We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Everything was more than I expected, it was only a short stay, the view was gorgeous. It's just a shame they don't have a restaurant but they happily organised a restaurant delivery to the hotel which was amazing. Recommend this place

Room Tip: I had the Juliet suite, which was beautiful. Large, open and spacious. Decor was gorgeous, I was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NomadinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Many hotels offer you luxury but not many understand to combine it with a feeling of home. At Teremok Marine not only every detail is worth the 5 stars, the staff (and the owner) really made our 3 days stay an enjoyable start of our 12 days SA-holiday. Or actually, you don't meet staff, you meet people, and that makes the big difference. They are good at what they do and the small hotel has it's own intimate atmosphere. We would definately love to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dronningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Teremok Marine is an incredible place to spend a few days on South Africa's KZN coast. The service was excellent and the location was very convenient (5 minute drive to Umhlanga's Centre - It is even walkable). The rooms are exceptionally well appointed, with roomy bathrooms, large bathtubs and very beautiful and comfortable furnishings. Each room is decorated following a certain theme, and has its own assigned set of bath products and fragrances. All rooms are very luxurious. The 1st floor rooms (lower level) have a direct access to the pool and garden. The spa is excellent and Kelly, my massage therapist, was fantastic. The breakfast was delicious and very generous, with a choice of meal options. The hotel offers a free coffee bar with a great selection of coffees, teas and biscotti, and the Honesty Bar is very well stocked. The managing staff made sure our stay was unforgettable, and it was. It was hard leaving!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadi-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I travel abroad (as well as in the US) often. Without a doubt, the Teremok Marine is in my top 5 ever. I can not say enough about the service, rooms, personal interaction etc. this is a repeat visit for me!!

Room Tip: This is a must stay place, all rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rmf0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for a night, but felt so at home. The whole atmosphere was relaxed and gentle. This was our first night in SA and we needed time to unwind from flights. The staff suggested a local restaurant when we asked for advice and drove us there and picked us up. The rooms were fitted to the highest standard with lots of unique furnishings and a very comfortable bed. We relaxed in the lounge using the honesty bar and having coffee or tea as we felt. A great place to start a holiday!

Room Tip: Just enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walkeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

we stayed at Teremok for 2 nights with my husband and we wished we had more time but had other committments. The place is exceptionallt decorated with classic furnitures and themed rooms, it really is beautifull. The breakfast is soo tasty but also very healthy which is not common for a lodge, the food is very tasty and well presented, not to mention we had breakfast outside looking at the side. The kitchen staff are exceptionally friendly and Kim the managing owner really took care of me as i had a tummy bug and she provided me with relevant medication which made me enjoy my stay better. I will go to Teremok a thousand times more it really is stunning. PRICELESS?????? :-)

Room Tip: Choose the room at the top which has sea views from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zama Mashenge Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We travelled for 28 hours from Sweden and finally checked into this wonderful oasis. So elegantly designed and very friendly staff that we regretted not having booked a longer stay.
We stayed in the luxurious Milkwood room with an awesome sea view, totally relaxing!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Henrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
2,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#8 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Garden Court Umhlanga
Garden Court Umhlanga
#6 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £157 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing