We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oyster”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
BENONI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oyster”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Scones jam and cream. Was served with a smile and a pot of tea. Top service. Couldn't fault a thing. Didn't stay in hotel just afternoon tea. Everything look superb. Overlooking the Sea so lively view

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLOMAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your visit to The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your tea, scones, jam and cream and that you found the service top class.

I am especially delighted too that you enjoyed the wonderful view overlooking the ocean.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    146
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
425
793
51
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Top marks all round for The Oyster Box Hotel in Umhlanga, Durban South Africa! Possibly the best service and all round atmosphere I have experienced in all my travels locally and abroad. A truly wonderful and value for money experience. Do yourself a favour and visit this famed establishment for an amazing High Tea, Fresh oysters or fantastic cocktails all served with a warm smile and eager, efficient staff.

Room Tip: Fantastic sea views from all sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninayo1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your visit to The Oyster Box.

It is wonderful to hear that we exceeded your expectations with regards to service and all round atmosphere throughout the hotel and that it was the best you have experienced in all your travels around the world.

I am especially delighted to hear that you enjoyed the High Tea, fresh oysters and fantastic cocktails served by our friendly and efficient staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had the pleasure of attending the Curry and Comedy show, a combination of amazing food and a brilliant comedian, Kevin Perkins (Michael Naicker).
It was an absolutely memorable evening, I have not laughed this much ever!!
The Curry and Comedy show is excellent value for money and a must-do in Durban.
As always, the Oyster Box Hotel is magnificent, I love every visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amelia_schoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review following your recent visit to
The Oyster Box.

I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the Curry and Comedy show and that you found the food amazing, coupled with a brilliant entertaining evening.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I really love the Oyster Box - it has such a fantastic atmosphere - it is luxurious and provides every detail you would expect from a 5 star hotel - but - lots more besides. They don't take themselves too seriously and it reflects in the comfortable, charming and simply indulgent experience at every area of the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are attentive without ever being pushy! The Kevin Perkins Comedy and curry evening was the highlight of the year just about - nearly fell off my chair laughing - what a fantastic venue for a very happy evening - Well done Oyster Box!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea facing room - you are RIGHT on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizEsunnysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent visit to The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the Curry and Comedy evening and that you found the staff to be attentive and obliging.

Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's visit here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Magnificent collection of curries coupled with great service and the hilarious Kevin Perkins. An evening I will never forget! Thanks to all who were involved in putting the evening together. looking forward to Aaron McIlroy in October.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 229TimL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your visit to The Oyster Box last week for the "Curry and Comedy" evening.

I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and found the collection of curries wonderful, together with the fantastic service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in October for the Aaron McIlroy evening.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is not a cheap getaway, but it is luxury that you are experiencing. From the welcome at the door to the check-in experience it is a trip that is totally worth while. All of the rooms are tastefully done, from the garden cottage room to the sea facing suite, you know that you staying somewhere that is just a little different. The meals are also top notch. The supper curry buffet is a worth a try. Not the cheapest in Durban but an experience. The breakfast buffet is the ultimate experience. With everything from oysters to champagne and a full English breakfast plus a host of extras you can order. You need a good 2 hours to savour this fantastic food extravaganza. To stay at least once at the Oyster Box should be your goal in life, all extra stays being the best bonus of all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kavan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing me with some feedback following your stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the popular Curry Buffet in The Ocean Terrace Restaurant and the wonderful breakfast buffet offering an exceptional spread.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I first went to the OBH last year for the first part of our honeymoon. We booked the cabana ground floor room because I loved the description of its direct access to the beach. The room was amazing and I was thoroughly enjoying myself until I fell ill and had to spend the next few days recovering in bed after a trip to and a drip from the hospital up the road. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating, offering to get a Dr to come and check up on me and bringing me whatever I needed, no matter how small.

Because I could not properly enjoy all that the hotel has to offer being stuck in bed, we decided to go back again for a 2nd honeymoon which is exactly what we did recently. This time we stayed in a sea-facing suite, which is just heavenly. Again the service and staff went out of their way to ensure that we had the best stay ever. We ate at the restaurant a number of times, including having their famous curry buffet, and everything was an absolute delight. Also if you haven't enjoyed an OBH breakfast you haven't lived yet - its simply sublime.

When OBH says its home away from home, there could not be a more apt description. We felt thoroughly looked after and spoilt and we will continue to go back time and time again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa-ct2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

It is wonderful that you chose to celebrate the second part of your honeymoon with us especially now that you are fully recovered and able to enjoy yourselves to the full.

As returning and much valued guests, your feedback is important to us and I am thrilled to hear that we have once again exceeded your expectations with regards to the friendly staff and their exceptional service.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the delicious curry buffet and the wonderful spread on offer at the breakfast buffet.

I look forward to welcoming you back to your 'home away from home' soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing