We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful guest house "Milkwood Mansion in Umhlanga Rocks"”
Review of Milkwood Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Milkwood Mansion
Ranked #20 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful guest house "Milkwood Mansion in Umhlanga Rocks"”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

stayed for 1 week with 3 of my friends at this beautiful guest house in Durban. Had sunny weather all week and enjoyed a nice swim in the pool. Breakfast was delicious, the menu had an assorted selection.
The reception helped me pick places to tour like the Ushaka marine world, Moses Mabhida stadium, Gateway (such a huge shopping mall) and many more. Would definitely book again!

:D :D :D

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quiet, spacious, and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca_Venter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
18
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Friendly, efficient, beautiful environment, lovely bedroom and bathroom, luxurious linen, hearty breakfast. My only suggestion is that you do something about the DSTV bouquet - it was unwatchable for anyone other than an evangelical Christian.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matthew & Kirst... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It was a pleasure to stay at Milkwood Mansion and my partner and I were treated to great service, a comfortable privacy and access to a balcony with breath-taking views. I would definitely go back there agaiain!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mthoko N, Owner at Milkwood Mansion, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
You two are such a sweet and awesome couple, do you even know how to frown? It was great having you stay with us at Milkwood Mansion; thank you as well for the lovely remarks (highly appreciated).

All the best with the books! And best of luck with every venture you put yourselves into.

Mthoko & Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent atmosphere. I does not have the annoying B&B atmosphere.
Clean rooms and priva
Easy to locate
Breakfast offered need some variety
Staff went extra mile to assist me. I will stay there again.








  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank babmo1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mthoko N, Owner at Milkwood Mansion, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We appreciate the considerable time taken to write up your review on Milkwood Mansion. We are very happy to see that you had a peaceful stay and enjoyed the Milkwood atmosphere.
We have stretched our breakfast offering but it unfortunately required us to increase our rates a bit, but none the less, no one has complained as it is exactly what breakfast should be & taste like.

We look forward to hosting you again & thank you for telling many more others about our establishment.

Best Regards
Mthoko & Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Thank you to everyone at Milkwood for making me feel at home. You made travelling alone anything but lonely. I had a comfortable stay. Really love the calm and peaceful atmosphere you have created, will be back soon with company!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soraya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very comfortable and smart environment. We had a very good time and cant wait to visit again with friends for a number of days. Staff is very friendly and rooms are very clean with all the toiletries in place. Only bar fridges short in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Prince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mthoko N, Owner at Milkwood Mansion, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi there

Thanks for the positive remarks on Milkwood Mansion and we're very happy that you loved your stay. We have indeed ran with your suggestion and now placed a communal fridge upstairs next to the rooms, we've also added a coffee & tea facility with a much wider choice of teas & coffees for our guests.

We appreciate your feedback and it has helped us considerably (mostly moms and their baby milk & food appreciate the fridge). It was a pleasure hosting you.

Warm Regards
Elaine & Mthoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Perfect location, beautiful scenery, spacious, clean, close to the beach & the Gateway mall. Perfect place to unwind & have a good time. I met wonderful people, beautiful inside and out! God bless u Mthoko & Elaine, will definately come back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mthoko N, Owner at Milkwood Mansion, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
God bless you too! and thanks for the awesome review on our establishment. It was lovely chatting with you and being your hosts.

Stay beautiful!

Elaine & Mthoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gateway Country Lodge
Gateway Country Lodge
#12 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flamingo Lodge
Flamingo Lodge
#6 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Calla
Villa Calla
#22 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Mansion

Property: Milkwood Mansion
Address: 32 Milkwood Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milkwood Mansion is an upmarket guest house perfectly situated in Umhlanga Rocks, just north of the coastal city of Durban, South Africa. The mansion features eight exquisitely decorated, fully air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms, with each boasting garden or sea views of the Indian Ocean. Entertainment and activities at the Milkwood Mansion include WiFi, DSTV, a bar area, a braai area, a swimming pool, a pool table, darts and a jungle gym. Ample on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Milkwood Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing