We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

A truly wonderful hotel. The attention to detail was just right - every little touch made the visit luxurious; the personalized welcome letter, the well stocked honesty bar and the lovely collection of books, bric-a-brak and furniture.

I would recommend a stay in the Teremok.

Room Tip: The Durban View room had a lovely balcony, a bath and a shower and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan_L007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
175
30
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

In fact the Teremok should give lessons in running hotel. The rooms are both practical and beautiful, the attention to detail is brilliant from an honesty bar which allows you to pour a glass from a decent bottle of wine and sit on a verandah to drink it to really nice cosmetics in the bathroom and a huge selection of DVDs to relax and watch in the evening. It's as if Kim the owner has made a list of everything that drives her nuts about a standard hotel and erased it from her own. The garden is beautiful, there's a small but well-equipped gym and spa, a nice pool and a lovely breakfast area where you can sit in front of an open window looking out over the sea and have your meal freshly cooked on the spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziecouple141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Teremok Lodge is really wonderful. Luxurious space, great food, good honesty bar, helpful staff, wonderful little spa (pre-booking is advisable!) The B&B is centrally located, but in a very nice villa-style part of town. We stayed in the Milkwood room which has a small balcony (beware of monkey attacks!) and is a good size room with a very individual design. Apparently Durban View is even nicer with a big balcony and view towards Durban. We had booked the Burban View room, but other guests were already staying in it when we checked in – the only mishap of an otherwise perfect stay.
Umhlanga Rocks was a real surprise. It looks quite ugly with high-rise buildings when driving towards it, but it features some really good restaurants, a long sandy beach, good shopping and many things to do in the area (you need a car). The B&B will drive you to restaurants or into town, as it is apparently not safe to walk at night. Taxis are of course quite expensive for the short distance, but easily available.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

From the moment that we arrived,we were treated like kings.The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel at home.The rooms are beautifully decorated and quite large.When we asked about restaurants they brought the differnent menus to us to decide what we would like to do and also made the booking promptly.There is also a transport available at no extra cost.We loved this place so much that we stayed an extra night

Room Tip: The Douglas room is a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zorroWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

On my previous visit, I stayed in a hotel near to the Gateway and as this visit was for over a week- I opted for a guest house... I was not disappointed with the Teremok Marine. From the arrival, the staff were extremely helpful and the quality of the rooms of very high standard... there is even an ambiance CD and candles for those wishing to have a relaxing bath! The service from in-house laundry, freshly-cooked breakfast daily and even shuttles to and from the Umhlanga village are included and extremely efficient. I cannot recommend more highly this establishment... just a pity that the weather wasn't better allowing for more use of the swimming pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear are theme-based so all the rooms are unique..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phishmonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay at Teremok and we absolutely love the charm and feel of this Lodge. The rooms are somewhat magnificent and the staff are so accommodating and friendly! Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamaryn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012

To start I would say that I don't tent to leave reviews often... so the very factalready talks for itself! Well... that and the other 70 reviews : )

I visited Umhlanga for work and stayed at Teremok a couple of nights, and it was just what I needed.
The place is amazing, I really liked it… it is a bit different from your conventional hotel (and I do travel a lot internationally) but I really liked it.
The standards are up to a top hotel but due to the number of rooms and the nature of the place itself it just feels homey, comfortable and I really had the impression of being given my space but having an outstanding service available for whatever I may have needed. In fact I would definitely say the service goes the little extra mile which makes a huge difference. As always, it is in the detail where the magic lives.

The decoration is superb and original, the hotels distribution great, breakfast is excellent, there is a pool, an awesome selection of DVDs you can use free of charge, good quality wireless (free) and each room is different but to an amazing standard… a bit like out of an art-deco magazine ;)

There is an “Honesty bar”, free good quality coffee, homemade muffins, monkeys in the Garden, a nice little pool... They prepared the room, put fragrances on it and left a jazz compilation playing at the room for my arrival (how cool is that?). Also the managers are very professional yet really warm.

There is also transport service available and it’s very close to the sea.

To conclude, looking at the price vs location and quality i was delighted. I will be going back if I am in Umhslanga again.

PD: I think the place is perfect for couples as well ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,046 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Property: Teremok Marine
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing