We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oyster Box
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,074)
Filter reviews
2,074 results
Traveller rating
1,838
171
42
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,838
171
42
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetthe grilllighthouse barhigh teaoysterswayne coetzerocean terrace restaurantoyster barresident catgarden villaattention to detailour waitersea facing roomcolonial styleindian oceanbucket listtreated like royalty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,358 - 1,363 of 2,074 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Food is great,
View is beautiful,
Lots of different atmosphere/room and etc.

Service is excellent,
Good variety of product in the Boutique: clothes, hat, scarf, tshirt, and the Jewellery is great too!

A must go in Durban area

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the delicious food, beautiful view over the ocean and excellent service.

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments.

I do hope that you will return again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Yesterday my colleague an I where afforded the amazing privilege of being pampered at The Oyster Box spa as an incentive from our Company. Nothing beats the warm feeling of being acknowledged by every staff member. We first enjoyed our lunch at the Light House Bar, great food and drinks with a magnificent view of the ocean, later we were treated to a Traditional massage,without a doubt the best I have ever had!!! I would definitely recommend The Oyster box to anyone who wants to be treated like Royalty, it’s great to know that we can enjoy such treatment right here in Durban without spending a fortune to travel.
Well done to staff and management for the amazing service you provide!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind words following your recent visit to our award-winning Spa at The Oyster Box to enjoy your Company incentive.

I am thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to the Lighthouse Bar, prior to being treated like royalty to a traditional massage in the Spa. Your kind comments regarding the amazing service from the staff are equally appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have just returned from our holiday where we spent three wonderful nights in the Oyster Box hotel. The staff were extremely professional and accommodating. Our every need was seen to. The hotel has everything you need and more. It is an experience that is not easily forgotten or topped. We have been lucky enough to spend time in hotels all over the world and the Oyster Box is up there with best of them including the George V and The White Swan. We will definitely return for High Tea and a visit to the clock room where you are able to enjoy a good port and cigar while checking your email, before retiring to your magnificent room with a view of the lighthouse and the sea. Ten out of ten to the management and staff!

Room Tip: The sea facing luxury suite is wonderful, but all of the rooms are charming, spotless and luxurious. They are equipped with every extra imaginable, even sun hats!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review following your three night stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your holiday expectations and that you found the hotel to be superb, with extremely professional and accommodating staff.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back in order to again enjoy a wonderful High Tea experience, together with the short-term solitude of the magnificent Clock Library.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Visited some relatives who were staying at the hotel and loved it so much we stayed for the night.
As you drive up to the hotel you can feel the atmosphere! The parking attendant full of beans and manners great first impression. Then the entrance a step back in time it reminds me of the Imperial Hotel Tramontano in Sorrento same old world class. And here I have to mention the resident Cat! Yes you read right a cat his name is Skabenga (which means hooligan or vagabond in Zulu),This cat has his own minder and runs the hotel his way and is the best fed cat on the coast.I also believe he has his own birthday parties! this cat is such a lovely touch to the hotel. The main foyer is delightful with a grand sweeping staircase going up to the first floor. The receptionist was fantastic and located our relatives for us. We went through to the pool deck which is fantastic with a view of the Indian ocean through to Ballito in the north and of coarse the Umhlanga light house in-front of the Hotel. We ate at the Grill room what a great service some of the other establishments in the area should send their staff there for training! The oysters Rockefeller are famous and if the combo soup is on special you get three different type is small separate bowls - a meal in its self we also had a truffle mushroom ravioli again outstanding . Mains the line fish of the day is a must good sized portion and cooked perfectly.Being in Durban with a large Indian community you have to have a Chicken and Prawn Curry.Deserts the Creme Brulee and the chocolate brownie is the way to go.
The rooms beautifully decorated and comfortable and waking up in the morning with the sun rising out of the Indian ocean is stunning.
Breakfast - well this is the best of all. July in south Africa is winter but Durban is warm through out the year and you are able to sit out on the veranda of the hotel for breakfast whilst the rest of the country freezes! We had the plans of trying everything on offer till we walked up to the Smorgasbord hot and cold fare to die for but our eyes were bigger that our appetites! . Oysters for breakfast with a fair share of champagne decadence at its best! They even had a full Parmesan cheese hollowed out and fresh balls of it on offer. Pastries, bacon eggs any way you want its all on offer.
Service impeccable nothing was a problem for the staff.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any one. I would compare the service to the Bernini Bristol in Rome which I rate as one off the best I've stayed at until now..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed taking a step back in time when entering our world class hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you were well received with excellent service and that this impeccable service continued when you enjoyed dinner in the fine dining restaurant The Grill Room, where you were served a delicious meal. Our vast breakfast buffet is most popular too and there is something to suit everyone's taste.

The Owners have taken pride in decorating the hotel beautifully and with great thought and I thank you for your comments regarding your most comfortable accommodation. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Lovely afternoon spent at the prestigious Oyster Box Hotel yesterday. We had drinks and a cheese platter at the Lighthouse Bar overlooking an incredible view of the beach, followed by a traditional massage at the beautiful Spa. The staff is very warm and friendly. The facilities are impeccable. I would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review following your visit to The Oyster Box yesterday.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your drinks and a cheese platter at the Lighthouse Bar which boasts superb views over the ocean.

It is fantastic to hear that you also thoroughly enjoyed your treatments at the award-winning Spa where you will find warm and friendly staff.

I hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews