We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oyster Box
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$567
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,096)
Filter reviews
2,097 results
Traveller rating
1,860
172
42
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,860
172
42
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetthe grilllighthouse barhigh teaoysterswayne coetzerocean terrace restaurantoyster barresident catgarden villaattention to detailour waitersea facing roomcolonial styleindian oceanbucket listtreated like royalty
Filter
Updating list...
1,797 - 1,802 of 2,097 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

A back-in time, "Colonial" experience, hotel; with every modern facility, the very highest standards, wonderful staff teams and exceptional food and wine prepared to suit every mood and every palate. If you want fish and chips with beer, it's there - fresh pizzas and juicy steaks with quaffing wines on the terrace - fine dining in white leather armchairs with wines presented by a Sommelier who knows his cellar but talks "with" his guests rather than "at" them! It's all at the Oyster Box and we loved it. It's not cheap but it is amazing value for money so our advice:- If your staying at the Oyster Box, enjoy it to the full.

The setting is superb, both the pools are beautiful, the accommodation is sumptuous and the staff at every level are professional, courteous, friendly and for the most part, very happy to be part of your Oyster Box experience.

Whatever else you do whilst at this Hotel, have a drink in the amazing library, look out to sea through the brass telecope and have at least one doze in the huge leather armchairs. Its a serious "must do"!

The downsides - we didn't find any! The upsides - absolutely everything about this superb hotel and the people who work there. Thank you all!

Room Tip: From what we saw, all rooms are furnished and serviced impecably. Some are a bit on the small side and the sea view is well worth having but you are unlikely to be disappointed with any room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 112MandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback following your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, especially in the restaurants and the Clock Library where you were able to sit back, relax and enjoy the moment.

I look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We have just returned from a mid-week break at the Oyster Box! - It was pampering from second 1! Saying that it is home away from home does it no justification as this is far far better than home!
The staff are genuinely friendly and go totally out of their way for any of your 'crazy' requests! The rooms, the service and heavens...the food...the curry buffet, the prawns and yes even the PIZZA!! Even if I wanted to find fault somewhere...nothing!
This was a truly gastronomical, heavenly, peaceful, calming break!! If you love yourself....treat yourself... it will be memorable!!!

Room Tip: Sea facing is a must...but they are all good!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were blown away by the friendliness of the staff, the rooms, service and food, not forgetting our exceptional Curry Buffet.

My wish is that you will return often to enjoy further memorable breaks.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is one of my favourite hotels ever! The service is world class. The rooms are beautiful, the decor is magnificent and the food is out of this world! The curry buffet is a must, as well as the high tea! Dont pass up the opportunity to order the halva, peppermint crisp and hot fudge sundae ☺
Qlso Best spa ever!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the rooms and the food, in particular the exceptional High Tea and Curry Buffet.

I look forward to welcoming you back one day again to enjoy the Award Winning Spa too.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Oyster Box is a luxury place with friendly staff, fantastic rooms and a kitchen they should be very proud of. Try their Curry buffet out on the terrace and try their Dancing evening in the Grill Room and you will have an experience you will never forget. The Spa is also something you shoudn´t miss.
I am a bit of the complaing guy but here I just cannot find any negative sides!
Hans

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klinfhgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the friendly staff, fantastic rooms and Curry Buffet. In particular the Saturday Dinner Dance has been a favourite with many over the years.

I look forward to welcoming you back one day soon for yet another wonderful stay at The Oyster Box.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I have just returned from my second visit to the OBH and wow, it gets better and better. The service was the best I have ever experienced and the staff gave us a personal and special stay. They are hands down the best and most friendly I have ever experienced. Each meal we had was amazing. We will be back for many years to come!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceysouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the service levels which you found to be amazing.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Oyster Box for yet another fantastic stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews