We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique accommodation in private location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Boutique accommodation in private location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Spent a pleasant night there yesterday. Very friendly staff and well appointed in a boutique style hotel. A private feeling due to the limited number of rooms. It is located close to the beach and that would be important in the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alassio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
170
30
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
112 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

perfect room (milk wood). Couldn't be better. Nice location 20min from Durban. Good Breakfast. Super fast free internet. Room with view to the sea. We went to the Sibaya Casino and had a very good time. Hotel arranged the taxi and everything went well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We decided on a last minute trip to Durban to soak up some winter sun. Got a great half price deal on booking.com. Reservation was confirmed same day and details were sent promptly. I enquired about spa bookings, based on reviews, but they were full. However the hotel called as promised when a cancellation was received.

Check in was simple enough. My husband had to help carry the bags, which we don't mind. However it's a 5 star hotel so I expected a porter. He eventually turned up while we were checking in, but the walk to reception is steep. Note, this hotel is not friendly to physically disabled persons..at all!

We were booked into the vladekyn suite, named after the previous owner. It was cosy and suited our needs. Lovely balcony with view of tree tops. Bathroom is open plan to bedroom, only the toilet is closed off. So if you are shy to get naked in front of your partner, best find another hotel. Wish they'd put a wash basin in the toilet to wash your hands. Getting up at night to use the bathroom and then having to wash hands in bedroom is a pain and disturbance. The staff used an entrance 5 meters from bedroom door and they were noisy at night. Banging doors woke me thrice on night one. Got drunk on night two to avoid sleep interruption. The suites are pretty sound proof so you don't hear others talking, but the guests above us insisted on walking in high heels late at night. Made me aware to remove mine when we entered the house. Turn down service with delicious chocs and marshmallows.

Pool and gardens are beautiful although we didn't use. Tea and coffee making facilities outside of room and available all day. Also muffins and treats left over from breakfast available all day. Honesty bar is expensive but which hotel isn't. Complimentary sherry and port with nuts was nice. Interesting books in lounge area if you get bored....or just love reading! Free, very good wifi throughout.

My husband and I both had spa treatments. Due to time availability I did an express facial and massage. Was okay, nothing memorable. Camilla did a better job of trying to sell products than getting stuck into my massage, which I requested at a hard pressure level, and got medium at best. There's another therapist who did my waxing the previous day and she did a great job. Hotel should think about offering massages in rooms.

Breakfast was amazing! The staff are phenomenal and the food is freshly prepared and tastes great. There's a little menu everyday but they are happy to make if nothing suits your tastes. I read about the breakfast tart and they had it the one day. I nearly swiped the entire tart to take home! It's a must try, don't pass it by!

Hotel arranged dinner on our second night on my request. The restaurant was good. We had been there before but got a great table and used the car service so we could both drink without having to drive. The restaurant didn't have the hotels details when we requested they be called to pick us up. The driver insisted we should just ask, but there was some confusion. So take the hotels number with you....just in case.

No sea view rooms, except rooms on top floor. Didn't get to see for myself though. Have stayed in other establishments at same price point in Umhlanga with magnificent views.

Beautiful establishment with wonderful staff. Attention to detail in rooms is great too, but expected of a 5 star establishment. Would return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on top floor if view is important. Vladekyn is noisy due to staff entrance in close pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We recently stayed at Teremok for 2 nights and had an absolutely fantastic time. My boyfriend proposed during our stay and the hotel staff went out of their way to make the weekend really special for us. The rooms and hotel are elegantly decorated and the breakfast delicious. We could not have asked for anything more! Top class hotel and service!

Room Tip: Douglas- fantastic decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_L_13529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thanks for the great feedback, Amanda.

We are so glad that Chris chose Teremok Marine as the destination for your engagement weekend - we hope you have lots of special memories, and that you'll be back to celebrate your anniversary in years to come. Congratulations again!

Warm wishes

Kim and the Teremok Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at Teremok for 3 nights... I wish it was 3 weeks. What a beautiful B&B! Such great attention to detail - loved the honesty bar, glass of sherry or port with nuts at bedtime... and the best breakfast - you have to have the Museli - it is out of this world.
Such a relaxing setting. About a 20 min walk to the little centre in Umhlanga - and a 10 minute walk to the beach promenade . So the location is very convenient. I would definitely stay here again .

Room Tip: See if you can get the room on the top floor for a good ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Teremok for 2 nights once we arrived in Durban. The hotel definitely has a very warm and welcoming vibe. The rooms were done in a very interesting and cool modern meets classical style. The first night we arrived, we did have some issues with the internet (my husband and I both have to work when we travel), but we were more than impressed when the owner of Teremok came out to help us at 11pm at night.

All in all, the hotel was lovely and the staff was great!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenHillJHCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed at Teremok Marine for 5 nights. A great experience...very relaxing, great staff and a wonderful setting. Location very relaxing, but close to the centre of Umhlanga ....and the hotel run a complimentary taxi service into the centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.1 mi away
uMhlanga Sands Resort
uMhlanga Sands Resort
#5 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Property: Teremok Marine
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing