We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Ranked #7 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Sylvan Grove is the ideal place for a great night's sleep, comfortable,modern and immaculate.
The hosts are warm and welcoming.
Peaceful and restful.
Great location with easy access to freeways for business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    35
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
44
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at Sylvan Grove Guest House! Friendly staff, secure property, walking distance to the beach and restuarants. They were also up to make sure I caught my early flight! Excellent! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weltevreden Park
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very beautiful venue with comfortable rooms and very friendly and accommodating staff. Even thou there was a breaking in some of the rooms the one night, they reacted swiftly by posting security guards on the premises and we didn't feel unsafe at any moment. We will use this venue again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JacquesVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay, we had a great time, great service, breakfast to die for, clean rooms and wonderful hospitality. will definately be coming back soon. Perfect location and we had perfect weather. Mrs.J. Hendricks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in this wonderful guest house and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. After a heart-warming reception by Jill and Chris we were surprised about the excellent accommodation and the wonderful breakfast the next morning.
We can recommend this lovely guest house to anyone looking for a quiet place near Durban and that at a very moderate price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding in Durban on the 7th December 2013 and booked at Sylvan Grove guest house in Umhlanga for the weekend. Jill and Chris were really good hosts and very friendly, the bathroom was big and really looked nice. They really pay attention to detail. The bed was comfortable, with white linen. There was an air-conditioner in the room. Everything we needed was there, and the room was spotlessly clean especially the carpet and the bathroom. The Umhlanga area looks nice and its closer to Gateway mall. The breakfast is to die for, with lots of variety. I really loved this place, and will certainly be going back to this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mapule722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Well appointed, comfortable, desk + light, strong Wi fi, friendly hosts, beautiful area, just what a business traveller needs, close to local shops with a wide selection of eateries, 20 mins from the airport

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,820 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Grove Guest House

Property: Sylvan Grove Guest House
Address: 49 Sylvan Grove | Herrwood Park, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sylvan Grove Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sylvan Grove is a 4 Star Guest House situated in a quiet residential area of Umhlanga Rocks, with a tranquil tropical garden, inviting swimming pool and prolific bird life facing the Indian Ocean. Our double rooms have en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryers, bar fridges, safes, telephones, wireless internet & satellite TV. Secure parking on the property. Night guard on duty every evening. The swimming beaches with lifeguards on duty, Gateway Shopping and Entertainment Centre and an extensive choice of restaurants are within a few kilometers. For the sports enthusiasts there are numerous facilities nearby, tennis, bowls, gym, nature walks, deep sea fishing, scuba diving and micro light flying are activities which can easily be arranged. Our coast is renowned for its scenic and world class golf courses. Dolphin and Whale watching, deep sea fishing and scuba diving launch from our local beach. We are a 15 minute drive from the Durban CBD, International Conference Centre, uShaka Marine World, Sibaya and Suncoast Casinos. Umhlanga and La Lucia Ridge Business Parks are close by. The World Heritage Sites of the St. Lucia Wetlands and the Drakensberg Mountains and The Big 5 Game Parks are a 2 hours drive. Children over 5 year welcome. Local and national sight seeing tours arranged. Onsite parking. Airport (20km) and local transfers by arrangement. Major credit cards welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sylvan Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing