We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Ranked #6 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Best Service”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay, we had a great time, great service, breakfast to die for, clean rooms and wonderful hospitality. will definately be coming back soon. Perfect location and we had perfect weather. Mrs.J. Hendricks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    35
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
43
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in this wonderful guest house and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. After a heart-warming reception by Jill and Chris we were surprised about the excellent accommodation and the wonderful breakfast the next morning.
We can recommend this lovely guest house to anyone looking for a quiet place near Durban and that at a very moderate price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding in Durban on the 7th December 2013 and booked at Sylvan Grove guest house in Umhlanga for the weekend. Jill and Chris were really good hosts and very friendly, the bathroom was big and really looked nice. They really pay attention to detail. The bed was comfortable, with white linen. There was an air-conditioner in the room. Everything we needed was there, and the room was spotlessly clean especially the carpet and the bathroom. The Umhlanga area looks nice and its closer to Gateway mall. The breakfast is to die for, with lots of variety. I really loved this place, and will certainly be going back to this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mapule722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Well appointed, comfortable, desk + light, strong Wi fi, friendly hosts, beautiful area, just what a business traveller needs, close to local shops with a wide selection of eateries, 20 mins from the airport

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Was in Durban for business, what a nice place to stay for the night. The room was in perfect state with a lovely big bathroom. The most friendliest of hosts and the breakfast is to die for.
Thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dezso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I bought tickets to watch a show at the Barnyard Theatre and decided to spend the night in Umhlanga Rocks. We stayed at the Sylvan Grove Guesthouse, and I must say it was a pleasant night.

The guesthouse is located in a very nice area of Umhlanga, and is only about 10 minutes away from the Gateway Mall.

It was a pretty quiet area. We were a bit worried at first because we heard a neighbor's dog barking early evening, and we hoped it wouldn't continue that way, like some dogs would. But by the time we came home from the show, it was all quiet.

The room was very clean, smelled clean too. It was not very big, but spacious enough for us to move around with ease. The bed was comfortable, and the white sheets were so nice and soft.

The bathroom and shower were also very clean and were also pretty spacious, though the shelves available were very narrow, we didn't have space to put our personal stuff.

The room had a view of the sea, so we watched a few boats out at sea, and at night, we could sea the lights coming from the boats, which was an interesting sight.

The breakfast was ok, nothing fantastic. There was a cold selection of fruits and yogurt and cereals, flap jacks, cheese, and the usual coffee and fruit juices. And then a hot breakfast selection of toasts, French toasts, croissant, bacon and eggs. Jill, our host, was there, personally attending to the guests. She was really nice.

The only thing we found problematic was the dining area. We didn't have a problem at breakfast because we were up early and there were only 2 couples (us and another one) in the dining area at that time, so we didn't feel so cramped. But by the time we checked out, the dining area was full, and people had to stand up and make some space so we could pass through to get out. We had to pass by the dining area to get to and from our room. It was a squeeze with our bags.

There was also the smell of cooking at the stairs, because it was near the kitchen. Good thing it didn't get through to the room, otherwise it wouldn't be pleasant. I really don't like the smell of cooking in a room.

Overall, it was a nice stay and we would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Excellent place to stay, with great attention to detail. Jill & Chris are warm and friendly hosts and are very willing to share their great personal knowledge of the area. Breakfasts are excellent, and the Wi-Fi works and is free. I think its my 6th visit, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Grove Guest House

Property: Sylvan Grove Guest House
Address: 49 Sylvan Grove | Herrwood Park, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sylvan Grove Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sylvan Grove is a 4 Star Guest House situated in a quiet residential area of Umhlanga Rocks, with a tranquil tropical garden, inviting swimming pool and prolific bird life facing the Indian Ocean. Our double rooms have en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryers, bar fridges, safes, telephones, wireless internet & satellite TV. Secure parking on the property. Night guard on duty every evening. The swimming beaches with lifeguards on duty, Gateway Shopping and Entertainment Centre and an extensive choice of restaurants are within a few kilometers. For the sports enthusiasts there are numerous facilities nearby, tennis, bowls, gym, nature walks, deep sea fishing, scuba diving and micro light flying are activities which can easily be arranged. Our coast is renowned for its scenic and world class golf courses. Dolphin and Whale watching, deep sea fishing and scuba diving launch from our local beach. We are a 15 minute drive from the Durban CBD, International Conference Centre, uShaka Marine World, Sibaya and Suncoast Casinos. Umhlanga and La Lucia Ridge Business Parks are close by. The World Heritage Sites of the St. Lucia Wetlands and the Drakensberg Mountains and The Big 5 Game Parks are a 2 hours drive. Children over 5 year welcome. Local and national sight seeing tours arranged. Onsite parking. Airport (20km) and local transfers by arrangement. Major credit cards welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sylvan Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing