We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“most amazing experience”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“most amazing experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was my first time to Africa and the Oyster box made my stay very enjoyable. The boss Wayne was excellent and very friendly and so were all the rest of the staff. Our room was spotless and an amazing view of the sea and lighthouse. The food was outstanding especially the breakfasts. the pools and the rest of the facilities were up to a very high standard. Thank you to every one at the Oyster box for making my stay a once in a life time experience.

Room Tip: all the rooms were up to a very high standard and I'm sure that any one that you pick will be ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodation to be spotless, with amazing views of the sea and the iconic Umhlanga lighthouse.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the outstanding food, especially the buffet breakfasts with such a vast selection.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    146
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
425
793
51
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I really loved. Certainly one of the leading hotels in the world. I have travelled across the world and the service and quality you get or experience here is as good as anywhere in the best hotels I've been to across the world. Liked it. Loved it. Adored it. Truly truly amazing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to provide me with some feedback following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and that you found everything to your liking, comparing us to be one of the leading hotels in the world.

I hope it will not be too long before I will be able to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is possibly the first time I have stayed at a hotel, where I expected the world, and got it - on a silver platter. Yes, the accommodation is very expensive, but so are many hotels in Durban/Umhlanga, which are not even in the same league as the Oyster Box hotel. I am a very fussy traveller and expected to like this hotel. Instead, I loved it. The room is not exceptionally large for the price, but what it lacks in size it more than makes up for with its amenities, palatial bathroom and breath-taking view.

The room had a king sized bed and all the luxuries one would expect from such a hotel (towelling gowns; basic toiletries etc.) and more (robes in addition to the towelling gowns; nespresso machine; a large selection of herbal teas; slippers and even a loofah).

The shower is heavenly (rainwater shower from the ceiling) and the bath-tub is like a pool. Even though it was 28 degrees out, I had to have a swim in the bath tub. Just being there relaxed me. I especially loved sitting on the (albeit tiny) balcony and sipping tea, while listening to the sounds of the waves. Even the hair-dryer provided was one of those million watt salon types.

The breakfast is the best I have had at any five star restaurant in the world, including the one and only Le Saint Geran and Palace of the Lost City. in addition to the basic choices, there was also an abundance of oysters and champagne and pastries that definitely fell straight down from heaven. Made to order waffles and pancakes, a variety of teas and coffees and even some breakfast "curries."

The pool area was beautiful. Dinner was great. And overall, the service was exemplary. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and pander to your every need.

Like most hotels on the beach in Durban, the Oyster Box is not really on the beach, but there is a path that leads to the promenade and public beach in Umhlanga. The swimming area is a short walk away.

The only negative, as mentioned, is the size of the room. We stayed in a luxury room, and I expect that the standard sea facing rooms are even smaller, so if you want space, then this hotel is not for you.

I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone that wants to indulge (at a price).

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury room, which was a bit small, but well appointed. I would pay a bit extra for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuriramkissoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am thrilled to hear that you especially enjoyed all the different amenities and luxuries in the room and took time to sit on the balcony and relax whilst watching the sea and listening to the sounds of the waves.

I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our exceptional staff. I am delighted to hear that you found them to be friendly and thoughtful and that they provided you with a feeling of 'home away from home'.

I am sorry to hear that you found the room to be a little on the small side. May I highly recommend that you enquire about our full range of accommodation when next you make a booking, as we offer various different categories to suit all tastes and budgets. As an example, the superior garden villas average 105 square metres with the presidential suite at 246 square metres. Sea facing deluxe suites average at 78 square metres.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy another memorable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I are staying here for three nights and have just extended the stay to six. We are from the USA and are using Durban area as a starting off and ending to a weeklong safari in Zulu area. We weren't prepared for this amazing experience however . Attention to detail in every aspect and the authentic Colonial setting with bone china, high tea, turn down with chocolates etc are just a small part of this. The hotel cat is even charming and his picture us on the chocolate wrappings! The staff are the real stars here, from Xavier the chef who wrote down his curry lentil soup recipe for me to the front staff who call me by name I actually feel like I'm at home here. This had just been the trip of a lifetime and we haven't even done the safari yet!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnasbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you have been blown away with the efficient and friendly staff and that you thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful attention to detail throughout the hotel.

Skabenga, our popular resident hotel cat is quite famous and also has his own facebook page.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. They are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I thank you for extending your time with us and wish you an equally awesome safari experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Oyster Box in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I proposed to my girlfriend last week at The Oyster Box.

The staff helped me organize an amazing picnic, spectacular accommodation, and a delicious engagement dinner.

The picnic was setup on a grassy patch prior to our arrival (since it was a surprise). The Oyster Box staff decorated the area with rose peddles and provided a massive bouquet of flowers, along with fantastic South African wine and tasty appetizers.

After a successful proposal, we were escorted to our spacious sea-facing suite. The suite was meticulously decorated with fine upholsteries and opened to a private plunge pool and outdoor patio- the views were truly breath-taking. We enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Grill Room- strongly recommend the duck and grilled prawns.

As we entered our suite after dinner, we were both speechless. The hotel staff surprised us by uploading classical music via our in-room TV, arranging rose peddles all over the room (even creating an “ I LOVE YOU” with peddles), setup candles, and chilled a bottle of champagne with strawberries, chocolate, and crème. It was the perfect way to conclude a spectacular engagement celebration.

We will forever cherish our memories at The Oyster Box, and feel extremely blessed to have experienced such luxury, service, and charm.

Special thank you to Geoffrey and Carolina for making this memory possible for us!

Joe & Karin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you chose to celebrate your engagement at The Oyster Box and that you were blown away with the total experience provided by our staff. Your kind comments regarding your beautifully appointed suite and the way the staff had decorated it to celebrate the special occasion are most appreciated.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the picnic proposal followed by a delicious dinner in the fine dining Grill Room Restaurant where you enjoyed the duck and grilled prawns and where you were well looked after.

I believe that the wonderful memories of our luxurious hotel overlooking the ocean, complemented with superb service will linger on in your minds for some time to come.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had our daughter's wedding reception in the Pearl Room of this beautiful hotel. What an amazing venue, so beautiful in its simplicity and elegance. We must compliment the staff for an unforgettable evening. The service and food was outstanding. Ginny, the Oyster Box wedding co-ordinator had the entire evening running without a hitch and Kevin Joseph, the executive chef was very accommodating with the delicious menu. We also highly recommend the Oyster Box's resident florist Kobus who decorated the venue beautifully.
A few of the guests including ourselves stayed over for the night and enjoyed the comfort of the beautiful rooms. The bridal couple were given the most beautiful room in the hotel for which we thank the general manager, Wayne Coetzee, very much.
Thank you to everybody for making this the most memorable day, we could not fault one thing. Wayne you must be so proud of your extremely capable staff
Many thanks, Frank and Sharon Thayer

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sltthayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Thayer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with feedback following your daughter's wedding reception in the Pearl Room at The Oyster Box and for choosing this prestigious hotel as the venue on such a special day.

I am absolutely thrilled to hear that you found everything to your liking and that the service and food was outstanding. I am especially delighted to hear that you all found the accommodation comfortable and luxurious and that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves.

I am pleased that you found the hotel to be comfortable throughout and that you felt looked after during your stay. We constantly endeavour to exceed our guests' expectations and it is always positive to hear that these efforts have been noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind feedback is shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I were visiting South Africa from the US and decided to spend a day/night in Durban area.

As a child my husband used to come to this hotel so we decided to spend the night at the Oyster Box. Having traveled many countries in the world and staying at some of the best hotels this is by far my favorite experience!

The staff were amazing, met all your needs, were attentive and attention to detail was fantastic.

This hotel has everything you could want, room overlooking the ocean with a balcony. Food was some of the best we have had. The restaurant manager and hotel manager both stopped by various times to make sure we were taken care of.

The breakfast is never ending, come hungry!

We will be back again on our next trip and when we do we will be staying longer. Can't Wait!

Room Tip: Ocean facing if you like to hear the waves at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

It is wonderful to read that your husband holds many childhood memories from the property and that you have now made it your favourite too.

I am delighted to hear that you found the staff to be attentive and that the service exceeded your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon when you will be able to relax in your room overlooking the ocean and enjoy the delicious spread on the buffet breakfast.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing