We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality accommodation in a buzzing resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manaar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manaar House
Ranked #2 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top quality accommodation in a buzzing resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Arranged to spend 3 nights in Umhlanga and selected the Manaar House from previous reviews - we were not disappointed.

Our room accessed directly to the pool/breakfast area in a well sheltered part of the property. The pool is enclosed with an impressive display of flora and the whole is kept scupulously clean.

The room included a standard double bed and could have been slightly larger. The bathroom on the other hand was spacious and inviting.

Room facilities included a safe and fridge.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

The hosts, Mark and Jack, were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing appeared to be too much of a problem.

The property is situate a good walk from the town centre and beach but taxis are plentiful and cheap.

Three days was not a sufficient period to appreciate all that Umhlanga had to offer and there is a hankering to return. I would certainly choose the Manaar House again to facilitate this desire.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Owner at Manaar House, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments and review of Manaar House. Compliments and constructive feedback are always appreciated. We enjoyed meeting you and having you to stay at Manaar House and look forward to having you to stay again at Manaar House in the not too distant future. We would love to share with you the intended improvements that are planned for Manaar House. Best regards, Jack, Mark, Tina and the rest of the team at Manaar House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
115
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent 3 days at Manaar House during our first ever trip to SA, and nothing was too much trouble for Mark, Jack or Tina. We'd booked it based on previous reviews, and can confirm that this property deserves all the "excellent" ratings it's received.

This is a super property, everything we needed and much more (so much that we spent an entire day lounging by the pool rather than go to the lovely beach - very lazy!). The rooms are very well appointed and spotlessly clean, and the outdoor sofa area is very relaxing and welcoming, especially so with a beer, or two. We will definitely stay here again, and our only regret on this occasion is that we weren't there for longer! Thank you for providing such a lovely interlude during our trip to SA. Alison & Will.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveaholiday2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Owner at Manaar House, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thanks you for your positive and complimentary feedback regarding your stay at Manaar House. We did enjoy your company and we hope to be able to show off to you the renovations that we intend to do at Manaar House on a possible return trip that you may make to Umhlanga Rocks and Manaar House.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in the Natal Midlands and I will be interested to hear from you whether you decided to do the tour of the Midlands Meander and the Drakensberg Mountains.

Till next time, Mark and Tina join with me in thanking you for choosing Manaar House for your stay in Umhlanga Rocks and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Warm wishes,
Jack Mark, Tina and the rest of the staff at Manaar House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampton wick, surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

A rewarding start to our holiday. B & B hosts Jack, Mark and Tina were on hand to advise without ever being intrusive. Privacy if required, congenial, informative company if not.
Though reasonably familiar with the area and previously devotees of the Oyster Box, we chose to stay away from the big hotels. Instead Manaar House was selected from the Portfolio Collection and we're still congratulating ourselves on our choice. It was, indeed, Home from Home with all of the attendant comforts--and none of the chores
We travelled without car hire for the first time. Local taxi, approved by Jack, was cheap and cheerful.and necessary for the uphill return in the afternoon heat. There was also sensible comments about the range of restaurant for dinner--and bookings made if required.

Room Tip: No. 3 if available but NOT if we are there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j-mason203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Owner at Manaar House, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback relating to your stay at Manaar House. We are pleased to hear that Manaar House was the perfect place to stay and a great start to your holiday. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to have you to stay at Manaar House. We did enjoy your company and we hope to see you back again at Manaar House in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jack, Mark and Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We spent ten days at Manaar House as a result of a word-of-mouth recommendation from a family member. Tastefully furnished in a secure location a few minutes drive from the beach and town, we extended our stay there from our original planned week, and it was one of the highlights of the entire six-week trip. Recommendations from the owners re restaurants, shopping, tourist sites and and travel were generally well judged and accurate. All of the staff deserve special mention for their helpful attitude and friendliness. The laundry service was particularly welcome on a long trip and exceptionally good value.

Proximity to the highway means easy access, but it does mean a little extra noise when sitting out on the patio, especially in the larger of the two self catering units. Efficient glazing and AC means that outside noise is filtered out when inside the accomodation and at night. The owners also have a range of other rental properties in the area.

Room Tip: Units vary considerably in size, so ask about this when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Owner at Manaar House, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments relating to your stay at Manaar House. As much as you enjoyed your time at Manaar House, it was also a pleasure for us to meet you both. During your extended stay at Manaar House we really got to know you and we were sad when it was time to say goodbye. As you indicated, there may be a possibility of a return stay to Umhlanga Rocks and our beautiful province, Kwa Zulu Natal and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

I shared your comment with the staff regarding their friendliness and willingness to help. They were delighted to receive your compliment and send their regards along with ours.

Warm regards,

Jack, Mark, Tina and all the staff at Manaar House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We found this guesthouse off expedia and it looked like it was in the right place and a good price- in reality it is a great place to base yourself in Umhlanga. Close enough to walk into the 'town' and very quiet and secluded. Very friendly and helpful hosts and good value for money. Lovely pool and hottub in a very sheltered and private garden. We had a tiny room but it was spotlessly clean and had everything you might need. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone looking for a place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Dont have room 4- go for one of the larger ones if possible, but I wouldnt let it put me off staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_a_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Owner at Manaar House, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and to have you to stay at Manaar House.Thank you for sharing your positive comments and for recommending Manaar House as a "great place to stay". We are planning to enlarge the room that you stayed in so that it is more in keeping with the size of the other rooms at Manaar House. We hope that we will come and visit again so that you can see and experience the "new" Room 4. Kind regards, Jack, Mark and Tina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

I stayed two nights here and wished I could have stayed more. The hosts were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The house and outdoor patio were beautifully appointed and surrounding garden is more picturesque than the images shown on their web site. They also went out of their by making my dinner arrangements in nearby Umdloti at a fantastic restaurant, Mundo Vida (see my review under restaurants). The location is perfect and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Durban area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KukiniSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Owner at Manaar House, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for the compliments regarding your stay at Manaar House and for sharing your impressions of our Guest House with others. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope to have you to stay at Manaar House again in the future. All the very best for 2013. Best regards, Jack, Mark and Tina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I've stayed in some places in my time, but can honestly say Manaar House was the most accomodating, comfortable & relaxing! Its home from home! Jack & Mark, your hospitality was second to none! Thank-you for such an enjoyable stay. I look forward to coming back soon with my family in tow. Kelly @ Aramex.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Owner at Manaar House, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for the compliments and feedback relating to your stay at Manaar House. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and we thoroughly enjoyed your company. We look forward to having you and your family to stay at Manaar House in the future. Your time at Manaar House was short and there is still so much for you to see and do in Umhlanga Rocks and our beautiful province of Kwa Zulu Natal. Till next time, our best regards, Jack, Mark and Tina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.7 mi away
Anchor's Rest
Anchor's Rest
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manaar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manaar House

Property: Manaar House
Address: 16 Manaar Road, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manaar House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests have the choice of B & B or self catering accommodation. 2 luxury en-suite double bedrooms with full en-suite bathrooms (separate bath & shower) and 2 well appointed self catering units with modern, fully equipped kitchens. All bedrooms / apartments have satellite TV, air-conditioning, telephone, FREE wireless internet facilities and their own private entrance. Self catering apartments are also fully serviced. Barbeque facilities are available. Swimming pool and hot tub. 2 minutes drive to the beach and Umhlanga Centre. 5 minutes drive to Gateway. Secure undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manaar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing