We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful”
Review of HoneyPot B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HoneyPot B&B
Ranked #5 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here in 2010 for a few nights during the World Cup. The owners and staff were great and really made our stay and we still talk about how good the breakfast was, almost 3 years later! It is a nice walk to the beach area as well, a little steep on the way back, but that way you can work off all of the great food, so it didn't bother us. We also felt safe, both walking around in the day and at night.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JLGHAWK98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Owner at HoneyPot B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your review we really value comments from guests as we need to know what the guests experience and if our service levels are high enough. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for HoneyPot B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We just stayed here for one night. The rooms are a bit small, but cosey. There's a swimming pool. Owners are very kind and helpfull. Nice place to stay and very, very good breakfast. From here we visited the Phezulu Cultural Village, which is absolutely worth visiting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMS121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Owner at HoneyPot B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you for the lovely review, it is so nice that you remember us after 3 years. It was a great time here at Honey Pot, 17 Nationalities during the 4 weeks and everyone got on so well. We remember everyone who stayed then with great fondness. Bob & Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We so enjoyed staying here... everything was really really good! Bob and Heather clearly have the knack for making their guests comfortable. As hosts, you can't find a more friendly and accommodating couple. Our room was smartly furnished, clean, and had DSTV, a phone, WiFi, an iron, a hair drier - I couldn't find anything lacking! Their attention to detail really stood out. The pool area and lounge boma was inviting, particularly the 'honour' bar! Breakfast was the best we'd experienced on our trip up the east coast - with hot and cold homemade offerings, served in a pleasant dining area. Another benefit - the parking is ultra secure, which, if you're travelling with a full 4 x 4, is really appreciated!
For dinner, Bob reserved a table for us at a wonderful curry house only a few minutes away. On return to our home a few weeks later, I found I'd left my coat there. Bob very kindly went to the restaurant and posted it back to me. Thanks again - and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilli004, Owner at HoneyPot B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really enjoyed your stay with us and so happy that the jacket got home safely too!!

Regards
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed one night at Honeypot, and fully enjoyed every minute! The rooms were nice, and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, and included a buffet style meal, plus a menu that can be ordered for no additional cost. The owners were so hospitable and friendly, and allowed us to relax on the lawn after our check out time. They also helped with directions to our next accommodation. The beach is just a short walk away, and they have a pool for nice days. We highly recommend Honeypot!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilli004, Owner at HoneyPot B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you ladies for your review, your stay with us was such fun.

Regards
Heather and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights with 3 other girls and we absolutely loved it. The location is perfect, less than 10 minutes away from shops and the beach. A short drive to Gate way shopping centre and only 20 minutes away from Ushaka Marine and the airport.

Bob & Heather (the hosts) and the staff gave us a very warm welcome and we felt at home straight away. The rooms had AC, were very spacious, comfortable and most importantly, clean. You can tell that Heather really paid attention to all details: there are magazines in the rooms for when you get bored, there is an umbrella in front of each of the rooms should it be raining, there are candles you can light when you want to take a bath and they even borrowed us beachtowels when we told her we wanted to go to the beach.

Another thing I'd like to mention is the breakfast they surve. On top of their regular things they prepare every morning which includes fruit salads, sausages, white beans in tomato sauce etc, you also get a cute little menu where you can choose from things like french toast, omelettes, scrambled/poached eggs. In short, the best breakfast you could wish for!

Overall, We had a very pleasant stay and we wish we could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilli004, Owner at HoneyPot B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Thank you for a very positive review we value all feedback good or bad to help us to continually improve our service, however we really, really love this one!!

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed here 2 nights during the World Cup. Bob and Heather, the owners, are wonderful and really helped us enjoy our stay. We came to Durban for the beach, but had bad weather. Heather helped us arrange some tours. We enjoyed meeting the other guests. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. There is a nice little pool. Breakfast is full with buffet and items to order. It was a great value. It is a litle out of the way, so having. A rental car is a good idea. There is little to do within walking distance. Heather helped us arrange cabs and a great local restaurant, Vida Mundo picked us up for free.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAMDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilli004, Owner at HoneyPot B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2010

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback in order to maintain and improve our service levels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

we found this b and b to be very comfortable. Although the decor was a litle dated this didn't matter as the beds were large and extremely comfortable. Also good value for money. There was plenty of choice for breakfast.
The hosts were extremely welcoming and made us feel relaxed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charliegirl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
1.0 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.8 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#3 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HoneyPot B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HoneyPot B&B

Address: 11 Hilken Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HoneyPot B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed European style accommodation, our emphasis is on peace, tranquility and the personal touch, just like your home! All rooms have private entrances and en-suite bathrooms, wireless hotspots, TV, fridge, CD/DVD Player and serviced daily. HoneyPot has a swimming pool and bar for your relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your HoneyPot B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing