We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach Resort in South Africa!”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Beach Resort in South Africa!”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We have just spent our 4th visit at this gem - and the Oyster Box is continuously raising the bar with their consistent service delivery and exceeding expectations! We have stayed in one of their luxurious duplex villa's - complete with private plunge pool.

I love the Hotel and its distinct service-culture as it feels like staying in "a rich Uncle's private beach house"! The staff goes out of their way to make guests feel at home and comfortable - and it soon became clear to us that the staff were briefed on our arrival and our special requests which were anticipated and offered to us even before we requested it!

We always enjoy their many public areas ranging from the Library, the movie theater, the Lighthouse Bar to their fine dining Grill Room Restaurant, Bar and Terrace Restaurant. Four nights are too short to really get to know this hotel and to enjoy everything it has to offer!

Thank you to the Tollman family, Wayne Coetzee and his staff for creating such a special experience - we will continue to come back if you will have the "three of us"...!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koosjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,577
    147
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
455
811
51
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Oyster Box was all I'd been told to expect - pristine, attention to detail, excellent service. The refurbished room was lovely to stay in, albeit a bit small and overcrowded by telephones - I'm not convinced that 3 are required in 1 room. The Spa is worth special mention as we received service and quality of treatments from Faith and Nonfundo which were unmatched by any other spa I've been to in South Africa and abroad and should not be missed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perkins L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2011

I have never written a review on TripAdvisor but felt compelled to do so after staying at The Oyster Box Hotel earlier this month (Feb 2011).

I have been lucky enough to stay in some nice hotels in the past, including most recently the Four Seasons Resort at Punta Mita, Mexico. Without question, The Oyster Box is the nicest, coolest, best, most beautiful and most comfortable hotel I have ever stayed in. I cannot think of a single thing about the hotel that I didn't totally love--from the appointments in the rooms, to the uniforms on the bar tenders in the Lighthouse Bar, to the art on the walls, to the snacks at high tea.

The customer relations at The Oyster Box far exceeded any other hotel or resort's. The service was thoughtful, prompt, and best of all, personalized (the hand-written notes from the staff were a nice touch).

The setting and location of the hotel are perfect. The Indian Ocean and the beaches of Umhlanga were beautiful. And of course, the iconic lighthouse provides a backdrop that makes every view look like something from a postcard. As we sat by the pool one day enjoying the sun and ocean breeze, my girlfriend said, "I don't know how I will ever be able to stay in another hotel." The Oyster Box spoiled us forever. We stayed for 4 nights at The Oyster Box before heading north to Mkuze Falls for a photo safari. The hotel provided a perfect launching pad to hit the game park in an easy half-day's drive. If you're coming to South Africa to go on safari, I would highly recommend treating yourself to a few nights at the OBH before heading out to "the bush".

We paid 8000 ZAR for an ocean-view suite and found it to be a great value. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable. The two verandas were great for afternoon cocktails or morning tea. It was nice to have a couch and a living room to relax in while my girlfriend took a nap in the bedroom.

Finally, the food....incredible. The delicious breakfast was included in the price of our room. High tea was like nothing I have ever seen. The selection of snacks to go with tea was truly impressive. We had dinner at the curry buffet one night and I thought it was the best I had ever tasted. We had heard from some folks in Cape Town that it was amazing and it exceeded our expectations. On our last night, we had dinner in the main restaurant. Our server was friendly, yet extremely professional and polite, and the food (I had springbok) and wine were excellent.

Even if I had no other business on South Africa's east coast, I would make a special trip to stay at this hotel. The Oyster Box is a destination in and of itself.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_H75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Wanted to go to the Oysterbox when we got married 35years ago., but decided to emigrate to England. Had the opportunity in Jan 11 and it is what one expects from a 5 star hotel Luxury great service superb surroundings. The food was very good and the service very attentive. Staff all very friendly and accommodating.
Hotel was not busy as it was out of season so the lovely pool was like our private pool in a beautiful garden. ( Complimentary sun lotion cool towels and iced water.)
Luxury but not stuffy or ostentatious.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDGOAT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Went to dinner with my wife this evening. Lovely setting overlooking the ocean, delightful service, superb seafood anti pasta -,but rotten main courses. My hamburger dry & lukewarm. I asked for it to be heated up & then they confiscated what they reckoned I had already tasted. My wife's chicken was mediocre too - really not good enough for a hotel of this standing. Recommend you go to "olive & oil" nearby - half the cost @ twice as good!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Treated my wife to 3 nights at the Oyster Box - over £300 per night b&b for a sea facing room but worth it. Excellent hotel. Room with kingsize bed, flat screen TV, large bathroom, beautiful furnishings and cleanliness cant be beaten. Staff extremely pleasant & helpful. Buffet breakfast fantastic - best we've ever had. Plenty of bars & restaurants within 5 mins walking + shopping mall & souviners. 2 nice swimming pools, one being an infinity pool overlooking the ocean. A shuttle bus is available at Durban airport for 50 rand pp to this hotel and 70 rand to Durban hotels in the Centre. We also caught this shuttle from the hotel to Durban's world cup stadium where you can have a tour round the stadium, take the skylift to a viewing platform on top of it or even bungie jump into the stadium. Bars/restaurants on site are plenty.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nivek3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I was fortunate enough to go to the Oyster Box Hotel for lunch last week and experience the curry buffet. I have to say that the quality and range was fantastic and so was the wine on offer. To get a waiters attention I merely had to look up. I was asked by managers if the lunch was going well on at least two occasions and our waitress (Jessica) was very friendly.

Sure going to a 5 Star hotel for lunch may cost you a bit more but the experience couldnt be faulted.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plumtree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing