We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Ideally located above the promenade and overlooking the sea and beach.
Every attention to detail and the most wonderful linen!

The food is amazing and breakfast, lunch or dinner on the terrace is something to savour for long after you have left.

Truly excellent

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, especially the location of the hotel offering stunning views of the ocean, attention to detail throughout, beautiful linen and delicious food on The Ocean Terrace.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,488 - 1,494 of 2,007 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

What is it about the light house which just makes this such a different and special experience! We were deliberately early so we could have lunch on the Terrace. Neither of us managed to finish the amount of tasty food we were given though, but by the time we had given up, our room was ready. We went for a long walk along the pristine prom, and when we came back we went into the library for a while - a fabulous room and very interesting. Then we just relaxed on the balcony of our room and watched the world go by to the crashing of the waves on the rocky beach. I just love that sound. That evening we ate seafood and had a bottle of wine outside on the terrace. It was beautifully warm. The hotel's lights were pretty and the lighthouse light winked at the ships out at sea. Later, the sound of the waves lulled us to sleep in the large bed. In the morning we went for another walk- on the sand this time - before showering again - the shower came down from the ceiling! Pretty spectacular! And then sauntered down to the stunning breakfast fare. Some people were swimming which seemed like a very good idea as the sun was very hot. I have to mention the great atmosphere and those fans! So cool! We left mid-morning feeling refreshed and relaxed.

Room Tip: Sea view is my choice, but the waves are loud! There was only one comfy chair and one straight back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at
The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the comfortable accommodation with a balcony overlooking the stunning views of the ocean, the delicious food on The Ocean Terrace and the relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A South African friend insisted that I stay here when I visited Durban. He explained that Durban, the town, was "going down" and that Umhlanga Rocks was the area to stay. (Took a tour of Durban, the city, and thought that it seemed OK.)
But Umhlanga is a bit less seedy, etc.
This hotel was FABULOUS. It's gorgeous in a non tacky way. The rooms are wonderful. The staff is wonderful. The food in the Grill Room (dinner) is really special. The breakfasts on the patio or in the more casual dining room are excellent. (Didn't try lunch there).
AND the Library Bar is wonderful.
There's a long promenade along the beach, perfect for a walk or for your cardio.
Just a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flysoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and that you found everything to your liking, in particular the location of the hotel with stunning views, right on the beach, with the promenade on the doorstep.

The staff take great care in ensuring that every guest's experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our transfer was already waiting for us at the airport (Dave) with cold facecloths and bottled water when we landed. Quick 20 min trip to hotel where the friendly and helpful porters greeted us with a 'welcome home'! An oasis of calm and colonial splendour. And if the small things matter to you, this hotel ticks off all the blocks. From the beautiful and helpful housekeeping staff with their lovely uniforms and pearl necklaces and earrings, to the beautiful fresh flower on the room service tray. Try the macaroni and cheese, its great! We never take rooms on the groundfloor (because of the crime element) but here we felt completely safe and secure. We also left our camera and ipad unlocked in our room one day by mistake, and everything was still there on our return. The high tea is not to be missed, what a spread! Breakfast equally splended, even oysters and champagne. The sea facing room was smallish but well equiped with everything you might need, so was the bathroom. Lovely pool areas with good service. Shuttle to main shopping centres very convenient. The resident cat 'Scabenga' is adorable but definitely king of this castle! Wish I could have lured him into my room! This is a beautiful part of the country with a wonderful beach and perfect climate. The perfect spot for such a fantastic property.

Room Tip: The seafacing rooms are worth the extra money. Rooms on the corners have beautiful round juliette ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonkoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and were blown away with the efficient and friendly service of the staff, the attention to detail, luxuriously comfortable accommodation, delicious food including the popular High Tea on offer each day and the scrumptious breakfasts.

Please take a look at Skabenga's face book page and you will see just what a character he is!

I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

What an amazing weekend. I took my girlfriend to the Oyster Box Hotel for the weekend to propose and it was incredible. Wayne Coetzer (General Manager) and his staff couldn't have done better in making it as special as it was for us. Everything went so well, down to the fine details. The staff are so friendly and always helpful. The room and facilities were incredible and I can highly recommend the Hammam massage. The food was seriously good with a wine and cocktail menu that is exceptional. My Fiance' is now in love with the Oyster Box Hotel and we will be back. It is definitely the Gem of the Kwazulu Natal coastline and a must stay for anyone, local or international. You'll be missing out if you dont!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your most enjoyable weekend stay with us at The Oyster Box. I would like to congratulate you and your fiancé on your engagement.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you found everything to your liking, in particular, the friendly staff, the luxurious accommodation, the delicious food and the award winning Spa offering the special experience of the Hammam massage.

I look forward to welcoming you both back for another memorable stay soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Wow! Really felt so special when we visited the Oyster Box for brunch to celebrate our anniversary on Sunday. Thanks so much to the staff as they really went out of their way from the moment we walked in. We were wished happy anniversary and taken to our seats. Champagne on ice was already there and waiting. And even though we arrived when breakfast was finishing the staff made an extra effort to deliver some platters of a selection of tasty treats. This was the first time that we enjoyed breakfast as we have attended High Tea and Buffet curry lunch and as usual we will be back. Keep up the good work. Kindest regards Lauren

Room Tip: Not relevant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback following your visit to The Oyster Box to celebrate your anniversary.

I am delighted you found everything to your liking and that the staff took great care of you on your special day.

It is my wish that you will return often to celebrate special moments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Although the decor in this hotel is outstanding and the room are serene and comfy and chic, the service and food is not up to the same standard. There are more than enough staff but no one seems to know what they should be doing. This results is tables not being cleared and you wait to be served and receive your lunch or dinner. Waitrons are not sure who is taking orders , serving orders or is meant to clear up. Our meals were average but the breakfasts were much better with a superb selection. Likewise the spa looks fabulous but our back massage involved too much oil and little technique other than them rubbing us with their forearms. It's such a pity.

Room Tip: Face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.

It was fantastic to read that you found the Hotel Chic and that you loved our beautifully appointed rooms.

I am glad you enjoyed our fabulous breakfasts, so many guest comment on the wonderful selection of our breakfast. It was disappointing to see that the service you experienced , was not up to the High standard we try and maintain.
We get so many comments about our friendly staff and great service, I am sorry you did not experience this.

Thank you again for your comments, I look forward to personally meeting you in the near future and ensuring your stay is perfect.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#8 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £248 - £970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing