We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for prince and pricnesses”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

...so definitely good enough for us lesser mortals!
It is my regular stop over when on the KwaZulu North coast, multiple times per month.

It has all the ingredients to be a home away from home...well a little more luxurious then home...
It has grace, location, old colonial style and personalized service.
...and the best curry in town1

You will remember this place and they do remember you...like they have been waiting for your return!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are definitely the better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeroen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,809 - 1,815 of 1,966 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

Having experienced the Royal Hotel on arrival in South Africa we had no wish to return there, so we transferred to the Oyster Box.
It is lovely - beautiful location, friendly staff, great spa, great food.
What more can I say.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJMglobaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Three nights at the Oyster Box and you are another person. Excelent service, breakfast was a feast on its own! Dinner in both restuarants was first class with a good selection of wines. We watched the Rugby in the Lighthouse bar very early on Saturday morning and the staff made sure there was enough seating and coffee! Well done.

Room Tip: Sea view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlpineAttitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Very nice hotel,right on the beach so if you like the noise of the sea this is the place for you! Stayed for 2 weeks in August,all the staff are extemely accommodating and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.Smashing breakfasts, especially the champagne and oysters they're well worth a try.The village of Umhlange is really only 2 minutes walk away not via bus,taxi,donkey but on foot. Durban city is 15 minutes by cab so you're out of the city but close enough.The hotel has been totally refurbished and is no smoking anywhere apart from your room or the Chukka Bar where John, David or Siphiwie will make you feel so welcome.I would recommend using a tour guide for any trips as the country is so vast you'll not really see it if you don't really know where you're going.Try Garson Expeditions in Umhlanga Village for a really professional,knowledgable.and efficient service.You can access the beach from the rear of the hotel going down a stairway onto the beach path.

Room Tip: All rooms on sea front are noisy there are quieter rooms on the side of the hotel away from the Indi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lizshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed two nights at the hotel and as it is the latest addition to the Red Carnation Hotel group in South Africa, we had high expectations, having stayed at their other SA hotels eg Bushman's Kloof and The 12 Apostles several times.
The Hotel itself is in a fantastic location directly overlooking the main beach and has been beautifully renovated with nice quirky touches such as the overhead fans in main hotel areas in the shape of ship's propellers. The staff are generally well up to the expected Red Carnation standard except as regards the management of the Ocean Terrace Restaurant.
Consequently, having recently written as rave review of their flagship hotel The Milestone in London, I think it is only reasonable to point out where I feel they are lacking at the Oyster Box.
Apart from Afternoon Tea in the Palm Court, we only ate at Ocean Terrace Restaurant, so we cannot comment on the hotel's 'fine dining' restaurant except in so far as second evening meal served at the Ocean Terrace.
At breakfast on the Terrace at 9am we were surprised to find two workmen varnishing the large double doors front the terrace. They had obviously been working there throughout breakfast service and at the point we were served our food they started working on the set of doors about a meter behind us. We were approached by the assistance restaurant manager and asked if everything was okay with our meal. I said "yes, but i thought that it was pretty poor that the hotel had scheduled such pungent work during breakfast time". The Restaurant Manager then came up and asked what the problem was. They both then went off and sent the two workmen away, telling me that they had been disciplined! The fault was with the management and specifically with the Restaurant managers who presumably had just watched these guys working their along the sets of double doors without considering or insisting that this job was done when the Terrace wasn't full of people having breakfast. Secondly, on our first day, I can only say that we were put under no illusion by our breakfast waiter that he was angling for a tip. This is something I have never come across at a first class hotel and certainly not at a Red Carnation hotel.
The Ocean Terrace has a wonderful Curry Buffet but on our second night, having already had Afternoon Tea, we opted to order from the a la carte menu. This was a mistake. Here's the thing, our waitress told us that apparently the hotel operates four kitchens and if you order a la carte in the Ocean Terrace, then that meal comes from the fine dining kitchen. Good you think. However, my fish and chips were cold and limp and my wife's fish cakes were like bullets having been completely over cooked. I fairness, the manager replaced the fish cakes but they were hardly any better but it seems to me that the problem is that the fine dining kitchen, which was not very busy that night takes less care when orders come in from the Ocean Terrace.
As I say the problem seems to be in a lack of management control at the Restaurant level in the Ocean Terrace. A small thing but when the waitress opened my bottle of sparkling water it exploded, spilling a third of the water on the floor. She continued to pour despite my suggesting that she wipe the floor in case she or someone else slipped on the floor tiles. She said no not to bother and left it. Sure its staff training but who is at fault? Not the waitress nor the woman who showed us to our table for afternoon tea who then proceeded to pour hot tea over my bare leg. Rather, it is a failure at management level.
Let's hope they get it right as its a great hotel and otherwise we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSB-KNYSNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here for our fifth wedding anniversary. It's a perfect place to spend a romantic break.. The thing that stood out the most for me besides the beautiful furnishings was the amazing and friendly service. We were greeted and readily assisted by all the staff. Although we were in a lovely sea facing luxury room, the hotel upgraded us to a suite when one of the sinks in our bathroom broke. The suite was beautiful. It was darkly furnished but I noticed that all the suites are furnished differently so it might be useful to specify what type of suite you would like if you stay in one. We didn't bring our dog but I noticed quite a few dogs in the hotel - the concierge told us there's a pet menu for animals. Overall, nothing seemed too much for the staff and the hotel is truely beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skymaiden001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I went to the Oyster Box Hotel for high tea with my granny and a friend (we were stayin at the Beverely Hills, just next door to the Oyster Box). It was raining when we arrived and one of the hotel workers promptly came with umbrellas to fetch us from the car. We went to the friendly receptionist who showed us where our high tea would be. We had hardly sat down and a waitress came to assist us. The service was first class, the high tea first class and everything was perfect. The waitress even informed us 20 minutes before high tea was supposed to end in case we still wanted something. On our way out we decided to ask if they could show us one of the rooms, they obliged and we were taken to one of the suites. I was amazed , the decor was perfect, everything about that suite was 5 star and beyond. I will definitely try and stay here next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuggibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £234 - £931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing