We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent Stay at the Teremok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recent Stay at the Teremok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The team here are fantastic and their attention to detial is fantastic. The decore in the rooms is immaculate. I stay here for business and would recommned to anyone who is looking for a home away from home. Tranquil, safe and everything you need to relax in this vibrant fast paced city. I must also say that the breakfasts are outstanding!

Room Tip: They are all beautifully and individually designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
169
30
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great experience, friendly staff and beautiful clean 5 star rooms.

Free wifi which is always a plus.

They make you feel right at home and go out of their way to accommodate you.

I would stay their any day of the week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our room was really greatly laid out, it had everything you need from a five start hotel to the finest detail, earbuds, candles by the bath, travel adapters and cd's with music sounds while you are bathing ect. It has a beautiful Spa and gym which is not expensive. The rooms are clean, lacking nothing and a fantastic view. If I compare this to the Fairmount Hotel, it puts it to shame. They should come and see how a hotel should be run.
To Teremok Hotel well done and keep up your great service, will come back again soon.
The Durban view room is beautiful.

Room Tip: It's just a great place, not cheap +~R2600 with breakfast, it's closer to Durban than the Fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My room was well appointed and very comfortable. Loved the bath tub in my room (Zodiac), I usually shower and it was a pleasant treat to have a soak in the bath tub. Bubble bath provided in an ornate glass bottle. Breakfast was great everything freshly prepared and delicious. I have a silly quirk, no fat on my bacon, my request was complied with, with a smile. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Guest house centrally located with easy quick access to the motorways.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Regan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maseru, Lesotho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Somewhere between a boutique hotel and a B&B, the Teremok Marine was the perfect getaway location. The rooms are lovely and comfortable with great views, spa like-tubs and showers and excellent beds. But perhaps the best of all was the attentive and personalized service by the excellent staff who seemed to anticipate my every wish. The spa on the premises was wonderful and I enjoyed some excellent treatments. The breakfast was delicious with fresh squeezed juice and homemade breads and great coffee. I'm already planning my return trip!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully decorated with great views; I don't think that there are any ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edwina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was the hotel were we had the highest expectations on our 3-week trip through South Africa and were sadly disappointed. We stayed in the Juliet suite, a nicely decorated room with a bathroom bigger than the room itself (which is rather small). Breakfast was delicious and included one of the best coffees we had in South Africa.
Despite of the upper class prices there was no fridge in the room, and the bathroom was really hot as there was no A/C or ventilation. There was no free socket available in the room (for charging mobile phone etc.), and the free laundry service lost one sock (I was able to get it back only after insisting but the staff was not really motivated). The gate opener for the parking lot did not work, and the time for the spa appointment was wrong on the confirmation but the person at reception (not motivate to work at all) told us to address this topic the following day after breakfast

When we wanted to check out there was noone at the reception. When we finally found someone after a few minutes the credit card terminal did not work. In the end we were in such a hurry that I had to take care of the luggage myself.
All in all, there was too much going wrong and we did not really feel welcome. Next time we will certainly chose a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and to provide us with your feedback - we value both positive and negative feedback.

I would like to start by apologising for the fact that Teremok did not meet your expectations during your night's stay with us - this is also very disappointing for me and something which I do not take lightly.

I am, however, glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and coffee with us - we do pride ourselves on our coffee blend.

With regards to Juliet suite bathroom being hot, we are aware that this can happen in summer, especially with March being the hottest month in Durban. While the bedroom's airconditioning unit does also service the bathroom, we realise that guests usually close the inter-leading door to ensure that the room stays sufficiently cool. While there is a large sliding door and window in the bathroom, we understand that it is very humid at this time of year, making it difficult to get in any cool air from outside. This is our only room where the bathroom is not open plan with the bedroom.

With regards to the fact that there is no fridge in the room, it was a conscious decision not to put mini bars or tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. The reason for this is that we'd rather offer a good selection of premium products at a central Honesty Bar, as well as our freshly-ground coffee and a selection of tea available at two stations in the house, along with fresh milk and a homemade biscotti. Guests are, however, welcome to use the fridge in our kitchen/dining room should they wish to store anything.

With regards to the plug points available in the room, I have looked at this and realise that we need to make more available for guests' use, so will address this - thanks for bringing this to my attention.

With regards to the problems with the laundry, Spa booking, gate remote and credit card machine - I am very sorry for what sounds like a comedy of errors encountered. I am disappointed that you feel that our staff were also not willing to assist in resolving these issues quickly and efficiently - this is something that we usually receive good feedback on.

All things considered, I can understand that you feel that your experience at Teremok was below expectations and am very sorry that you felt unwelcome - we aim to create a home away from home, and exceed expectations.

While you said that you will choose another hotel next time you travel to Durban, I'd like to offer you complimentary night's stay with us when you're back, so that we can redeem ourselves by offering you the welcome and service you'd expect.

Yours sincerely


Kim Davidson
(Managing Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night at the beginning of the Easter Weekend. Everything was amazing, the accommodation, the spa, the service, nothing was too much trouble. The place is well planned and designed in that you do not seem to hear or see the other guests. They organised restaurant bookings in the evening, as well as complimentary transfers to and from the restaurant.
We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.1 mi away
uMhlanga Sands Resort
uMhlanga Sands Resort
#5 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Property: Teremok Marine
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing