We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious experience”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“luxurious experience”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Had a great stay at the Oyster Box. Wonderful sea facing room. Small plumbing issue when we arrived which was dealt with immediately while we were at dinner.
The pool was really a slice of heaven, and to see the dolphins going by was a real treat. Spotlessly clean, sunblock on offer at the poolside bar.
Meals were excellent, we had breakfast, a lunch and dinner, service was prompt and courteous.
Our only complaint was a very long wait for dinner at the grill room, about a 2 hour wait. They had a huge party but only really managed to bring things out when we cancelled our entrees and gave us a free dessert for the inconvenience.
I must say though, that the staff were outstanding and I must make special mention to Eric who made every effort to make our stay memorable and to Tyron who went above and beyond in exchanging our vehicle which was only blowing heat in 30 degree weather.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,578
    148
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
456
812
51
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2011

The best hotel experience of our lives. The ,service, staff, food and location cannot be faulted. The decor is stunning and the attention to detail is second to none. Absolutely faultless - Thank you

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jusint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanzimtoti
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We were fortunate enough to be able to spend a exciting weekend at the Oyster Box Hotel in March 2011. What an amazing experience. From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed, we were cared for as if the only guests. Everywhere we went, we were greeted by every single staff member, smiling and friendly. The service was truly 5 star.
The food was delicious (yummy). The variety at breakfast, the curry buffet and the High Tea was great. My husband is a chocoholic and the chocolate cake and other tasty desserts made his dreams come true.
For me, the luxury of a hot bath in the gorgeous tub was all I needed. And not to forget the view when sipping my coffee in the morning before breakfast from the balcony facing the sea.
All in all it was a most memorable weekend, a second honeymoon that we will never forget.
Thank you to everyone at the Oyster Box. We will never forget it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieHami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Upgraded to a garden villa - what a treat!! Our own plunge pool, and suite that was meticulously clean and extremely comfortable. The staff could not do enough to ensure your stay was one to remember. There are two restaurants - a classy grill which serves exceptionally fine food and a sort of garden restaurant which seems to cater for the kids/cheaper/more commercial end of the market. The Hotel itself is based on an archetypical colonial style,and whilst some may think this is over the top - thats what it was like, so it delivers exactly what it set out to do. True to its name there are even oysters available at the breakfast buffet!! Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Slapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We have just spent our 4th visit at this gem - and the Oyster Box is continuously raising the bar with their consistent service delivery and exceeding expectations! We have stayed in one of their luxurious duplex villa's - complete with private plunge pool.

I love the Hotel and its distinct service-culture as it feels like staying in "a rich Uncle's private beach house"! The staff goes out of their way to make guests feel at home and comfortable - and it soon became clear to us that the staff were briefed on our arrival and our special requests which were anticipated and offered to us even before we requested it!

We always enjoy their many public areas ranging from the Library, the movie theater, the Lighthouse Bar to their fine dining Grill Room Restaurant, Bar and Terrace Restaurant. Four nights are too short to really get to know this hotel and to enjoy everything it has to offer!

Thank you to the Tollman family, Wayne Coetzee and his staff for creating such a special experience - we will continue to come back if you will have the "three of us"...!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koosjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Oyster Box was all I'd been told to expect - pristine, attention to detail, excellent service. The refurbished room was lovely to stay in, albeit a bit small and overcrowded by telephones - I'm not convinced that 3 are required in 1 room. The Spa is worth special mention as we received service and quality of treatments from Faith and Nonfundo which were unmatched by any other spa I've been to in South Africa and abroad and should not be missed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perkins L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2011

I have never written a review on TripAdvisor but felt compelled to do so after staying at The Oyster Box Hotel earlier this month (Feb 2011).

I have been lucky enough to stay in some nice hotels in the past, including most recently the Four Seasons Resort at Punta Mita, Mexico. Without question, The Oyster Box is the nicest, coolest, best, most beautiful and most comfortable hotel I have ever stayed in. I cannot think of a single thing about the hotel that I didn't totally love--from the appointments in the rooms, to the uniforms on the bar tenders in the Lighthouse Bar, to the art on the walls, to the snacks at high tea.

The customer relations at The Oyster Box far exceeded any other hotel or resort's. The service was thoughtful, prompt, and best of all, personalized (the hand-written notes from the staff were a nice touch).

The setting and location of the hotel are perfect. The Indian Ocean and the beaches of Umhlanga were beautiful. And of course, the iconic lighthouse provides a backdrop that makes every view look like something from a postcard. As we sat by the pool one day enjoying the sun and ocean breeze, my girlfriend said, "I don't know how I will ever be able to stay in another hotel." The Oyster Box spoiled us forever. We stayed for 4 nights at The Oyster Box before heading north to Mkuze Falls for a photo safari. The hotel provided a perfect launching pad to hit the game park in an easy half-day's drive. If you're coming to South Africa to go on safari, I would highly recommend treating yourself to a few nights at the OBH before heading out to "the bush".

We paid 8000 ZAR for an ocean-view suite and found it to be a great value. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable. The two verandas were great for afternoon cocktails or morning tea. It was nice to have a couch and a living room to relax in while my girlfriend took a nap in the bedroom.

Finally, the food....incredible. The delicious breakfast was included in the price of our room. High tea was like nothing I have ever seen. The selection of snacks to go with tea was truly impressive. We had dinner at the curry buffet one night and I thought it was the best I had ever tasted. We had heard from some folks in Cape Town that it was amazing and it exceeded our expectations. On our last night, we had dinner in the main restaurant. Our server was friendly, yet extremely professional and polite, and the food (I had springbok) and wine were excellent.

Even if I had no other business on South Africa's east coast, I would make a special trip to stay at this hotel. The Oyster Box is a destination in and of itself.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_H75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing