We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in fantastic location!”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Oysterbox is really the best hotel in Durban. We spent two nights in mid February 2012. The hotel has got a fantastic look, location and touch. The people working there are so friendly and nice that they did not know what they could do to please us.
We had a family suite with two rooms. This is the only part we did not like. The room was very small and we could hardly open our suitcase when in the room. We had three suitcases.....
Great pool, great breakfast, great drinks - everything was great!
It is located right on the beach and has got a fantastic view towards Durban city center and the football stadium.
We would definately go back if we returned to Durban!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond.

I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of this beautiful Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,820 - 1,826 of 2,007 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

I know this hotel intimately as I lived nearby and have had family stay there as well as have stayed myself on one occasion. Beautiful views, Superb food in the Grill room and the nicest hotel staff that you could find anywhere in the world. The spa rivals the spas at some of the best places in the world. The manager is first class and has really done a good job with the place. The staff really look after their guests. Great for business and great for family. I've stayed at the very best hotels in London New York and Dubai and I would rate it ahead of most.

Room Tip: Sea facing will take your breath away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuryreviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of this beautiful Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Brilliant hotel. Not only in its quality and warmth of service, which is extreme, but in its coherent style, intricate design and glorious theme. If some hotels are like simple boxes, and others like fine cabinets, this one is like a jewel-encrusted sea chest carved from ancient Indian hardwood and filled with a hoard of stolen treasures from faroff lands. Expect staff in Indian jackets and doormen in pith helmets. Expect weaver birds singing in the humid evening. Expect light and sea air to flood your crisp white and seashell room when you open the shutters in the morning. Expect luxury and elegance with more than a hint of sultry summer nights and guilty colonial charm. If you told me this was the best hotel in the world, I'd raise my gin and tonic to that.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captaintrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of the Hotel.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We visited the Hotel with family & friends for a dinner & a commemorative get together. Unfortunately we were not able to stay over but this is definitely on my list of "must do's in 2012"
The ambiance, location & level of service were exceptional!
We had sundowner drinks on the upper terrace with a magnificent view over the Umhlanga Lighthouse, the Bluff & the Indian Ocean with the glittering lights of about 30 ships waiting in the roads to enter the harbour.
We had dinner in the curry buffet restaurant which was superb. The staff dealt very well with a table of over 20 diners & we all sampled our way through a glorious array of different spicy dishes with all the accompaniments. The buffet was kept fresh & well replenished & the chefs on duty were knowledgable & personable.
Well recommended & certainly to be revisited!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your reply. Delighted you enjoyed your Oyster Box experience in The Ocean Terrace and Lighthouse Bar.
We look forward to your return visit.
Kind regards,
Wayne Coetzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Oyster Box Hotel

We felt incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived and the porters with their colonial hats greeted us with the biggest smiles.

This must be Umhlanga's most stunning hotel… with breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean... and the blue just carries on and on...
We were lucky enough to spot some dolphins from the loungers at the ocean-facing pool.

We stayed in a lovely sea-facing room - oh and I never wanted to leave...
Everything was immaculately clean and cozy (thank goodness for the aircon).
My hubby got a bee in his bonnet, so we got up early and watched the sunrise (highly recommend it) over the Indian Ocean... stunning!

Our package included a spa treatment (it was sooo good I went back for more)
and High Tea (this satisfied my hubby's sweet tooth) but go hungry as everything is scrumptious!

We only have good things to say about our stay… the staff were ‘on the ball’… you need something, it magically appears!
The food, service and scenery - all exceeded our expectations... and we look forward to our anniversary visit!!!

Sincerely
Elizabeth and Damon Drew

Room Tip: South Africans pay reduced rates - enquire with their bookings people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay which included our famous High Tea offering scrumptious fare and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again for another Oyster Box experience.
Kind regards,
Wayne Coetzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at OBH in December 2011. During this stay I complained about the shutters in the room letting in the light and being woken up at 5.30am every morning! The problem was "rectified" by providing us with eye masks that would have fit a 2 year old - we could not use them. This solution was completely inadequate and no other solution was offered.
The waiter service in the Terrace restaurant was also not on par with a 5 star property - having to request napkins numerous times and waiting over an hour for our food on the last evening of our stay.
The housekeeping staff and the Grill Room (both staff and food) were fantastic - especially Angel in the Grill Room - what a superstar - true 5 star service from them.
Overall I was disappointed in the hotel and no-one mentions the shutters either in Trip Advisor or the hotel website. Has anyone else had this problem?
I have been fortunate to stay is some truly amazing 5 star hotels in other countries and have to say that I feel the OBH is too inconsistent for a proper 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Sea facing room but be warned of a very early awakening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debivw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I recently visited Durban on buisness my first time in Natal, and a friend recommended I take a look at the Oyster Box. After taking up this suggestion I can honestly say as well travelled person it has to be well up my list if not top in terms of service, surrounds and standards.

The food was simply fantastic in particular the curry buffet, having spent time in India on numerous occasions I can honestly say I would rate the currys as one of the best two curriy's I have ever eaten.

Service from the staff was impecible and it seemed there was nothing they would nt do to improve my stay.

Decor classique, elegant yet not over powering.

I had a number of buisness meeting while at the Oyster Box and I think I can say it definetly propelled the image and standards of myself and that of my buisness in the minds of what will be my company's new relationships in South Africa.

Overall my visit was tremendous and I can honestly say the Oyster Box is sublime, I will be advising all of my visitors and clients that will be visiting my new buisness in South Africa and that it is the only place to stay and is a must. What a great vision of Durban it portrays,

My thanks go out to the staff that my visit oh so such a pleasure.

Regards
Phil

Room Tip: Amazing veiw from any sea facing room, stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest,
I am delighted that you so enjoyed all aspects of The Oyster Box from the decor to the food and service on your business visit.
We look forward to being able to spoil you on your next visit to our special hotel.
Kind regards,
Wayne Coetzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £249 - £972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing