We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday spot in SA!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabana Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My family have been coming here for 30 years and the high standard of service and quality of the resort has not changed. I have great memories here as a kid enjoying all the games and activities. I am now celebrating my 23rd birthday and I wouldn't want to be anywhere else! There is plenty to do from gym classes, yoga, zumba and karate to tennis, squash and volleyball friendlies so if the weather isn't good we are still kept busy. The adult pool is beautiful, always clean and the perfect place to chill... with a bottle of wine or something up for grabs every day in a poolside competition. It's been another brilliant holiday and I can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belinda's travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Cabana Beach, it is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed holidays with us since you were a child and we hope that this continues in your family for a long time! All the best for 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

Not very impressed with this hotel.The rooms are in a bad condition. Also rooms are very dirty. I think the only nice thing about cabanas is that its close to the beach and also close to shopping centres. Rooms are a decent size.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nabeelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate any feedback and will always strive to make improvements from comments we receive on this site. We are closing from 6 April to 29 June 2013 for a major upgarde to every apartment in Cabana Beach including brand new bathrooms and more. I have posted pictures of the upgraded apartments on this site. We hope that you will return one day. All the best for 2013. regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My family and I have been staying at Cabana Beach for over 20 years which has become one of our preferred holiday destinations. We are now living in England and when my wife and I recently returned to South Africa for a short break it had to include a brief stay at the resort.

One thing I have to make a note of is the consistency of the resort over the last few years under the guidance and steer of the GM. The resort continues to have an overall solid offering of service and comfort as well as having the best location on the strip.

The staff are always friendly and driven from the front desk, pool attendants, cleaners, etc.
The Entertainment programme continues to deliver a great package of activities catering for all as well as the bonus of familiar faces in the team (Iain, Hamilton & Pumba).
The gardens are always perfectly maintained and landscaped and the resort is always clean.
The various projects over the years to upgrade Cabana Beach are well timed and have vastly improved the enjoyment, functionality and visual appearance of the resort.

The most comforting aspect of Cabana Beach is that every time you head down the N3 South and drive over Umhlanga Ridge with the first site of the resort, you have a feeling of ease knowing your stay will be better than the last. The trust in the offering the resort provides is always there and has not hit any stumbling blocks in recent years.

The added benefit is you can either cook up your own storm in the self catering units or have a bite out at the many restaurants local to the resort. If you are looking for an all round holiday at a great resort with a perfect location either as a family, group of friends or couple, Cabana Beach has everything to offer and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuts83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to give so much detail about different aspects of Cabana Beach, we really appreciate the feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. All the best for 2013. regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Wow Our first holiday and it was fantastic. The Cabana Beach Resort is amazing and perfect for
a family holiday. The kids loved everything about it. We definetly want to visit again and again and again !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khatija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and as it was your first holiday at Cabana Beach we are so glad to hear how enjoyable it was! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I would just really like to compliment Cabana Beach Resort for the friendliest most professional services. Every time my family & I have stayed at this fine resort, we have had by far the best service and we've made wonderful memories with thanks to such a great resort. Thanks Cabana Beach Resort for being the best one & only place to stay in Umhlanga :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaylaLeighR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We hope to see you again soon and wish you all the best for 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

All I can say is this is the most amazing hotel... My self and the family have been going there for over 15years and everytime we go we treated like royalty. From the cleaner to the MD u are greated and always a smile to a great even if they see you 10times a day. With the improvements happening I am excited to see in July the even better No1 hotel CABANA BEACH RESORT. To Ian and his WONDERFUL team especially PUMBA thanx for entertaining the KIDS and us.... Was a fantastic christmas spend with all of you. We are coming back end of July.... Can't wait to come back to my second home.... See you soon my NO1 RESORT in SOUTH AFRICA.

Room Tip: The higher the better!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeTaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We had an awesome time here! From the Friendly service, to the ample shops and restaurants on the hotel grounds and the apartment we stayed in, everything was really a highlight! Lovely walkways through gardens onto beach, and more than enough activities in house to participate in. We'll definately be doin this every year :)

Room Tip: They have duplex apartments and terrace style apartments.We stayed in 2nd floor and could still see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landu-Zandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy you had a wonderful holiday and look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best for 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Beach Resort

Address: 10 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa (Formerly Cabana Beach Lifestyle Resort)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £22 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of KwaZulu Natal’s exclusive Umhlanga Rocks, the Cabana Beach resort is a firm favourite amongst families who travel to the coast for an unbelievable holiday experience. Boasting a Mediterranean feel and overlooking the glorious Indian Ocean this award-winning resort offers guests every home comfort as well as a vast array of leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Beach Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing