We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Treatment at Ocean terrace and Lighthouse Bar”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Special Treatment at Ocean terrace and Lighthouse Bar”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We celebrated my son's 17th birthday on the 9th December and we were treated like royalty by Sizwe and the whole staff at the Ocean terrace restaurant. The food was phenomenal and the attention to detail, including the Birthday cake made the evening very special for my son, our family and friends. Congratulations to your team at the Oysterbox and especially to Sizwe in the Ocean terrace! We will definately be dining at your hotel again in the future!
Regards
Tim Hedges

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your visit to
The Oyster Box on the special occasion of your son's 17th birthday.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you all thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the food, attention to detail, the birthday cake and the exceptional service.

Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return. Thank you for pointing out the staff member that stood out from a service point of view, I will be sure to thank him for looking after you in order to create wonderful memories on your son's special day.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    146
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
437
803
51
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our expectations were exceeded by the most wonderful experience of a colonial high tea last Thursday.
The savouries and snacks, and the teas, cakes and other delectables were truly "top drawer" and we must recommend this as a not to be missed experience.
We shall certainly return to sample more of the great service from a very professional team, and to indulge ourselves further with those goodies already sampled as favourites, and to try those that decorum and repleteness did not permit.
Yvonne Simpson and The Ladies of The Upper Highway.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting an amazing review about your High Tea experience. I will deffinately forward your comments to our Executive Chef who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed his efforts.

High tea has become such a popular event at The Oyster Box, and we Pride ourselves in providing the finest quality confectionary Durban has to offer.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have stayed at the Oyster Box 3 times in the last 12 months and all I can say is that our stays get longer with each visit. From the moment you arrive you fall under Bea Tollman's spell and a part of wishes you could stay forever. I can go on and on about the beautiful rooms (we love the luxury sea facing rooms) and highly recommend Friday evening cocktails in the Lighthouse Bar along with days lounging at one of the most beautiful pools in the world. Breakfast is a particular luxury and champagne and eggs Benedict are standard fare - I always manage to pack on a few pounds after a few days here. This hotel is the perfect balance of sheer luxury and casual beach comfort where every member of the family is made to feel welcome. We've stayed here with our daughter and she loves the special treats that pop up for her during out stays. If you're looking for a 5 star stay on the kzn coast then look no further than the Oyster Box! We know we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for writing such a great review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay, and must thank you for your regular patronage.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed the breakfast, and in particular our chefs special, the eggs Benedict!

I look forward to welcoming you back and spoiling you in the very near Future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our expectations WERE exceeded. Sincere thanks to Seelan, the waiter who bent over backwards every morning to ensure our favorite table was booked, our mustards were available and who engaged us in a friendly manner every morning. To Carolina, a special thanks: You lived up to the mantra of the Oyster Box Hotel. You asked how to make our stay better. And when we asked you delivered beyond our expectations.

And to all the support staff, thanks for your friendly and sincere greetings each morning. Your smiles are a great start to every morning.

The Oyster Box has exceeded its reputation. The service ethic is impeccable. Sure there are aspects that may require some work but the management and staff go more than the extra mile if asked to correct an issue. From feather pillows, to towels, to Spa treatments, to maintenance of the shower, to shuttles to nearby malls and so much more....Thanks again. It was special!

One small issue which may require some address is the value for money of food served at the OceanTerrace Restaurant. Costly for quality received.

Room Tip: The Suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review.

I was so happy to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of this beautiful Hotel, from the friendly staff to the amazing facilities.

We pride ourselves in offering the very best service possible and I am so glad you experienced this on your recent visit.

Have a wonderful Xmas

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Use to visit the Oyster Box back in the 1990's and it was a great old colonial type hotel, no A/C and rather large cockroaches, I loved it! It has now been rebuilt in the same style as the old one keeping many features and it's now a 5 star plus. Still very relaxed but a little more formal (no sandals or shorts in the grill room!). Best Malay curry ever! Magnificent breakfasts to last you all day, unfortunate as lunch is also good. Deserves more than 5 stars in my opinion, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea facing room. Mmmmm watch out for the dolphins swimming past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek Wright J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely Review!

I loved your comment about the Cockroaches, and am delighted you didn't encounter any!

It was great to read that you enjoyed our famous curry buffet, and we certainly hope to welcome you back many more times in the near future.

Have a wonderful Christmas.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Oyster Box

My husband and I were given a belated honeymoon weekend at the Oyster Box.
We knew the place was fancy, but our experience exceeded our expectations and wildest dreams.

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Everyone was exceptionally friendly, from the front desk personnel all the way down to the ground staff. All our questions were answered promptly and no request was too much.

The hotel itself oozes character and charm. You will struggle to find anything like this in South Africa.... truly amazing!

We stayed in a luxurious villa, nestled in the hotel’s secluded gardens. It had an upstairs bedroom with en suite, and a balcony overlooking the pool. The lower lounge area was very spacious and opened up to our very own plunge pool!

One of the highlights of our stay was our one and a half hour B|Together full body, hot stone couples massage. Absolutely Superb! Total bliss from start to finish!
We have been to numerous spas around the world, but nothing has come close to this experience.
The girls were so well trained, it sometimes felt like more than one person was working their magic at a time. (I know what I want for Christmas, Spa vouchers please!)

Dinner in The Grill Room was a real treat.
Staff were dressed very formally and contributed to the style of the restaurant. (It's not the place to go to in jeans and slops).
Kevin, the head chef, came out and gave us a personal breakdown of the menu, which I thought was a nice touch. The steak melted in Duncan's mount and the Salmon was scrumptious.
The sommelier paired our meal with a superb Hanibal from Bouchard Finlayson, delish.
We ended off our meal with crepe suzette, which were prepared right at our table by Hendry. He's part of the furniture at the hotel, and has been working there for 50 years, what a character. Very special!

When we returned to our room we were surprised by a romantic rose-petal-turn-down. Complete with scented candles and swans made of towels.
A perfect way to end off a perfect day.

Breakfast was served on the picturesque Ocean Terrace, which overlooks the ocean. We could see the waves crashing just below us and viewed the lighthouse directly in front of us.
The breakfast buffet was five star and basically anything you desired was available. Champagne and oysters... "Coming right up"...

We had such a relaxing stay, we wish we never had to leave...
All in all it was a spectacular stay and a truly magical experience that one would struggle to beat!

Thank you to the amazing staff at The Oyster Box for a truly unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest

I am so delighted you enjoyed your belated Honeymoon with us at The Oyster Box.

The Oyster Box holds so many memories for so many people and I am so glad you will now have your own fond memories.

It was lovely read that you found all the staff exceptionally friendly and that you had an amazing dinner in our Grill Room.

Thank you for spending this special occasion with us.


Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I recently visited The Oyster Box and can honestly say that their service, food and accommodation are out of this world. I have never experienced such friendly, helpful and professional staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The view from our room was simply amazing. When you do visit the hotel I strongly suggest you try the curry buffet in the Ocean Terrace Restaurant. You will not regret it. Just don't look at the bathroom scale the next morning. You may be disappointed. Simply fantastic curry that you can't get enough of. Overall The Oyster Box gets a 5/5. A must visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RareEarthZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a phenomenal review.

I am so delighted you found the service and food fantastic, and that you had time to enjoy our delicious curry buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
302 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing