We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leading Excellence!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Leading Excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive at this Luxurious hotel one feels at home. Top notch service with very high standards, attention to detail, great cuisine, well appointed guest rooms and facilities with every member of staff working in unison. Well done to GM, Wayne Coetzer and Team who are always around to ensure all expectations are met.
We certainly recommend the Oyster Box Hotel as you will not be disappointed with this 5 * Leading Hotel of The World.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 601Roberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing me with feedback following your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and that you found everything to your liking, in particular the efficient service, attention to detail, wonderful cuisine and well appointed accommodation.

I do hope that I will be able to welcome you back again in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,453
    140
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
391
767
50
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband & I travel often and have stayed at most of the Leading Hotels of the World in SA. We recently celebrated my husband'S birthday at the Oyster Box. From the moment we arrived, the service was simply sublime. The attention to detail at the Hotel was outstanding. We were asked about our preferences for e.g pillow preference, iron, king bed etc. in advance. Every thing was placed to perfection in our room, prior to our arrival. Our kids were treated like little celebrities. We were in awe of the items in their gift bags, from fishing nets to vouchers for complimentary milk shake, ice cream, toffee apple and the list was endless. The service at the pool deck was simply SUPERB. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was divine and the service at the restaurants were fabulous. There were staff and management at every turn, just eager to please their guests. Why travel overseas for holidays when we have this precious gem of a Hotel on our door step.

Room Tip: Garden Villa Loft - Offers a king sized four poster bed overlooking the hotel's lush tranquil g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you and your husband thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate the special occasion of his birthday.

It is most pleasing that you found everything to your liking, in particular the attention to detail throughout the hotel, the efficient service in the restaurants, the delicious food and the luxurious accommodation.

I hope it won't be too long before I can welcome you back again to your 'home away from home'.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
742 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We spent Saturday night at the Oyster Box for our 22nd anniversary. It was our 2nd visit in 4 months, and despite it being a very busy weekend (Valentine's Day), everything was perfect. Craig helped us get a room earlier than the usual check-in time, and even bothered to come and look for us at the pool with the room keys, when I missed his call.

Dinner at the Grill Room was excellent, the dinner/dance was a beautiful, old-fashioned experience, and the excellent service made it even more special. The meal was also excellent.

The location is unbeatable on Umhlanga beach - no road in front, all you hear is the sound of the sea. The rooms are lovely and the spa is still wonderful, great hammam. My facial by Buyi was one of the best ever.

Truly a special place, the GM even came to greet us at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing me with feedback following your recent stay with us at The Oyster Box to celebrate the special occasion of your 22nd wedding anniversary.

I am absolutely thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here, in particular, the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, the popular dinner dance in The Grill Room with exceptional service and food and the wonderful location of the hotel on the beach.

I am also delighted to know that you enjoyed your best ever Spa experience of the hammam and facial.

I look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable stay with us soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Rock, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

After being welcomed by a very friendly doorman standing next to a rickshaw, you step into the foyer and feel transported into another century - the days of the Raj and Sahibs. From the elegantly dressed reception staff to the slowly rotating old fashioned fans, the old India beckons. A gigantic arrangement of dark red anthiriums takes your breath away.
Before you are ushered to your room, the view from the reception to the horizon of the deep, blue sea is an invitation to linger on the casual Ocean Terrace Restaurant deck - best known for its selection of authentic curries. In addition to this marvellous setting, a fully functional lighthouse sits next to the pool deck and lets you follow its beam at night.
The rooms are appointed to the highest standards that you would expect from any luxury hotel all over the world. A huge shower awaits you, and after a dip in the pool, offers the pleasure of the exquisite toiletries and the opportunity of wrapping yourself in a soft gown.
The Grill Room is a must for gourmet meals. The Maitre'd will present you with an extensive menu making your choice difficult. Executive Chef Kevin Joseph, who is also the Bailli of the Chaine des Rotisseurs, KZN, and his culinary brigade create daily specials. This is in addition to the freshly caught fish and the most tender of South African beef and venison - your palate is tempted in so many ways.
To compliment the array of mouth watering dishes is a huge selection of wines from all over the world and featuring the top estates in South Africa making a statement to suit all palates. There is also a unique Wine Cellar stocked with additional rare vintages which can be booked for private functions.

Room Tip: Book early if you would like a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here, in particular the luxurious rooms with exquisite toiletries, The Ocean Terrace Restaurant best known for the Curry Buffet, the fine dining Grill Room and unique Wine Cellar. The decor and uniforms add to the overall atmosphere of colonial chic and I receive wonderful feedback from many guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

From the moment we stepped onto the red carpet at the entrance of the Oyster Box Hotel, we were blown away by the friendly smiles and warm greetings from the well dressed , lovely staff. Passing through those revolving doors, was like stepping into another time. Beautiful stairwells, high ceilings, and gorgeous couches drew us into this colonial dream like palace. Sipping on pink lemonade, we were taken to our room. We followed in awe as we absorbed all the beauty that the Oyster Box has to offer. The room was gorgeous, with a beautiful card to welcome us. The view was breathtaking , and we couldn't resist climbing into the pool as we looked out over the ocean,and admired the stunning red and white lighthouse. The room had such a relaxing atmosphere, and the material covered walls were a real treat. The High Tea...wow!! A colorful, scrumptious spread that was appealing both to the taste buds as well as the eye. A High Tea at the Oyster Box was most certainly an experience I will never forget. We watched the sun rise the next morning, and it was a glorious sight, as the sunlight touched the lighthouse. Breakfast on the ocean terrace was a divine experience, fruits, yogurts, a traditional English breakfast, pancakes and waffles, croissants with a selection of cheeses and so much more! We ate to our hearts content. The food was out of this world.
Thank you so much to the Staff of the Oyster Box, you made us feel so welcome, and you made our stay a memorable one! A special thank you to Wayne and Tyler for making our stay a magical one. We will definitely be back. Last but not least, thank you to Skabenga , the resident cat, for being so awesome!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at
The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were blown away by the friendly staff, superb decor, luxurious accommodation, stunning views over the ocean with the iconic lighthouse in the foreground, delicious breakfasts on The Ocean Terrace Restaurant and magnificent High Tea served in The Palm Court.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future for another unforgettable stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourton-on-Dunsmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We are at the start of our 6 week trip of Africa. We flew into Durban and had a one night stopover before travelling to KZN to tour the battlefields. The Oyster Box had been on my bucket list for a while and this was the opportunity to stay here.

We arrived to a warm welcome, a double room upgrade for my husbands birthday and a card and cake from the manager. Very nice touches and thank you to Tyler for arranging this.

We had booked two massages at the Spa to help de stress following our 24 hour journey. The Spa is nicely done and the massages were wonderful.

We had cocktails in The Oyster Bar, dinner in the Grill Room and breakfast on the terrace. All were perfect with an amazing choice and beautifully cooked. Also a great wine recommendation from the sommelier.

The service throughout was excellent and a special mention to Steve (duty manager) who provide a wonderful pack lunch for our onward journey.

It is true that the rooms are small but perfectly adequate and the beautiful sea view and the sound of the surf certainly make up for the size.

Highly recommended. We should have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebTwoHoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review following your stay with us at the Oyster Box.

I am thrilled to know that you were blown away with the friendly welcome, accommodation upgrade, massages in the award-winning spa and the delicious food and wine in
The Grill Room and Ocean Terrace Restaurants.

My wish is that you will not leave it too long before you begin your planning to return for yet another memorable stay at The Oyster Box.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Ideally located above the promenade and overlooking the sea and beach.
Every attention to detail and the most wonderful linen!

The food is amazing and breakfast, lunch or dinner on the terrace is something to savour for long after you have left.

Truly excellent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, especially the location of the hotel offering stunning views of the ocean, attention to detail throughout, beautiful linen and delicious food on The Ocean Terrace.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing