We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ratings in Tripadviser where right”
Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2010

When you are sitting on a small island named Iceland in the middle of the North Atlantic Ocean it’s difficult to find a good accommodation on the other side of the world, that is South Africa. I was first thinking about staying downtown in Durban but I read in the Tripadviser that it could be dangerous because of crimes, e.g. muggings. Instead it was recommended to stay Umhlanga Rocks and the highest rated accommodation there was Teremok Marine. I am now staying there and find it very stylish and the staff excellent. I know now that Tripadviser is a very good tool to find good accommodations.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristjan H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Teremok Marine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed at Teremok for two nights in October 2009. My wife had food poisoning (nothing to do with Teremok, it happened before we got there). The staff could not have been more helpful. In the morning i mentioned it to the staff. They immediately booked an appointment with a local doctor and insisted on driving us to the appointment. Afterwards they collected us, and in the meantime our room had been cleaned. Teremok has a great range of DVDs which my wife took advantage of, as she was bed-bound for the duration of the stay.

Location:
Great. Just a few minutes walk from the beach, and with a great view of the bay

Room:
Fantastic. As you can see from the pictures on the website, this is real luxury

Breakfast:
Delicious. It starts with a freshly made smoothie. Then you order from a menu. This is restaurant standard food. Top it off with a freshly made muffin.

Staff:
As i have said above, the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandrk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed at the Teremok Marine Lodge for 4 days/3 nights, and we felt utterly pampered during our entire stay. The lodge is a very relaxing place to be, decorated with taste, and with a very "zen" feeling to it all. We just loved our room, it was just so beautiful and cozy ! We stayed in the "Zodiac" room.
Paul at reception made our stay that much more special, he gladly drove us to and from restaurants, cinemas, etc - even though we were quite willing to take a taxi - nothing was too much for him, and every question we had was met with a genuine smile.
Service at the Teremok Marine is quite unique as well.. we had been travelling the country for over 3 weeks, and we had quite a bit of laundry to do, Teremok Marine took care of that for us, free of charge, and delivered everything back washed and ironed the very next day - we were very happy about that !
Breakfast at the Teremok is out of this world - absolutely everything we tried was just beyond delicious.. The homemade cakes and breads, the fruit salads/fruit skewers, the smoothies, the coffee, the cooked breakfasts...the "wow effect" was definately present at breakfast.
My partner and I have travelled quite a bit, and we both agree the Teremok is our favorite place so far - if we ever go back to the Durban area, we will go back there, no question about it.
Umhlanga Rocks is a nice place not too far from Durban, but out of the big-city rush so it is quite relaxing but it does offer entertainment if you feel like leaving the hotel (which, by the way, most of the time you won't want to do), but it is not a "dormant" village either, so you don't feel completely isolated like you would in Ballito for instance (which is far too residential to be interesting).
For those who like to do some sports, the gym is great (treadmill, bike, weights, etc), otherwise there is a boardwalk on the beach, which is great for running or walking. You can reach the boardwalk easily on foot from the hotel.
All in all, a great stay, great people, great food !

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMandGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Four of us stayed at Teremok for a relax week following game drives at Kuname River Lodge, drive to White River (Olivers) and drive to Ladysmith (Three Trees at Spion Kop). Bit difficult to find but then we had been driving for nine hours and Umhlanga Rocks was much bigger and busier than we expected. Teremok was everything in other reports and on website - beautifully furnished with every attention to detail. The staff are excellent, notably Paul who drove us to and from restaurants (this is a service provided by Teremok though it is supposedly safe to walk in the evenings) TK and Martia served us superb breakfasts. Teremok has an excellent manager in Minette. The rooms are gorgeous but I personally disliked ours, which was Zodiac. As we were there for seven nights I just found it too dark but as soon as Minette realised she moved us to Vladikin which was much better. I had a lovely body wrap in the beauty room and the products were gorgeous - the ambience though not as luxurious as the hotel but the gym apparatus looked first class (didn't try them - too energetic for me!). Though I was tempted to take exercise with the Springboks when we walked in on them doing their press-ups in the grounds of the Beverley Hills Hotel! We chose not to stay there when arranging our holiday on reading the more negative reviews on TA. We are glad we chose Teremok instead, it is a classy boutique type hotel with superb staff and service. Only negative is the sun disappears from the pool by 3.00 pm.

The best restaurant we visited was Il Maurice.

Wish we were there now!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon&Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

This was another visit by us to Teremok Lodge for business in the area.

I have to write another review on the establishment , as it deserves every compliment posted and written. The individually decorated rooms (as I was booked into a different one than my previous visit) are exotic in every sense. Huge by comparison to other establishment, with everything you can think of. All amenities are thought of in the smallest detail with even a goody bag underneath the basin with torch, matches and other usefull stuff. The beds & linen is of the best quality and huge.

Breakfast in the morning is also wonderful with everything being made fresh in the breakfast area in the open-plan kitchen. This truly makes you feel at home, as it feels as if you're in an old friend's home. The view onto the massive tree outside always makes me smile. The food is excellent.

I must compliment the staff and management of this establishment for everything their doing to make every stay there special. It is definitely a place to go to if you want to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

The design and attention to detail of this gem of a hotel makes it stand out from the crowd. We loved the location, views ( including the ships !), the quality of the furnishings and the breakfast. The Spa is a special treat. If you go to Durban don't miss this place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaworsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

It has taken me a while to write this review as I felt like I wanted to keep this place a secret and all to myself.
There is virtually nothing left to say about it that hasnt already been said by the previous reviewers.
Unbeatable, wonderful, luxury!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy_acacia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,856 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
407 reviews
1.0 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £106 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing