We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute Must !!!”
Review of Manaar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manaar House
Ranked #2 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute Must !!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Not only is Manaar House breathtakingly beautiful, but the hospitality is absolutely phenomenal!!Would definitely recommend it for all types of travelling and I WILL BE BACK for that taste of paradise .. Stunning on all accounts .<3 <3 <3 thank you so much for such an enjoyable stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
It was wonderful to meet you and an absolute pleasure to be your hosts! We look forward to seeing you again and having you to stay at Manaar House in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Tina and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
115
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Even though this was a business trip and we could only stay one evening, it was really great. You can see that the whole establishment is looked after with care, love and attention to detail. Close enough to the main beach area in Umhlanga Rocks without paying the high prices for being close to the sea. The personal touch makes this a home away from home - cliché but absolutely true in this case. You cannot go wrong - make the booking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Owner at Manaar House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your compliments relating to your stay at Manaar House. We so enjoyed meeting you and having you to stay at Manaar House. We hope that Manaar House will be your preferred choice of accommodation on your next business trip to Durban.

Best regards,

Jack, Mark, Tina and Wayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We based our booking on the reviews at Tripadvisor and that was no mistake! Had a great stay and we most of all would like to thank the managers for their superb service, advice and arranging our boattrip at St Lucia the next day. We felt really welcome and at home, if only for one night. Great room as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Owner at Manaar House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for compliments relating to your stay at Manaar House - it was a pleasure to have you to stay and we look forward to a return visit on your next business trip to Umhlanga Rocks.

Kind regards,
Jack, Mark, Tina and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at Manaar House on 16/17 May '14
I had a lovely warm welcome from Tina who knew me by name before I had even introduced myself.
The room (no 2) was lovely - neat, clean, plenty of room for one and with white crisp bed linen...
Breakfast was by the pool and a treat...fruit salad and eggs benedict...my favorite.
Location to the airport - perfect - less that 30min drive and very direct
Location to Umhlanga Village and beach - over the m4 and you're there.
The only teeny downside is the proximity to the m4...at 3am, when sounds are exaggerated, traffic noise is audible....but nothing a set of ear-plugs couldn't block out.
Going the extra mile (!) Tina was very happy to reverse the hire-car out of the tricky driveway every time I left Manaar House! I was not proud!!!!
Great news is we are going back as a family for 2 nights in July! and will move on to another of their properties closer to the beach for a further 5 nights...I sit here confident and excited, knowing that our stay will be as lovely as my one night was last week!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magswinsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback relating to your stay at Manaar House.
We enjoyed meeting and hosting you and we are looking forward to having you to stay once again at Manaar House during July 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford Essex England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at Manaar House whilst my girlfriend was visiting me from England from 18th May to 24th May. There is nothing to fault about Manaar House, Tina and Wayne are absolutely lovely. Our room was awesome and we could not have wanted more. They made us feel so welcome and completely at home. I would not hesitate to recommend them and their lovely Guest House!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Please come and stay again at Manaar House. We so enjoyed meeting you both and are delighted to hear that you rated your stay at Manaar House as "superb"!

Kind regards,
Tina and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here on 2 separate occasions during our stay in the Durban area; before and after our safari trip up north. Tina and Wayne were fantastic hosts; extremely welcoming and always on hand to go above and beyond to help us. The place is very clean and attractive, the pool area is also very well done. Also - Wayne's omelettes are delicious!! We would certainly recommend this b&b and will be back when we return to SA! Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of Manaar House and we so enjoyed your company and sorry that your stay was so short. Wayne was delighted to hear that you enjoyed his omelette specialities!! We would love to have you to stay again in the near future.

Warm regards
Tina and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Only stayed one night. Business Trip.
It was relaxing and Tina was very pleasant and made me feel right at home.
Rooms has everything you need, nice and big and the Big Softy towels was really nice.

Thanks for the amazing breakfast, those plum/yogurt treats were fantastic.

Will recommend them!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed the amenities provided at Manaar House. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our plum / yoghurt treats and we hope that you will make Manaar House your preferred accommodation on future business trips.

Kind regards,
Tina and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.7 mi away
Anchor's Rest
Anchor's Rest
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manaar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manaar House

Property: Manaar House
Address: 16 Manaar Road, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manaar House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests have the choice of B & B or self catering accommodation. 2 luxury en-suite double bedrooms with full en-suite bathrooms (separate bath & shower) and 2 well appointed self catering units with modern, fully equipped kitchens. All bedrooms / apartments have satellite TV, air-conditioning, telephone, FREE wireless internet facilities and their own private entrance. Self catering apartments are also fully serviced. Barbeque facilities are available. Swimming pool and hot tub. 2 minutes drive to the beach and Umhlanga Centre. 5 minutes drive to Gateway. Secure undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Manaar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing