We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best hotel in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I really love the Oyster Box - it has such a fantastic atmosphere - it is luxurious and provides every detail you would expect from a 5 star hotel - but - lots more besides. They don't take themselves too seriously and it reflects in the comfortable, charming and simply indulgent experience at every area of the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are attentive without ever being pushy! The Kevin Perkins Comedy and curry evening was the highlight of the year just about - nearly fell off my chair laughing - what a fantastic venue for a very happy evening - Well done Oyster Box!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea facing room - you are RIGHT on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizEsunnysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent visit to The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the Curry and Comedy evening and that you found the staff to be attentive and obliging.

Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's visit here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,488
    144
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
410
781
50
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Magnificent collection of curries coupled with great service and the hilarious Kevin Perkins. An evening I will never forget! Thanks to all who were involved in putting the evening together. looking forward to Aaron McIlroy in October.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 229TimL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your visit to The Oyster Box last week for the "Curry and Comedy" evening.

I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and found the collection of curries wonderful, together with the fantastic service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in October for the Aaron McIlroy evening.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is not a cheap getaway, but it is luxury that you are experiencing. From the welcome at the door to the check-in experience it is a trip that is totally worth while. All of the rooms are tastefully done, from the garden cottage room to the sea facing suite, you know that you staying somewhere that is just a little different. The meals are also top notch. The supper curry buffet is a worth a try. Not the cheapest in Durban but an experience. The breakfast buffet is the ultimate experience. With everything from oysters to champagne and a full English breakfast plus a host of extras you can order. You need a good 2 hours to savour this fantastic food extravaganza. To stay at least once at the Oyster Box should be your goal in life, all extra stays being the best bonus of all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kavan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing me with some feedback following your stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the popular Curry Buffet in The Ocean Terrace Restaurant and the wonderful breakfast buffet offering an exceptional spread.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I first went to the OBH last year for the first part of our honeymoon. We booked the cabana ground floor room because I loved the description of its direct access to the beach. The room was amazing and I was thoroughly enjoying myself until I fell ill and had to spend the next few days recovering in bed after a trip to and a drip from the hospital up the road. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating, offering to get a Dr to come and check up on me and bringing me whatever I needed, no matter how small.

Because I could not properly enjoy all that the hotel has to offer being stuck in bed, we decided to go back again for a 2nd honeymoon which is exactly what we did recently. This time we stayed in a sea-facing suite, which is just heavenly. Again the service and staff went out of their way to ensure that we had the best stay ever. We ate at the restaurant a number of times, including having their famous curry buffet, and everything was an absolute delight. Also if you haven't enjoyed an OBH breakfast you haven't lived yet - its simply sublime.

When OBH says its home away from home, there could not be a more apt description. We felt thoroughly looked after and spoilt and we will continue to go back time and time again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa-ct2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

It is wonderful that you chose to celebrate the second part of your honeymoon with us especially now that you are fully recovered and able to enjoy yourselves to the full.

As returning and much valued guests, your feedback is important to us and I am thrilled to hear that we have once again exceeded your expectations with regards to the friendly staff and their exceptional service.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the delicious curry buffet and the wonderful spread on offer at the breakfast buffet.

I look forward to welcoming you back to your 'home away from home' soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Best curry buffet in Durban and great service from our waiter Rakesh.
Would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Umhlanga who would like to experience a mind blowing dining experience. Also request Rakesh as your waiter for an extra special touch to the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynAlisonVenables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind review following your recent visit to The Oyster Box.

It is wonderful that you chose the popular Curry Buffet in The Ocean Terrace Restaurant and that you found the service to be exceptional.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the particular member of staff who took great care of you. I will be sure to share your comments with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week whilst on business in the area, and have to say that this is one of the finest hotels I've stayed in...Ever. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff, and the service was always fantastic.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself and that you found the hotel to be one of the finest in which you have ever stayed.

I would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and their courteous, efficient service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I am currently visiting from Texas, USA and have booked a couple nights at the oyster box hotel. This is not my first stop I must admit but it is by far the best!! I was skeptical about being stuck in a hotel for the weekend but dinner at the oysterbox hotel completely changed my mind! I got a table for my boyfriend and I at the restaurant inside the hotel and had the most exceptional waiter, Rakesh!!!! He was excellent conversation about the culture of Durban, the upcoming events, and was especially helpful with wine tasting and food choices concerning the menu. I would recommend him and the hotel to anyone who asked my opinion of a vacation spot and good food! Five stars forever in my book from the states.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bririos1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent visit to
The Oyster Box.

Your kind words regarding the exceptional service from the staff are most appreciated and will be shared with the team. Our staff are passionate about ensuring first class service to our guests and when these efforts are acknowledged, it makes all the hard work worthwhile.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing