We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel”
Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed at Teremok Marine for 5 nights. A great experience...very relaxing, great staff and a wonderful setting. Location very relaxing, but close to the centre of Umhlanga ....and the hotel run a complimentary taxi service into the centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
175
30
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Terenok at the end of a hectic two weeks in South Africa and this was a fitting place to end our stay and wind down before returning back to Blighty.
The hotel is a little way out from the centre of Umhlanga, with lovely views out to the Indian Ocean (although its not actually on the beach). Like most places in the area it's surrounded by good security with secure car parking. All the staff were extremely helpful and genuinely pleasant. We mainly dealt with Tracey, who was lovely and couldn't have been more helpful to our inevitable questions and requests, including recommending places to eat and booking tables for us. As I said it's a little way out from the centre but they will drop you off and pick you up afterwards, so no issues there. The attached health spa was small but pleasant and we both enjoyed our massages ( particularily after a long drive from Isladlwana). Breakfasts were excellent and innovative and freshly cooked to order. They don't have a bar as such but operate a honesty system where you help yourself and fill in a chit - they had a good selection of tipples including half bottles of a nice SA sparkling wine. It was also a nice touch to return to our room to find the floor scattered with red rose petals and complimentary bottle of said vino.
Previous residents have included such noble luminaries as Ralph Fiennes and Kirsten Scott-Thomas. If it's good enough for them it's good enough for us and maybe you if you're reading this.
We stayed in the Juliet room, maybe slightly smaller than some of the others, but with lovely views and an amazing bathroom.
Our only regret was that the weather precluded using their pool!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nos6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I've been to many places in different countries, but this one is special, the décor and service are really nice.. I also recommend their SPA, they are professional.

The working team is friendly, and they make you feel like you are at you luxury home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZakiShaheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Teremok Marine over the Easter weekend. We were blown away at the excellent service right from the start. Ninette was extremely helpful and went out of her way to ensure that our every need was met when making our booking. We were greeted with smiles and helpful staff upon arrival.

We stayed in Milkwood. What an exquisite suite! Everything you could possibly need is carefully thought out and placed strategically in the room. There is an eye mask in the drawer next to your bed, a box of matches placed in a beautifully decorated silk bag next to the bath in case you'd like to bath in candlelight and a goodie basket filled with items to enhance your stay. Amongst the items in the goodie basket, you will find: a beach bag, an emergency candle kit (this is separate from the giant candles around the bath tub), a professional hairdryer and a "Soaking Sounds" CD. Each room also has cleanser and moisturiser in both the bathroom and the shower, along with linen gowns, slippers and lovely beach towels. Teremok Marine also has a CD and DVD library - so if you choose to laze in the room, you can watch your favourite film. They also have an array of magazines and interesting books to read.

The breakfasts are DELICIOUS! If they have the Breakfast Tart on the menu, I would highly recommend that you try a slice for breakfast, or you could have a slice later in the day - as they set out muffins and tart for guests to enjoy with a cup of tea or coffee at the complimentary coffee stations. The French Toast is also yummy! And we just loved the “shots” of frulatte with breakfast.

If you are looking for a little RnR - look no further than the Teremok Spa. Kelly and Camilla give mean (yet very therapeutic) full body massages. The girls are friendly and extremely well qualified. What I enjoyed most about Teremok Spa is that although the therapists are professional and experienced - there is none of that snobbery that usually goes with a 5 star establishment. There are lots of smiles and you can even enjoy a little retail therapy. The treatment rooms at Teremok Spa are beautifully decorated, quiet and clean. They also make the meanest cappuccinos.

SO if you are looking for the ideal getaway – look no further than Teremok Marine. It is a five minute walk to the beach and if you are totally neurotic about walking, they will even drive you to the local restaurants and shops.

Thank you to all the staff at Teremok - from the management to the chefs and the cleaners, for The Definitive Experience – we WILL be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandsAden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Teremok earlier in February. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room/suite I stayed in was gorgeous and they all have a little terrace you can sit out on. The hotel is just outside of where the main cafe's and restaurants are,in Umhlanga but the staff at the hotel will happily drop you off and pick you up.
The breakfast was delicious, as was the access to fruit and muffins throughout the day. The only thing that's stopped me giving it five stars, was that there is no restaurant in the evening within the hotel (although you could order food in).
Free wifi and lovely bathroom lotions and potions further helped make a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

A truly wonderful hotel. The attention to detail was just right - every little touch made the visit luxurious; the personalized welcome letter, the well stocked honesty bar and the lovely collection of books, bric-a-brak and furniture.

I would recommend a stay in the Teremok.

Room Tip: The Durban View room had a lovely balcony, a bath and a shower and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan_L007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

In fact the Teremok should give lessons in running hotel. The rooms are both practical and beautiful, the attention to detail is brilliant from an honesty bar which allows you to pour a glass from a decent bottle of wine and sit on a verandah to drink it to really nice cosmetics in the bathroom and a huge selection of DVDs to relax and watch in the evening. It's as if Kim the owner has made a list of everything that drives her nuts about a standard hotel and erased it from her own. The garden is beautiful, there's a small but well-equipped gym and spa, a nice pool and a lovely breakfast area where you can sit in front of an open window looking out over the sea and have your meal freshly cooked on the spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziecouple141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
330 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Property: Teremok Marine
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing