the building! The beach is a mere 200m walk from the apartment as well.

Thank you so much for staying with us in 506 Lighthouse Mall, and if you are ever in Umhlanga again, we would love to have you back!

Kindest regards,
Jono, Hermann and the team at 506 Lighthouse Mall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulgreef...
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
1 review
“Delightful comfortable stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our trip started with great service from Herman who was so helpful and efficient sorting out our bookings and queries .
We arrived on Saturday evening and was met by Jono whom was so pleasant and ran us through the ins and outs of the apartment.
The open planned apartment was beautifully and elegantly decorated, the kitchen was well equipped with great modern appliances and every utensil you would need.
The lounge was wonderfully comfortable with a comfy couch and off the lounge through large sliding doors was a small patio area with lovely sea views and a practical patio suite where you could have breakfast and take in the beautiful view and breath the fresh crisp sea air.
Down a passage you were lead to two separate bedrooms with great comfortable beds, fresh crisp white linen and the most comfortable pillows we have had in a long time. Both bedrooms have good natural light and sliding doors that open again with an awesome sea view so special to wake up to in the morning.
The two bathrooms are fresh and clean one has a shower only and the other has a bath with an overhead shower.
The apartment is equipped with wifi that is quick so really great to have to keep in touch with family at home.
506 is brilliantly located as you head down the lift you arrive on the ground floor with the pick n pay supermarket right there to get what you need and then you are right on the main Chartwell road with all the great coffee houses and restaurants. A short walk up the hill leads you to the Umhlanga centre.
+\_ 200 meters you are on the beach and walking promenade you could not ask for a better location.
As a whole this was a great apartment and our stay was awesome and am certain we will be returning.
We can only thank everyone involved with this apartment for making our stay fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything
Liked least: Can not say anything here
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Wow, what a review! We are glowing with pride! We are so glad you loved 506 Lighthouse Mall so much that you chose to write such a wonderful, detailed review! It was such a pleasure hosting the 3 of you!

We are very proud of our apartments, and we never compromise on quality. We source only high end furnishings and appliances. Only the best will do for you!

The view is spectacular, isn't it? It would be a shame to only have the view in the lounge area. Both bedrooms and the lounge have the same stunning sea views. Whales have been spotted around Umhlanga's coastline in the past few weeks, and 506 Lighthouse Mall would be a perfect viewing spot!

As you rightly say, the location of 506 Lighthouse Mall is absolutely perfect as you have all the popular restaurants, bars and supermarkets on the ground floor of the same building! No need to use you car at all as the beach is also roughly 200m from the apartment.

The FREE uncapped, high speed Wi-Fi is just one less thing for you to worry about. It is a necessity these days, and we don't believe that you should be without it!

We hope that you are indeed able to return as it would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to 506 Lighthouse Mall.

Kind Regards,
Jono, Hermann and the team at 506 Lighthouse Mall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing