We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere, ambience and excellent service”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, ambience and excellent service”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have again enjoyed another amazing stay at the Oyster Box Hotel, Umhlanga, KwaZulu-Natal. Caring, kindness and graciousness are characteristics that permeate throughout the management and staff. Their active endeavours set the scene towards making every guest, regardless of culture or age, feel warmly welcomed. I have noticed that this has a ripple effect and guests seem to ‘connect’ with each other, too. Thus the friendly atmosphere, ambience and excellent service combine to create consistently memorable experiences.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendaeckstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and that you found the staff efficient and friendly. We invest in training our staff to provide a top class guest care service in order to ensure our guests depart having experienced exceptional service.

I hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    146
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
438
803
51
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Superb hotel, great service and great food. well priced and right on the beach front. 2 minute walk to Umhlanga's bars and restaurants. The spa is well priced with some great treatments available. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyoung2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at
The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you found everything to your liking, in particular the restaurants with delicious food, the outstanding service levels from the efficient and friendly staff and the wonderful relaxing treatments in our award winning Spa.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our top management team was recenly hosted by the delightful and efficient Oyster Box team more particualrly in the person of Fayaaz. The experience exceeded expectations and as a leading South African corporate we are proud to be associated with this prestigious and genteel establishment where every occassion is made spectaculr and every guest is made to feel special. Dr Augusta Dorning - General Manager - Netcare (Pty) Ltd

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAugustaDorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your kind note following your recent visit to The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you found everything to your liking. Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

Thank you for pointing out the staff member that stood out from a service point of view. I will be sure to thank him for you.

I thank you for your valued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My stay at The Oyster Box was supremely wonderful. The hotel decor hints and old colonial and French Riviera. I had a Luxury Sea view room which was delightful. The bed was very comfortable. Quiet aircon meant a good nights sleep to the sound of the Indian ocean lapping at the rocks below. The area is very safe and I had no hesitation walking along the beautiful stretch of sandy beach.

I experienced impeccable service at all times, great cuisine, staff are so friendly, not at all stuffy. The breakfast is amazing and comes with a glass of champagne should you so desire. Staff were welcoming when my sister and her new baby in a buggy came to lunch.

Loved the spa, very tranquil. I treated myself to a facial and hot stone massage; both great.

An exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellesN2273PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves, in particular the luxury sea view room, the location of the hotel right on the beach, exceptional service, delicious full buffet breakfast and friendly, efficient staff.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your treatments in our tranquil, award winning Spa.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It's almost impossible to fault this hotel. From the receptionist who showed us to our suites; to the suites themselves with their long balconies and wonderful views; to the attention to detail in the furnishings and accessories; to the pool attendants who scurried round to equip our six o'clock swims; and right through to the concierge who ensured that our onward transfers were on time: all showed enthusiasm, commitment, and thorough training.

I would single out the Grill for exceptional food and service, even in the context of the overall high standards. A good wine list coupled with a very helpful sommelier, and a well chosen and varied menu, made our dinners a delight.

Just one thing that the management might consider: our last night at the hotel happened to be February 14th, which is always a busy night for restaurants. We enquired about dinner reservations on our first day, and were told that nothing was available. In the event, we enjoyed an excellent meal on our balcony, and no harm was done; but it's practice at some hotels to retain some restaurant reservations for resident guests on busy nights, and wondered if this might be a good idea to practise at the Oyster Box.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were blown away with the wonderful accommodation overlooking stunning ocean views, the attention to detail throughout the hotel and the friendly and efficient staff, especially the exceptional food and service in The Grill Room.

Thank you for pointing out your area of concern regarding the Valentine's evening in the restaurants. As is customary for this event, ample space was reserved specifically for the sole use of in house guests, however, this year we were inundated with dining requests from guests and unable to fulfill all wishes. We will endeavour to increase capacities in the future to avoid disappointment. I am delighted to hear that you were accommodated with a special dining experience on your balcony instead, which you thoroughly enjoyed.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our luxury room (room 303) had a fabulous view of the iconic lighthouse but I would not describe it as luxurious. It was well equipped but on the small side, with the bed, small armchair and desk squeezed in. Fortunately our suitcases fitted under the bed. The reception and concierge staff were welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was good but we found the restaurant disappointing in comparison to many others on our SA holiday. This hotel is expensive but is no match for the Cape Grace in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor with regards to your stay at The Oyster Box.

I was both disappointed and surprised to hear you did not find the size of the room suitable, however would love to welcome you back so that you may experience one of our Cabanas or Suites. We have 10 room types throughout the hotel catering for every guest’s needs.
I would be interested to receive further feedback you are able to provide with regards to the disappointment expressed in our restaurant, as this is an area we are often the most commended for due to our extensive menu, high quality of food and creative dishes that are often updated. We also cater to our guests should they wish to order something that can be prepared which is perhaps not on the menus. We constantly ensure we are competitively priced in line with the products, accommodation and service we offer.

Thank you for your kind comments about my Front Office team – I will be sure to share it with them! I would further appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back so that you may experience the high levels of service and comfortable accommodation we have become so renowned for! With this in mind; and should you be able to provide me with more restaurant feedback, please do not hesitate to contact me on wayne@oysterbox.co.za

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Oyster Box.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesbutg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My daughter and I booked for a day spa and lunch at the Oyster Box in November 2013.
All very professional and pleasant-from the security guard at the entrance, to the receptionists, the therapist at the spa, the restaurant's staff.
We appreciate the high standards and quality offered.
The spa was absolutely perfect in all respects.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyaatMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel, in particular the award winning Spa, The Ocean Terrace Restaurant and the friendly and professional staff throughout.

I trust it will not be too long before you pay a return visit to enjoy further special moments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
302 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing