We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch 2013”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch 2013”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A heartfelt thank you to The Oyster Box for the most fabulous Christmas lunch. By far my best dinning experience in Durban. After my turkey was in the oven for our family dinner, I thought to myself ....I wish I made lunch reservations somewhere. But Where ??????????? every restaurant would be fully booked. I had a light bulb idea....Kevin Joseph ...chef alla extraordinary has always accommodated my last minute requests. I called Kevin, with already thinking 'they are full, there's no way I'm going to get a table.' . The answer I received was @what time would you like to come?' . Wow, what an awesome christmas lunch it was. We were greeted and welcomed, I can't decide, like royalty or family or old friends, by the doorman,the hostess, the waiters, Mr Josehp himself , hotel manager Wayne Coetzer whom I didn't realise had donned the santa suit for a few hours and every staff member I had the pleasure to meet at Christmas lunch 2013 at The Oyster Box. 5 star hospitality in Durban is rare, and The Oyster Box has perfected 5 star experience in Durban. Thank you Wayne, Kevin and all the staff of The Oyster Box Hotel for sacrificing your Christmas with your families so that my family and I could have a fabulous Christmas lunch. I almost forgot I believe in magic thank you Mo Magic South Africa. Congratulation The Oyster Box ... your 5 star hospitality can compare to all the 7 star hotels across the globe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reshika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review following your recent visit to The Oyster Box to enjoy Christmas lunch.

I am delighted that you experienced a wonderful time here and that you found everything to your liking, including the superb friendliness and excellent service from all of the staff and of course the absolutely delicious menu on offer on such a special day.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for other memorable moments at The Oyster Box.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,607
    152
    40
    18
    5
See reviews for
473
823
52
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 13th Anniversary. We were treated like Royalty! From our sunny room with a view of the ocean, to our Turkish Spa experience, to our French Champagne, to our delicious curry, to our tea in bed the next morning, to our walk on the Boulevard and finally to our incredible buffet breakfast on the Terrace. Wow what a treat! We felt like family and we can't wait to return. Thank you Wayne and the Oyster Box for a memorable and fabulous stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Yellow Sea Facing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belindasbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review following your stay at The Oyster Box to celebrate the occasion of your 13th Anniversary.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including your beautiful room overlooking the ocean, the award-winning spa, the delicious food and attentive staff.

My wish is that you will return to The Oyster Box to celebrate other special moments.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Absolutely delightful!!!!!!!,,,,,,,the food,,the service,, the restaurant, the food was a very special treat,,,,,

the views over looking the sea are delightful,,,,,,thoroughly recommend this little heaven,,,,,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniasroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you found the food, service, restaurants and breathtaking views over the ocean to your liking.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Oyster Box is by far my favourite hotel in Durban!
Every experience there outdoes the last and I am constantly in awe of its high standards and luxurious atmosphere.
Once you walk in you are immediately taken away to a different place. It is such a great retreat and I leave feeling uplifted and refreshed every time.
The restaurants make me feel like Alice in Wonderland and the coffee is top notch. Even better is the hospitality and joy of the staff…you are welcomed and greeted with a smile and friendly hello from every staff member. More so, the décor throughout the hotel is mindblowing. It is full of history and culture and each room has a unique look and feel, which is sure to fascinate.
If you are able to, make sure to try their infamous High Tea or a drink at the Lighthouse Bar upstairs, and the spa is in a class of its own.

I definitely recommend it to all looking for a break from reality, a special experience and an absolute treat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you found everything to your liking and were completely blown away by the decor, restaurants and friendly staff.

In particular, I am pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the delicious High Tea which caters for all tastes and for which we have become very well known, the lighthouse bar and also the award-winning spa.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

It's hard to fault such a resort. It oozes charm from a bygone era, and one would almost expect meeting Poirot and Hastings playing bridge in the library or simply enjoying the four o'clock tea downstairs. 2 pools, including an infinity one with views on the Indian Ocean and the Umhlanga lighthouse, 2 bars, one sort of hip upstairs and one oyster bar, and again 2 restaurants including an upmarket one, with food and wine to boot! Perfect service, lovely rooms... Recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swisscheese_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found everything to your liking, in particular the infinity pool and garden pool, spectacular views overlooking the ocean, the iconic lighthouse, bars and restaurants offering delicious food and an extensive wine list.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future to experience another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We celebrated my son's 17th birthday on the 9th December and we were treated like royalty by Sizwe and the whole staff at the Ocean terrace restaurant. The food was phenomenal and the attention to detail, including the Birthday cake made the evening very special for my son, our family and friends. Congratulations to your team at the Oysterbox and especially to Sizwe in the Ocean terrace! We will definately be dining at your hotel again in the future!
Regards
Tim Hedges

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your visit to
The Oyster Box on the special occasion of your son's 17th birthday.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you all thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the food, attention to detail, the birthday cake and the exceptional service.

Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return. Thank you for pointing out the staff member that stood out from a service point of view, I will be sure to thank him for looking after you in order to create wonderful memories on your son's special day.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our expectations were exceeded by the most wonderful experience of a colonial high tea last Thursday.
The savouries and snacks, and the teas, cakes and other delectables were truly "top drawer" and we must recommend this as a not to be missed experience.
We shall certainly return to sample more of the great service from a very professional team, and to indulge ourselves further with those goodies already sampled as favourites, and to try those that decorum and repleteness did not permit.
Yvonne Simpson and The Ladies of The Upper Highway.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting an amazing review about your High Tea experience. I will deffinately forward your comments to our Executive Chef who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed his efforts.

High tea has become such a popular event at The Oyster Box, and we Pride ourselves in providing the finest quality confectionary Durban has to offer.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
337 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing