We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay”
Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Teremok is simply stunning in terms of its decor and rooms, but as ever, it's the people and the service that make the difference and Teremok has this in spades. It's a real team effort from management, the spa, kitchen, housekeeping and night staff delivering seamless, top quality service 24/7. We came to relax and reboot. Success. We look forward to returning to what is by any measure, a masterclass. Thanks everyone!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownJosiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
177
32
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in! We stayed in the Durban View room, and I’ll be honest I cannot fault it.

The 2 ladies at breakfast –you cannot say no to their breakfasts! They are wonderful! Cakes available all day for the munchies, and an honesty bar with coffee and tea.

The only downside is that there is not much to do apart from go to the beach in Umhalanga Rocks!! But, if you are after the beach, its wonderful.

The best restaurant we found was up at the Gateway shopping centre and called Tasha’s. We ate there twice. There is a free taxi that the hotel provide. They drop you off and pick you back up again. Free.

If this hotel was in Cape Town, it would be award winning....Go, try the hotel and enjoy! Look at the pictures – the room is immense!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffee&applepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

It was a great experience to stay at this small, but very charming boutique hotel. We had a nice room, great style, DVDs, shuttle car to the restaurants. People working in a hotel were very nice. You feel there really like at home.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_F-ova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

At the end of our four weeks holiday in South Africa, we stayed 3 nights at Teremok to relax and unwind. And we surely did! It starts at breakfast, with the personal approach and the tasty food. Then relaxing in the quiet and beautifull lounge, sipping some caffee latte from the "honesty bar". Then taking a dip in the pool and afterwards having a lovely lunch. Also, the spa is highly reccomendable. We did several treatments and enjoyed it very much. Ad the end of the day, you can choose from many good restaurants, the staff of Teremok is happy to make a reservation for you and they drive you there (and back offcourse). Last but not least, the rooms are quiet and very lovely, with a nice view over the ocean (we stayed at "Milkwood"). If we come back to Durban, we will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I can only echo the sentiments of previous reviews. Teremok is a gem property with individualized service worthy of its various rankings. We found the lodge almost by accident through a luxury accommodations magazine, provided to us at another property in the Western Cape. That luck went a long way. The common and dining areas are tastefully decorated and allow for maximum relaxation, be it reading, talking with friends, or just enjoying the breeze off the Indian Ocean, all while sipping tea, port, wine, etc..

Our room was equipped with a rain forest shower, full-size detached tub, jack and jill sinks, and a great outdoor sitting balcony. Above and beyond those perks, the attention to detail was noticeable throughout. The staff was fantastic and so helpful in every way imaginable. They took us to and from the property for our dinner reservations, and even prepared departure breakfasts (to go) due to an early flight out of King Shaka Airport.

I cannot say enough nice things about this place and the ownership. If you are going to Durban, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtravel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

The hotel has no standard rooms but 8 suites, all completely different in style. My suite, named "Milkwood", was a very chique and large appartment with an open-plan bathroom. The bath-corner was a romantic-modern cross-over with a large bathtub surrounded by chandeliers, how romantic!
The hotel has no roomservice, but a "Honesty Bar", where you can pick up your drinks an note them "honestly" on a piece of paper. That bar was perfectly well-equipped, starting from hard and soft drinks, beers, wines, Apéritives Digestivs, Coffee, Tea, Milk, Juices and so on.
The hotel only serves breakfast and has no restaurant. If you go to an Umhlanga Restaurant in the evening, the hotel offers you the shuttle.
In the Reception Room there a some hundreds of DVDs from Hollywood and Bollywood, which you can take to your room for free.
Great place, I'll definitively come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regenquark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I had the pleasure of spending a night in the Milkwood suite with breathtaking views of the ocean from the balcony.
Upon arrival, I was greeted and shown around the guesthouse and all was explained to me. They have a brilliant selection of DVD’s to choose from if the need so arises. A well stocked honesty bar is situated in the main living area of the guest house with espresso machine, fresh milk, soft and alcoholic drinks as well as complimentary sherry and port in the afternoons as well as nuts to snack on.
The room itself was grand with reference to its size, furnishings, bedding, amenities and decor. The bed was ever so soporific with its cotton bedding, duvets and pillows. The bath, situated in the room, next to a small wall, was luxurious as were the bath soaps/toiletries available. There is a separate toilet and bidet, ample storage space and mirrors. You need not bring anything with you as they supply all toiletries, cotton wool, ear buds, luxurious big towels, torches, mozzie spray, adaptors, etc. The flat screen TV has various international channels besides the local ones. There is a DVD player in the room which also plays your CD’s.
The room is air-conditioned and runs very quietly at night and you have an option of using the overhead fan. Even thought the room has a row of windows in the ceiling which are draped with white material, it is dark in the room at night.
The manager was extremely helpful and charming at all times.
It was a delight spending a night in this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madame_XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
1.0 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Property: Teremok Marine
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing