We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good”
Review of Milkwood Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Milkwood Mansion
Ranked #20 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The overall sevice was great,great breakfast and convenient location. I enjoyed the layouts of the room I and the facilitys. Being my second time staying there I hated the pillows they were to hard. The outside light did not allow for a dark room as there is no switch for it and it switches on automatically. I was up at 12 trying to find the switch. I recommend blockout curtains. But ill go there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
18
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent staff and rooms. Just one minor issue where there was a leak in the room when there were heavy rains on the friday. Will definitely stay again. Breakfast was great as well. Will refer to others to book there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Geshan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

due to my kind of work I am always on the road making me to end up booking most of the time.I have seen alot of B&B's in my career and I have 100% sure non come even near to the standard and the service milkwood provided. they went overboard to make me feel at home.they are doing a superb job and I am looking forward to booking in on a personal bases...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Sanele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

An absolutely wonderful, homely experience. I normally stay in hotels, but they were fully booked. thanks goodness or would never have experienced
such a wonderful difference. The owners go beyond to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Venetia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here about a month ago. We have stayed at quite a few bed and breakfasts in Umhlanga and this is by far the worst one to date. Accomodation is not luxury and not up to the claimed four star standard. I would have checked out if we were allowed to. Rooms were large but pillows rock hard and uncomfortable. Breakfasts lacked variety with no fruit even. For the price charged I would recommend alternative accomodation rather.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Amar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If I could have checked out there and then - I would have! Website claims luxury accommodation! It is definitely not luxury! Granted rooms are fairly large but housekeeping / maintenance lacks. Bed flat sheet had an old blood stain, bathroom was dusty, glass shelf in shower had tooth paste stains, shower soap bar handle broken and liquid soap dispenser rusty.
If you like sleeping on bricks than this is your place! Pillows are ROCK hard. Breakfast lacked variety - no fruits, no cold meat or cheese selection. I do not recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Rooms are spacious yet furniture needs a clean. Towels all different colours - inconsistent standard. We found the guest house to be very noisy when showers and toilets are used. Saturday night got back and the neighbours were having a party so could not sleep till they had ended. Pillows are hard as rock so perhaps take your own. Staff very friendly and breakfast - although basic was nice. We were at a trade show so did not spend too much time there other than at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gateway Country Lodge
Gateway Country Lodge
#12 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flamingo Lodge
Flamingo Lodge
#6 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Calla
Villa Calla
#22 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Mansion

Property: Milkwood Mansion
Address: 32 Milkwood Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milkwood Mansion is an upmarket guest house perfectly situated in Umhlanga Rocks, just north of the coastal city of Durban, South Africa. The mansion features eight exquisitely decorated, fully air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms, with each boasting garden or sea views of the Indian Ocean. Entertainment and activities at the Milkwood Mansion include WiFi, DSTV, a bar area, a braai area, a swimming pool, a pool table, darts and a jungle gym. Ample on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Milkwood Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing