We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Recently spent 2nights at this beautiful hotel overlooking the Indian Ocean . The food was delicious attention to detail faultless . Staff friendly and attentive all in all a wonderful experience . The curry buffet was fantastic best curries I've tasted in a long time . The room was nicely appointed everything was there you'd possibly need . I hope to return to this lovely spot

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your two night stay, in particular the delicious food with attention to detail which includes the exceptional Curry Buffet, the accommodation and the friendliness of the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,562 - 1,568 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

Went to OB on our trip to Durban. Classy. Ambience, Service and faultless food. The chef's amazing. Obviously talented with flavours, the food was as good as anything we've ever eaten. Would like to see some more creativity on the seafood though. We will go back the next time we visit Durban. Bottomline - expensive but worth every penny.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Soulfreeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit to The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the experience, in particular the restaurants and my Chefs' delicious cuisine.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We've held a function there, been to other functions and even stayed a night for an anniversary. The service has improved with time, but is not always impressive and can be quite poor. The rooms are adequate, but not wonderful and they have the most noisy sheets. Kept us awake with their rustling. Not helped by the alarm clock that went off at 4am!! Beautifully decorated, but relying on its brand which creates more hype than they can deliver on. If they were less pretentious, they might impress more as they do not do anything wrong, just don't fulfill ones overinflated expectations.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MRKiggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
It was so disappointing to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. I did try and locate your booking details so that I could personally phone you as I was interested to know specifically where we under delivered. However I could not locate your booking. We have so many fantastic comments from guests about the service, food and staff in the Hotel, and your review came as quite a surprise. I am so Sorry you found our Egyptian cotton sheets noisy, and that this spoilt your nights sleep.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and ensuring you are allocated one of our many large beautifully appointed rooms or suites, as well as arranging a beautiful table in our award winning restaurant.
Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I travel with two children (5 and 9) who have become quite difficult to impress. Yet, every time we've stayed at The Oyster Box, I've had to drag them (and myself) back home very reluctantly with promises to come back.
This hotel has beautiful views of the Indian Ocean and there's a lighthouse right outside which feels like part of the decor. From the moment you check in to the hard goodbye, the experience here is all five star.

The staff is friendly and attentive. All requests, big and small are met promptly with incredible warmth and a sincere desire to be of service.

Th rooms are on the smaller side, but the sea facing rooms feel a little more spacious if you open the doors and make use of the patios.

The kids club is staffed with amazing people, who seem to really like children and they keep the, well entertained. I sometimes struggled to get my kids to do things outside the hotel.

The food is really good, the restaurant is one of the best in Durban, so early booking is advised as it is also popular with locals. The kitchen staff was happy to make items, not on the menu but that we craved.
I also made use of the gym, although it is small it is more than adequate for a workout - but the best is running along the beach promenade which is clean, safe and absolutely beautiful.

This hotel truly is a home away from home.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are more spacious. Sea facing rooms have spectacular views, but are smaller I. Size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NQKhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am so happy that you found everything to your liking, in particular the stunning ocean views, friendly staff, the children's holiday club and food in the restaurants.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to your "home away from home".

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Oyster Box Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks. A fabulous hotel complete with resident cat! The decor is great. One must book a sea facing room as the view is unsurpassed. Our only complaint was that the area around the swimming pool is a little cramped. Overall a lovely experience with first class service.

Room Tip: book a superior sea facing room - a must even though a bit more expensive. The view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillIKlabrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Klarbach,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the unsurpassed views of the ocean from your sea facing room.

Skabenga, our resident cat and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here for over 2 weeks in early February. The staff are exceptional, attentive, friendly always smiling and professional. Well trained staff are a credit to the management, who go out of their way, to make their guests feel at home. Any request is dealt with promptly and efficiently. The food is excellent in each restaurant, the breakfast is by far the best we have had anywhere in the world. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Whilst the sea views are great, the rooms are lovely but not large, the garden rooms tend to be bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Stirling,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your two week stay at The Oyster Box in late January/February.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the food in the restaurants, especially breakfast and in particular the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

My staff are most aware of one of our top service standards "No Request is Too Large, No Detail Too Small".

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to your "home away from home".

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Its what you would expect from a 5star hotel,beautful rooms I spent 4 nights in this hotel it was entry to South Africa the receiption was outstanding friendly staff with their smiles on ,had Curry buffet it was just out of this world....so yummy.not forgeting the heated pools which I loved the most wher I had the best than ever waiters were just on top of their game which I wasn't expecting I had a cocktail Umhlanga shling which was recomended by a waiter who had a beautful smile and told me his name was Blessing which means I was Blessed too and told me he was gona deliver it in a few minutes coz he is faster than a cheater*quote of the trip* of which he did his English was so fluent loved the acsent Blessing in disguiz ,the seaview was so clear ,siting facing the lighthouse,also visited the Spa outstanding,nice view from the terece as well pizzas from the wood oven its standard,overaly I had a nice stay

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steenbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you were completely blown away by the service and friendliness of the staff and that you found your stay enjoyable and memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
414 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £259 - £869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing