We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joita's

Joita's
Ranked #37 of 130 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Cuisines: Portuguese, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Tucked away on a little square in the heart of Umhlanga village - that's where one will find Joita's. It's a small, family run business that serves wonderful Portuguese food. The chourico was really good. Dishes ordered were mainly the peri chicken, prawns and calamari. All were delicious. Empty plates all round! Wine is limited. Service fantastic. A lovely, laid back evening out!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gdmm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    7
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and family run”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Small family run Portuguese Restaurant - good food and friendly.
Personal service and in the centre of the Umhlanga Villlage.
Outside and inside seating. No views and situated next to Protea Hotel.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Portuguese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We love this restaurant and try and go every few weeks. They also do take-aways which is a bonus. The menu is small and everything has an authentic Portuguese Flavour. can never decide what I want - it is all good. Family run with a lovely casual atmosphere. Do not think that I have ever been disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of our favourites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellent, family owned and run restaurant. Scrumptious Portuguese food at very reasonable prices. Friendly family service. We return again and again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJDLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Peri-Peri Chicken is the best although the prawns, giblets and chicken livers are also amazing. I would recommend that all visiting and living in Umhlanga try this little Portuguese restaurant. setting is outside and a very small area inside(enough for 6) but great overall. An extra waiter could be added on busy nights just to improve the service during those periods.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank acybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joita's also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Joita's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing