We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First dinner at Mo's”
Review of Mo Noodles

Mo Noodles
Ranked #38 of 131 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: After 17 years set in a quiet little corner in suburban Morningside, Mo Noodles packed up our belongings and headed North to the trendy and bustling neighbourhood of Umhlanga Rocks. Now located in the modern and affluent Beacon Rock centre just off Lighthouse road, Mo's is set back from the hustle of Umhlanga village and as such, has its own private little space to stretch out and get comfortable in. Originally started by husband and wife team Mike and Janine 17 years ago, the restaurant was soon taken over by a very passionate young waitress , Jo-Ann , who, after owning Mo's for a decade, has successfully earned a place for Mo's among the most popular spots in Durban. With the tried and tested standard menu packed with the usual favourites such as the sublime seared calamari with chili and lime to the Thai-styled flavours of the stir-fries, curries and hot & sour soup to the exciting new specials and the addition of a solid craft beer & homemade Iced tea selection, there is something for everyone and all occasions. We've tried to keep it fresh and interesting while maintaining our distinctive style and atmosphere. We're open from 12pm until 3.30pm for lunch & 5.30 until 9pm for dinner, Monday - Saturday. There is something for everyone, vegetarians, vegans & kids are well catered for and nearly everything is available in half portions. Book early to avoid disappointment!
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“First dinner at Mo's”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had a really fun dinner at Mo’s with family and friends last night.

The service was friendly, helpful and good and we enjoyed the lively atmosphere.

I had the mixed calamari starter and the ginger and black pepper chicken for mains – enjoyed them very much.

I would be quite happy to go back there again – and looking at the menu – would think the choice of food would make it just as good for lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tilt777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We visited here last night. I had the fillet steak with coriander mash and was not disappointed!The meat was very tender , nicely spiced and delicious. However my guests were not happy.
The wrong recipes for the food requested were served much to there dislike!
The service was pleasant but ineffectual and the ambiance was unusual in an odd location.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent noodles shame about the view”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were taken and the noodles were excellent but it is a strange location overlooking a building site on the edge of town, it may be better when the area develops and the toilets are in a next door building. The food is good and service friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

This must be Durban's most underrated restaurant. If you want to take your taste buds on the best trip they have been in a long time - this is where you need to go - oh wow - really really good Asian fusion type food - the star salad is a favourite and they do line fish really really well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adeleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Had lunch with my teenage son and both our meals were delicious. Smiling staff, good service, might have been a bit slow but you are at the coast, relaxed atmosphere and full of enthusiastic patrons.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clinton_sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mo Noodles also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Mo Noodles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing