We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a treat”
Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My fiance and I spent the last night of our 2 week holiday here. We'd had the most perfect holiday travelling around SA and completing the Two Oceans Marathon (where we got engaged at the end) in Cape Town. This just topped off the most incredible holiday. The guesthouse is situated about a 15 minute walk from Umhlanga centre where there are lots of bars, restaurants, lovely hotels and of course the beach. We walked to the centre during the day but would advise a taxi at night, there are plenty sitting around the centre of Umhlanga in the evening.

The guesthouse itself is absolutely beautiful. Each room is decorated completely differently, absolutely stunning and so much care and effort put into every detail. The room we had was huge with a lovely balcony and lovely free standing bath and gigantic separate shower. The breakfast the next morning was incredible with everything homemade and something to suit everyone.

All in all Teremok is probably a little more expensive than the average SA B&B but definitely well worth it.

Room Tip: We had a nose around some of the other vacant rooms the next morning and all looked just as beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyMackLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I only booked in for one night in Teremok Lodge and this was our biggest regret.
Ninette could not have been more helpful in relation to planning both dinner that night and our drive the next day. The night we stayed there was my husband's birthday - they organised the restaurant for the night (which was fantastic), both dropped us off and picked us up from the restaurant, and had special treats in store for us when we arrived home. The team there are fantastic.
The accommodation itself is both relaxing and quiet yet close to the local restaurants. A lovely combination.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FooteParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Teremok is small enough to offer personalized service with a smile. No such thing as NO!! It is beautifully appointed and just a bit off the beaten track. However, the staff are so helpful and accommodating that they take you wherever and whenever you want to go, and then arrange to pick you up at the exact time that you are ready to return.
Breakfast was to die for!! Such a beautiful array of breakfast foods, and if you don't see it on the menu, just ask for it!! They are a most delightful group and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Teremok Marine is perfectly located a stone's throw away from the promenade and offers great accommodation at a very competitive rate (as compared to the Oyster Box and Beverly Hillls). My Rooms was spacious, comfortable very nicely decorated with areal personal touch. The staff is amazing and the breakfast creative and tasty. I did not have time to try the spa, which seems to be very popular.Small detail but they have the softest towels I have ever found in a hotel (and I have stayed in a few...)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have patronized this Guest House for past 10 Years - almost annually ! At no time we were disappointed to contrary it is amazing to see a Guesthouse contineously improving guest services, standard of rooms, support services seldom experienced and above all an outstanding personalized service and approach. The word "NO" is never heard, any wish is taken serious and attended to without arguement . Personnel mostly the same over years which speaks for itself. ! It.s amazing how standard of this House is developing . Even thought rates may not be on the low side - the rates do reflect the extraordinary high standard of this accomodation which five or six star hotels may have difficulties to match.

Room Tip: ask for accomodation facing the sea on first cloor with large balcony - named "Milkwood" !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Spent a pleasant night there yesterday. Very friendly staff and well appointed in a boutique style hotel. A private feeling due to the limited number of rooms. It is located close to the beach and that would be important in the summer months.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alassio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

perfect room (milk wood). Couldn't be better. Nice location 20min from Durban. Good Breakfast. Super fast free internet. Room with view to the sea. We went to the Sibaya Casino and had a very good time. Hotel arranged the taxi and everything went well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
414 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £207 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing