We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most attentive owner and excellent staff”
Review of Mo-Zam-Bik Gateway

Mo-Zam-Bik Gateway
Ranked #22 of 131 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most attentive owner and excellent staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I've never before experienced such excellent service at any restaurant EVER! It felt like every single member of staff came to my table to ask if I was fine and in this day its become quite uncommon to see this. Much of the credit goes to Johan who walks around greeting guests and having spoken to him a few times previously, he walked up to my table to greet us which really makes Mo-Zam-Bik Gateway the best restaurant around. There's never been a time when both Johan and his staff wouldn't go out of his way to ensure that each of their patrons have a 5 star dining experience. Definitely a must for anyone that wishes to have a splendid meal and service that can't be compared!

There's signs all over the mall that leads you to Mo-Zam-Bik......follow them and be amazed!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shalin1ZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    50
    19
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
1 review
“Best Steak and Sauce”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Best fillet I had in a long time with the cream and red wine sauce it is a must for anybody visiting. Management visible and ensuring quality.

Love it !!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arnouxvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had an excellent meal here. Management visible and very friendly. Waiters well trained, very efficient and friendly.
Our only complaint is that it is difficult to find - no signs, so unless you know about it you may only stumble onto it. Am sure they would have a lot more customers if they had good signage. I was recommended Mozambik, so was adamant to find it - other restaurants in Gateway not helpful - "pretended" they either didn't know about it, or where it was situated! Thank goodness for "information desk" as they could give clear directions.
But once we were there forgot about our "hunt" and enjoyed a fabulous dinner.
10/10 to management and staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not the same as Ballito”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Service not the same as Ballito. No one asked us if we wanted another drink. We had to call the waiter. Food was good. But still not the same as Ballito

Helpful?
Thank Foodie5571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Deutschland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delicious, delicious, delicious”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

It's a bit hard to find this place but once you are there you'll find friendly staff and amazing food. It is really worth a try. The steak I had was one of the best ever. If I would life here it would be my favourite restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank DocDanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mo-Zam-Bik Gateway also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Mo-Zam-Bik Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing