We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Durban”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Durban”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Traveling to South Africa for holiday, we opted to go to Durban. And found the most amazing hotel. We have stayed at the Oyster Box Hotel and traveled back a month later to simply revisit the place, the Oyster Box Hotel. Remarkable place. The staff, service, food, the spa, and the rooms, simply impeccable. The staff were really friendly and attended to our needs with utmost urgency and with a pleasant attitude (which is very hard to find in a lot of places). They took time to know us by name and never forgot, especially when we went back for our second visit. This creates such a warm environment and makes your stay extra special.
We give OBH, 130%. Thank you so much for making our stay pleasant, comfortable and absolutely romantic. We shall be back. To anyone traveling to South Africa, Durban, make sure you stay at OBH.
Keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted that you returned for another amazing stay and found everything to your liking, in particular the friendliness and attentive staff, the service, food, award-winning Spa and beautiful room.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for yet another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,577
    148
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
456
811
51
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here as a family, children are 6 and 9. Children's Club isn't up to much, but the hotel, the staff, the food, the location...all are wonderful. Would def. go back. The staff were really well trained and remembered hotel guests by name, they also gave excellent recommendations of things to do during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves. Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guests' experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Sometimes staff is everything, these proud employees made our stay the perfect 10, happy attentive and very proud of their surrounds. I love the oyster box for its incredibly tasteful interiors, its manageable size, glorious food; curry buffet was really lovely (tuesday nights) and the breakfast buffet beautifully presented for a great start to the day. This venue makes you feel like you fit right in as you swim a length or two just metres above the promenade overlooking the champagne waves of the Indian ocean. The rooms are beautifully appointed leaving you wanting for nothing else but perhaps a cool beverage as you sink into the horizon. I do love umhlanga!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the friendly, attentive staff who are passionate about ensuring our guests' stay is most relaxing and memorable.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back one day when you will be able to enjoy the beautifully appointed rooms, relaxing swimming pool overlooking the ocean and the delicious Curry Buffet which is served daily at lunch and again prepared for dinner.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in many hotels. The Oyster Box has the best trained team of people's people possible. How this hotel has achieved a level of customer focus that makes u feel like u r staying with friends is an example to every hotel around the world. It is extraordinary.
Worth the effort to experience. And worthy of a business study to capture the essence of how it is achieved.
You could not find better anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at
The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were completely blown away by the service and friendliness of the staff which exceeded all your expectations.

Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guests' experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I hope that I will at some point have the pleasure of welcoming you back toThe Oyster Box.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

When the landmark Durban hotel, the Oyster Box was bought by Red Carnation Hotels, they completely remodelled the property, added additional accommodation and facilities, but respected its history and tradition as they transformed this glorious oceanfront hotel in the Durban seaside suburb of Umhlanga Rocks. A superb General Manager, welcoming,competent and efficient staff are everywhere to make a stay here sublime. While suites and rooms are relatively compact, every facility and amenity you could wish for is to be found. From impeccable airport transfers to elegant bars, lounges, outdoor terraces overlooking the sea with direct beach access, several dining options are available too. From the graciously appoint Grillroom, to the Terrace Restaurant with its extensive choices including famed local curries, comfortable bars, a pool and gardens all combine to make this a perfect property for the leisure or corporate traveller.

Room Tip: The luxury sea facing rooms have the benefit of their own secluded outdoor terraces with scenic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to get in touch and provide me with some feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

The Owners have been passionate in keeping the intrinsic character and colonial charm of the hotel and this is apparent throughout the public areas as well as the beautifully appointed accommodation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to again enjoy the extensive choices on the menus of The Grill Room and The Ocean Terrace and relax next to the ocean view or garden swimming pools.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Step back in time, colonial vibes, individually styled rooms , the oyster bar stands out, personable staff, all with their own story. This hotel group really looks after its staff. the bar tender had just got back from a work trip to London.the hotel is also very family friendly which is rare for such a high end venue. kids welcome in pool and restaurants....they also supplied travel cot. the library is also a highlight, not to mention the hunting room should you enjoy cigars and hard liquor ...smoking inside seems so naughty these days. the curry buffet was very good value, however one should order the prawns bachalau in addition to experience the full culinary repertoire of the well renowned chef. look fwd till our next trip. thanks red carnation,, we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggajez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to provide such a delightful review.

Naturally, I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were completely blown away by the friendliness of the staff, thought the decor incredible, in particular the Oyster Bar and found that your whole stay exceeded your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your return trip.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We only stayed one night at this hotel, but had we known how good it was we'd have stayed longer. Our room had a wonderful view of the ocean and lighthouse, and was very well furnished.

The public areas of the hotel are delightful, including a great bar and library. We had dinner in The Grill Room, which we felt was very good value for money and would highly recommend. Perhaps the highlight is the wonderful breakfast - probably the best hotel breakfast we've ever had. The range and quality of food was very impressive, and the outdoor terrace is a beautiful setting.

The quality of service was excellent across the whole hotel and we were made to feel very welcome by all members of staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to get in touch and provide me with some feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the bar, the clock library, The Grill Room and in particular the impressive range of delicious breakfasts on The Ocean Terrace overlooking the ocean.

Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guests' experience here is amazing and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing