We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best.”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

No negatives. This place is beautiful and perfect. There are sweeping views of the ocean, wonderful food, great and happy staff, good swimming and fitness options, and beautiful rooms. The location is right on the beach and with a long promenade that allows for a leisurely walk or a 5 K run. We enjoyed healthy salads by the pool at lunch and then wonderful wine- paired dinners in evening. The breakfast buffet has everything you could want. The top floor bar is breathtaking. There is a nice walk into town just around the corner with other options for shopping or dining. I cannot think of a better place to spend a beautiful holiday. I hope to make it back someday.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the ocean, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the location of the hotel with superb ocean views and wonderful promenade directly in front of the hotel, the wonderful food including the breakfast buffet and wine-paired dinners, beautiful accommodation and the proximity to the local village.

I must thank you for your comments regarding the wonderful and happy staff. Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's stay here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Negatives: The front desk staff were very unfriendly from the moment we checked in. This made us feel unwelcome and think that perhaps our skin tone doesn't fit the right demographic that the hotel desires in its guests.
The garden facing room we stayed in was noisy. The shower unit did not work properly. It was difficult to get a workable water temperature - it was either scorching or too cold.
I thought that the overall decor of the hotel was too much of a reminder of Colonial times, especially the uniform that some of the staff had to wear.

Positives: Some of the staff, including the porter and the breakfast room staff, we're quite friendly and made us feel a little less unwelcome.
The registered tour guide that the hotel uses was the highlight of our trip. Greg is a great guy and very knowledgable. Our tour of Inanda was very insightful and we especially enjoyed the visit to Mahatma Gandhi's house and the Dube school where Nelson Mandela cast his first vote after liberation.
The hotel supports local artists and the artwork displayed in the room and in the lobby outside the lifts are outstanding.

Overall, the stay at the hotel was disappointing. I don't intend to stay there again when visiting Umhlanga in future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Fadila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Rejected

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In this day and age it is rare that you can make repeat visits, spanning many years, in my case FIFTY (50), and still be delighted to find standards of Service Excellence and Tantalising Menu's that Surpass your previous experience of EXCELLENCE.
My visit yesterday was with my Dear Daughter, Barbara and Husband Graeme, when we celebrated that it was 50 Years since our family first stayed at THE OYSTER BOX, then also considered to be A JEWEL in the crown of The Best Hotels.
After drinks in the vibrant Lighthouse Bar, it was a great delight to be met at the entrance to THE GRILL ROOM, by the most experienced Maitre D' in the Province of Natal - Henry Pakiri who seemingly never tires of ensuring only the best service! So RARE. Our varied choice of food was cooked to perfection and presented so tastefully, and, tasteful.
The CHERRY on the top was our Crepe Suzette, so carefully and expertly prepared and served by the mystro himself - Henry. This is a SPECIAL not to be missed. I am sure a great deal of the credit must also go to the General Manager Wayne, who is so very caring and genuinely charming.
The location of the hotel is virtually on the beach, and with its sparkling swimming pools provides so many alternatives for its eclectic cliental to relax in the lap of luxury. No wonder i am looking forward to my visit next year.

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent visit to
The Oyster Box.

It is wonderful to hear that you all thoroughly enjoyed your drinks in the vibrant Lighthouse Bar followed by a superb dinner in the fine dining Grill Room Restaurant where you were so well looked after.

The location of the hotel is simply wonderful overlooking the Indian Ocean and the different swimming pools are most popular with our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After a long absence from visiting Umhlanga, what a pleasant surprise to enjoy the beachfront. The hotel has a wonderful location and the walkway along the beach.....just fabulous.

The hotel gives a hinter-day atmosphere, colonial... much like the great dame of olden days. Furnished for that time era, the hotel has a relaxed feel. The breakfast is wonderful, lovely variety, the rooms well appointed and bathrooms spacious enough and finished in marble and lovely tiles. Guest supplies a little basic though.

Continuous cinema room, trolley stacked with sweets for the kids to help them selves, free DVD's from reception. Free cake, snacks to your room at times (not used at high tea gets used to spoil the guests). Being a luxury hotel, I was surprised to see the number of families with children, they appeared to be regulars...

Attentive service, helpful reception, excellent position with the sea in from and restaurants a block to the rear, , child friendly, good food... all of which ensured a wonderful holiday we still remember.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GDW-JDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful location right on beach, together with the delicious breakfast, comfortable accommodation and private cinema.

I would like to thank you for your comments regarding the attentive service and helpful reception. We constantly endeavour to exceed our guest's expectations of service and it is always positive to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

To experience the curry buffet has been on my 'to do' list for some time so, weary of the cold at home {drakensberg} wife and I booked the Indulge package for two nights.

Loved the hotel, the friendly and helpful staff, the view from our balcony, the long beach and promenade walks and especially the warm weather but...

...disappointed that only one massage could be had {salon so very busy} and that the Indulge package only applied to one night {of which we booked two} and felt misled into having to pay up for the second dinner, and a second massage.

Lovely experience - slightly spoiled by misleading advertising perhaps...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest

I am delighted you loved your stay at The Oyster Box.

The Curry Buffet is World renowned, and I am so happy you had the chance to escape the Drakensberg cold and enjoy it.

I had a look at the confirmation, that was sent to you as I was concerned about you stating it was misleading. It however states very clearly : "One Massage per stay" "One curry buffet per stay" . It is in no way misleading, I am sorry you misunderstood these details.
I hope the remainder of your winter in The Berg is good and not too cold!
Please let us know if you are wishing to escape the midlands again, and we will gladly welcome and spoil you.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is our 8th visit to The Oyster Box. Wayne is utterly charming and this rubs off on all the staff whom are beyond polite, pleasant and personable. The service is outstanding and the food delectable. Our family feels so welcome and as far as the cliché may go, it really does feel like home. As always we will be back. With all our world wide travels, this hotel is up there with the best of them. Chris and Alison Reynolds.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your recent visit to
The Oyster Box.

As returning and much-valued guests, your feedback is most important to us and I am therefore thrilled to hear that we have once again met with your expectations in order to make your stay a memorable one.

Your kind words regarding the wonderful service and food are most appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Can't fault service and atmosphere. Rooms was very comfortable. Great position - Lovely walk on the boardwalk. We wanted a stay that was relaxing which is what we got, but definitely not boring. Look forward to our next stay with you.

Room Tip: Loved the Cabana room. A bit bigger than luxury sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you found the accommodation comfortable and that you enjoyed a most relaxing stay.

Thank you for your comments regarding the faultless service. Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing.

The location of the hotel overlooking the ocean with the promenade right on the doorstep, makes for perfect strolling or exercising.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £257 - £868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing