We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL IN SOUTHERN AFRICA!”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I recently returned from a weekend at the Oyster Box and cannot wait to go back again! Absolutely everything was perfect.....from the minute you arrive to the sad moment when you have to leave!
This was my 2nd visit and it truly felt like home away from home - I was there on my birthday and every single member of staff helped make it very special - my room was beautiful, fresh flowers everywhere and lots of surprises along the way all weekend long. Tyler Liebenberg and her team are phenomenal and I cannot think of a better place in the world to celebrate a special occasion.
The food at all of the restaurants was superb......don't go expecting to lose weight! Everything is beautifully presented and tastes delicious.
Sadly the weather wasn't great when we were there but that just meant that we could truly indulge in the spa's offerings.....and once again there wasn't a single thing that could have been done to improve any of the visits or treatments.
Yes, the location is superb, the rooms gorgeous, the food delicious, the spa brilliant, the detail everywhere outstanding but what really makes this hotel different from other 5-star hotels that I have visited all over the world is the people - the entire team make you feel at home and welcome and you never want to go anywhere else again! Well done Wayne, Tyler and your whole support team. Can't wait for the next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such an amazing review following your second stay at The Oyster Box to celebrate the special occasion of your birthday.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were blown away by the friendly staff, the appointment of your beautiful room with fresh flowers, the delicious food at all of the restaurants and the treatments you experienced in the award-winning Spa, all of which exceeded your expectations.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to your 'home from home' when next you visit
The Oyster Box.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

My stay at the Oyster Box was nothing short of phenomenal. The hotel itself is sumptuous and has more than enough luxurious entertainment to keep you enchanted throughout your stay. The room was delightful, the food excellent, and the staff members were lovely and beyond accommodating. Generally it felt like a little piece of paradise. I highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lighthouse and the ocean can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you found everything to your liking and that your stay exceeded your expectations, including the luxurious room, delicious food, friendly, efficient staff and the entertainment on offer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise soon.

Kind regards.

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A colleague and I decided to go for lunch at the Oyster Box for a business meeting... What a wonderful afternoon we had! The service was outstanding, smiley friendly faces. We both had a salad, I know it may sound boring to some but for those ladies out there that enjoy a good salad... you will not be disappointed! My colleague had the salmon salad and I had the chicken salad. I forgot to mention, it was the most gorgeous day and sitting out on the terrace was too lovely. I would definitely recommend visiting the Oyster Box for lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bitterolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review following your visit to enjoy lunch at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you both thoroughly enjoyed your salmon salad and chicken salad and that you found the staff to be friendly whilst offering outstanding service.

Sitting outside on The Ocean Terrace overlooking the ocean is a wonderful experience and most therapeutic and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience further Oyster Box magic.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have just returned from staying at the Oyster Box Hotel. WOW!! what an amazing place, from the friendly, helpful staff , to the amazing hotel. I couldnt fault them with anything. The breakfast was also so delicious!!
Best hotel I have ever stayed in....Will definately be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted you found the staff friendly and helpful and that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, including the amazing delicious breakfast served in The Ocean Terrace Restaurant overlooking the ocean.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

What a great weekend we had at the Oyster Box hotel. I would like to thank the hotel staff and especially the management team for the superb job they did in ensuring that we had a very enjoyable and memorable stay. I was very impressed with the high level of service and efficiency of the hotel staff. We stayed in one of the beautiful superior garden villas which was amazing -- I was especially amazed by the attention to detail that these rooms had to offer. We were also fortunate enough to find a spot for a treatment at the very popular Oyster Box hotel spa, where the spa staff ensured that we enjoy a relaxing experience. I can easily recommend the Oyster Box hotel for a pleasant stay, for any occasion. Superb and five star indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your weekend stay at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you found the efficient staff and level of service superior and that you enjoyed the luxurious comfort and attention to detail in your beautiful superior garden villa.

I am delighted too that you fully enjoyed your experience at the world class, award-winning Spa, where the staff are passionate about ensuring the guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I’ve been lucky to have stayed in some fabulous hotels around the World and the Oyster Box ranks with some of the best. From the service, friendliest of the staff and the high quality of the food served. I couldn’t find anything to fault. Great views too and we even got to see Whales!

Room Tip: choose a room at the front for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to read that you found the service, friendly staff and quality of the food to be world class and as an added bonus, that you even managed to see Whales in the ocean on our doorstep.

I hope that at some point, I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

For any occassion big, small, romantic or girly getaway! Outstanding Oyster Box it is!
The Curry Buffet is an absolute MUST! Rain or shine its delish!
The staff are incredibly efficient and friendly, this clearly comes from a great management team and investment in their staff!
If you looking at some time out, the spa is awesome OR why not try the cinema inside the hotel! AMAZING!
Well done Oyster Box for always going the extra mile and making your guests feel so special!
Ps the views rain or shine are magnificent too! Wowzers!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time write a review.

I so appreciate these amazing comments about our facilities. I am also glad to see you have had the chance to experience so many of our amazing offerings, including our famous Curry Buffet.

Thank you for supporting us, and using our wonderful facilities.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
414 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £258 - £869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing