We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great for some R & R”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just great for some R & R”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Arrived after a 7-hour car trip with 3 adults and 3 kids, but the warm welcome from Iain and his crew made up for everything. (There are hundreds of arrivals all at the same time on a Saturday because it is a timeshare resort, but the efficiency was really impressive.) The initial impression was so positive also because of the old-fashioned design style, and as we moved to reception, we were suitably impressed by the facilities. The actual check in went really well, and as we walked into the room for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids, we immediately felt on holiday. (My sister-in-law and niece had a smaller cabana on the ground floor, and they also loved it.) Vibrant colours, lovely view from our 4th floor unit, and plenty of space rather than being crammed into tiny spaces.

There are so many facilities, (including kitchenette with oven, big fridge, excellent bathroom and separate toilet, differently-located adult and heated family swimming pools, nice restaurants, right on the beach, etc.,) it is difficult to list them all. But we also liked the activities organised for both adults and kids, so one can never really get bored. The evening shows in the lounge are particularly enjoyable - and even educational.

Don't miss a walk through "the tropical path." It's a mini trail - less than 10 minutes - but they have taken care to really make it nice with fantastic landscaping. Curiously, you will also see a troop of about 12 monkeys and about six very tame cats wandering around, (to sort out other wildlife?), but unless you have a severe allergy, they leave you alone and are barely visible.

The family pool deck can be a bit cramped, if all residents come to the pool, but it is built in such a way with huge sliding windows that you are protected from strong winds if they come up, but still see and hear the roaring crashing waves on Umhlanga Rocks. If you seek a quieter relaxation, then the adult pool is a better alternative.

Why not 5 Stars? Just three small things. First, open free parking is a bit crowded, even while the underground paid-for parking is mostly empty. I think that they really need to figure out a fairer pricing structure for covered parking. Second: one day we ran out of loo paper, and we had to phone housekeeping three times over six hours to finally get some action. Third, if we knew the room structure we would have chosen a room with a slightly larger veranda. When we all sat there for breakfast, it was a bit cramped, and the angle of the views are slightly limited because of the construction.

Overall, a great experience, and we wouldn't hesitate to return again. In fact, we've already booked next year, same time, same place, slightly different room.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a big veranda as high as possible, and take the time to do the trail. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkiJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    194
    36
    14
    11
See reviews for
541
251
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We are staying at the Cabanas at the moment ane are very impressed. The check in was fast, efficient and friendly. The apartments have everything we need and has been recently refurbished. The view is awesome. The staff are very friendly and helpfull and there is lots for us to do. Just loving our holiday so far :-)

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wandas859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so happy you are enjoying your holiday with us, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

weather wasn't the best, but this forces you to slow your roll.
Shops and restaurants all around, so plenty of entertainment,etc
lots of activities for the children
good service and hospitality
really just a nice hotel to spend quality time with your family

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed at Cabana Beach Resort in February. The room was clean and comfortable with fantastic views, I loved the little balcony. Staff and managment were friendly and helpful. The resort grounds are well maintained. Had a fantastic week there and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieKJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

MY 2 girls(12) never swam in the kids-pool. They don't go to the pool to play, they go to cool down, but they are not allowed in the over 18 pool. That means that 6 of us went to the over 18 pool and my daughter and her friend went swimming in the sea. When we were at the pool , I think there were about 10 guests and not one in the pool. I say make the age 13/14 and if they are disturbing the other guests, the management can tell them to leave and they may not come back for the rest of the week. If my girls can behave like 18 year olds at the pool, WHY CAN'T THEY USE THE POOL WITH THEIR PARENTS?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichellevanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we hope that you had a wonderful holiday at Cabana Beach. We have taken note of your comments regarding the adult pool area but unfortunately a decision was made by the board of directors who represent the majority of timeshare owners that no one under th age of 18 will be allowed at the adult pool area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My wife and I have been time-sharing at the Cabana Beach for 29 years and we would recommend it to anyone.

It is a first class resort that is always clean and efficiently run. The Management and staff are helpful and very friendly, and are always willing to go the extra mile to make their guests stay as pleasant as possible.

I have seen some negative comments that have been posted on this website recently, but I don't recognize the place that they are talking about. These people must be living in CloudCuckoo land, or perhaps they work for a rival (envious) hotel group.

We have just returned from a 3-week stay at the Cabana Beach and we enjoyed it immensely. It is true that there have been some minor hiccups due to the impending refurbishment period, but we would not have kept returning to the Cabana Beach every year without fail for 29 years unless it lived up to our expectations

I would give the Cabana Beach full marks as one of the best holiday destinations in Africa.

Sandy (and Marianne) Paterson
Pretoria
25/3/13

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review. It is akways a pleasure having you with us and we hope to give you many more years of happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our week's stay at Cabana Beach was fantastic! My kids lived in the wonderfully kid-friendly pool. The duplex accomodation was so spacious and cleaned to perfection. The restaurants served divine food and nothing could top the views of the sea from the balconies. My highlight? Nothing beats fresh beach\pool towels at any time during the day!! A truly wonderful resort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynesey glass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales12345, Director of Sales at Cabana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we are so happy that you had a wonderful holiday with us! We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
337 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Beach Resort

Property: Cabana Beach Resort
Address: 10 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa (Formerly Cabana Beach Lifestyle Resort)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabana Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of KwaZulu Natal’s exclusive Umhlanga Rocks, the Cabana Beach resort is a firm favourite amongst families who travel to the coast for an unbelievable holiday experience. Boasting a Mediterranean feel and overlooking the glorious Indian Ocean this award-winning resort offers guests every home comfort as well as a vast array of leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Beach Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing