We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Ranked #9 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Excellent place to stay, with great attention to detail. Jill & Chris are warm and friendly hosts and are very willing to share their great personal knowledge of the area. Breakfasts are excellent, and the Wi-Fi works and is free. I think its my 6th visit, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

Our motor camper tour of South Africa was brought to a sudden halt when my husband developed a heart problem and was admitted to hospital and I needed urgent accommodation close to the hospital. Jill and Chris were so helpful and supportive even providing a hug when needed. Lovely clean accommodation overlooking the garden and pool, the best omlettes possible for breakfast, the free internet was a boon for keeping in touch with family. We didn't see as much of South Africa as planned. If we ever get the opportunity to return I would certainly re-visit Sylvan Grove.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizLes426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Verneuil Sur Seine, France
2
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Jill and Chris have offered us the most warm-hearted reception we could imagine, making us really feeling we were at home. Cleanliness and equipment of the room was perfect in every way. Breakfast was excellent and internet was free. we could not imagine of a better way to discover Durban, where we never had been before, I would heartly recommend the place to anyone who goes there. Only flaw maybe was the location, a bit far from the beach and city center by foot (ca 15 mn walking), but this was easily balanced by how pleasant and friendly the house was.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Clean, professional, friendly and can highly recommend it. Beautiful area and 5 min drive from the beach and lovely restuarants. Ate at Olive and Oil and can highly recommend that to. Family room was great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarkU639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Tucked away in a quiet upmarket suburb yet close to Gateway shopping mall and the on ramp to the airport highway. Clean and comfortable with generous breakfast, well cooked and fresh. Pleasant and friendly staff

Room Tip: My ground floor room overlooked the pool and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shibarghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The B&B is quite good, we went there for 2 nights initially and after asked for one more night and they helped us out. The rooms are ok, well taking care off, new plasma TV, air conditioning, bathtub and comfortable beds.

Overall our experience was very good, the place is safe and the owners offer you assistance at any time, also the food was good at breakfast and the service in general is good.

As points against, the B&B is quite far from the village so as many places in South Africa, you will need a car and the second thing is there are nothing to do there you make sure that you have your agenda filled with activities and the place might be a bit old but nothing mayor to be concerned of.

In any case, our experience was nice, we received a good service, clean and nice rooms and good breakfast.

Enjoy your staying at this place...

Room Tip: The room # 6 and the # 4 are well located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feds-Vargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year after booking a trip to South Africa at the very last moment. We were very pleased with our stay; the room is very clean, spotless in fact, lovely bathroom with basic toiletries provided and the room was very well equipped. I can see why it has a 4 star rating as it has everything that a 4 star hotel would provide. There was a minibar with very reasonably priced drinks and snacks, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, aircon, safe and the all important wifi.
Our room had a balcony with a seaview which was lovely. Breakfast in the morning was beautifully cooked to order, the fruit salad was really lovely, all the different jams and spreads, cereals, juices etc. there really was alot of choice.
The grounds of the guesthouse were very nice too, with a swimming pool and seating areas in the garden. It was very nice to spend time sitting around the garden. What was very nice too is that we didn't feel as if we were intruding, which we have felt in staying in some guesthouses (in Hawaii) where we felt uncomfortable.
The hosts were very nice & helpful too, providing hints on local things to do and restaurants. The beaches are not far away, maybe 10 mins at most.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fru_sorteravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,942 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
372 reviews
0.8 mi away
HoneyPot B&B
HoneyPot B&B
#6 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Grove Guest House

Address: 49 Sylvan Grove | Herrwood Park, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £70 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sylvan Grove Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sylvan Grove is a 4 Star Guest House situated in a quiet residential area of Umhlanga Rocks, with a tranquil tropical garden, inviting swimming pool and prolific bird life facing the Indian Ocean. Our double rooms have en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryers, bar fridges, safes, telephones, wireless internet & satellite TV. Secure parking on the property. Night guard on duty every evening. The swimming beaches with lifeguards on duty, Gateway Shopping and Entertainment Centre and an extensive choice of restaurants are within a few kilometers. For the sports enthusiasts there are numerous facilities nearby, tennis, bowls, gym, nature walks, deep sea fishing, scuba diving and micro light flying are activities which can easily be arranged. Our coast is renowned for its scenic and world class golf courses. Dolphin and Whale watching, deep sea fishing and scuba diving launch from our local beach. We are a 15 minute drive from the Durban CBD, International Conference Centre, uShaka Marine World, Sibaya and Suncoast Casinos. Umhlanga and La Lucia Ridge Business Parks are close by. The World Heritage Sites of the St. Lucia Wetlands and the Drakensberg Mountains and The Big 5 Game Parks are a 2 hours drive. Children over 5 year welcome. Local and national sight seeing tours arranged. Onsite parking. Airport (20km) and local transfers by arrangement. Major credit cards welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sylvan Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing