We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabana Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$420
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$567
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveller rating
870
227
41
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
227
41
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsentertainment teamfamily pooltennis courtsadult pool isself cateringkids and adultsthe past yearstime sharemain beachfamily holidaysecond homeawesome holidaygreat familyclose to shopsserviced dailywithin walking distancewhole family
Filter
Updating list...
1,125 - 1,130 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Classic holiday experience, activities for the whole family. All beach activities, tennis, gym, braai areas, onsite restaurants, swimming pools - with sceduled activities for young and old, shuttles to shopping malls. Central location to shops & restaurants. Staff very friendly and cleaning service daily. Rooms & accommodation spacious with amazing views over the Indian Ocean and amazing gardens.

The hotel/room decor and facilities like the gym are becoming very outdated, but there is a revamp scheduled for this year (2012).

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have amazing views, but the rooms at the adult pool are very convenient close to the pool, restaurants and 50 metres from the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you so much for your review and comments, it is really appreciated. We are so happy you had a great holiday at Cabana Beach. You are correct about the refurbishment, this will take place from 6 April to 29 June 2013 and the resort will be closed for this period. We hope to see you back at Cabana Beach soon! kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

No clean water used to mop the rooms water only some smelly stuff used to spray the floors then that gets wiped off, the carpets in the bedrooms are filthy. Water leaks from the side of the shower curtain when you shower, the sleeper couches need a desperate upgrade. There is no adequate security to keep monkeys out when opening bedroom and kitchen windows (burglar bars would help)! The fact that the Tiled walkway to the pool gets mopped with soapy water during the day Shocked me, it was extremely slippery!!!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor units are awesome!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaaida k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your comments and will do our utmost to recitify some of the issues mentioned in your review.
We are having a major refurbishment next year from 6 April to 29 June 2013 and the Resort will be closed. We will installing Shutters onto the windows and this should assist with the monkey problem that we have in Umhlanga.
We hope to see you again soon.
kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Friendly personal but must listen to requests. Booked a ground floor room and repeated the request when booked in. When we got to the room it was on 1st floor and had to go back and repeated request. Could also offered an upgrade to 3 bedrooms as we were 6 people but not even mentioned the option (were wiliing to pay for more comfort). The hotel need that upgrade now ! Water in shower not stable and TV in family room VERY small and old. Beds are fine and linen good quality. Horrible pillows !!! Nice kitchen and well equipped. Also nice to have seperate toilet. Hairdresser on premises very friendly and professional. A family hotel like this can consider installing video players in rooms to keep children busy at night. Dulce reataurant next to pool a treat wilth good prices and really professional and friendly people serving you in your mother tongue.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Christo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate your comments. It is difficult to guarantee a ground floor unit as there as so few of them, however we always do our best to fulfil any requests. We are having a major refurbishment next year and will be installing new bathrooms as well as redoing the plumbing in the building. This should make a huge difference with regard to water pressure. Each unit will also have a new flat screen TV.
We hope to see you again soon,
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My grandparents have shares at the hotel and every december since i was a little girl i went there with them and it was so much fun all year i just waited for december so we could go to cabana beach, the room, the activities the staff are unbelievable and i would recomend this to everyone no matter what your stay is about business or pleasure, its a great place to get away from city life and just enjoy the relaxation of the views and the vibe!!! my grandparents still go twice a year and i plan to go this year as i have not been in about 3 years :) thank you cabana beach hotel and staff especially Ian, and Hamelton :) for making my childhood memories ones i will never forget :)

Room Tip: the higher rooms give you the best views :)
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The perfect relaxation holiday. Great service, spacious rooms, lots of entertainment for kids, Splendid views and set along the perfect strect of beach. Watching Distance to shopping center, Food outlets, Supper Market and Entertainment. Strong throw away to swimming beach and a peacefull secure walk away from the famous lighthouse. Short Drive to most attractions in Durban.

Recommended duration 7 days.
Highly Recommended

Room Tip: Duplex Unit is the best for a family on 6. For 2 - 4 people the 4 slpr unit is perfect. All rooms are sea facing. Ground Floor units have direct access to the groung level and the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naeem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews