We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and excellent host”
Review of Manaar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manaar House
Ranked #3 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014

It is a very lovely b&b, like staying at someone's villa but totally private. Jack and Mark are wonderful hosts. They gave excellent suggestions for dinner and and after drink, and mark even gave us a drive around the little village before dropping us off at our choice of dinner place. Their pool and verandah made a beautiful relaxing place for breakfast. The room is well equipped with a full kitchen which we didn't really need for 1 night stay, but it was nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

We booked Manaar house following good reviews and its short distance from king Shaka Airport. So glad we did because it was absolutely the right choice! We felt very welcome as our hosts were genuinely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast on the veranda by the pool. Our room was great, with its own little covered seating area outside. A fantastic place with perfect company that makes us want to return for a little longer and take the time to explore Umhlanga a bit more!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 159Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for your complimentary review, which we really appreciate. We are pleased that you enjoyed the homely feel of Manaar House and the personal touch. We sincerely hope that you will come back to visit us so that we may arrange and suggest further activities in and around Umhlanga.

Kind regards,
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We chose Manaar House because it´s only a short drive from King Shaka Airport. But we´ll remember our stay mostly because of the great hosts. Although it was our first stay at Manaar House Jack and Mark gave us the feeling of coming home. They we´re always on hand, when we needed their help, whether it was simple restaurant recommendation, the easiest way into town or a tip for the next stops of our trip. They even helped us to detect our missing luggage.
On top of that Manaar House offers beautiful rooms with cosy beds and a really nice bathroom. The breakfast was served at the garden terrace right next to the pool and was delicious.
Unfortunately our itinerary only allowed us to stay for one night.But if we´ll return to the Durban area, we´ll definitely come back to Manaar House.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DoenerPommes_Bini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We are just checking out, but I had to write a review about how great it was. The room that we stayed at had a private bath- it was super comfortable and the bathroom was fabulous. Great water pressure, beautiful bath tub. Tina and her husband were so accommodating and friendly. Right when we got there she arranged for a cab and dinner reservations - dinner was amazing. Can't say enough about how great it was. I usually stay in great hotels, but saw this b&b in trip advisor and thought I would give it a shot- glad I did.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxchin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

We so enjoyed hosting you both albeit so short and thank you for taking the time to review Manaar House. We are passionate about all our guests and we endeavour to give our best at all times.
We hope that you enjoyed your Safari!

Best regards,
Tina and Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a lovely place to stay! Short walk to the beach yet quiet and secluded. Very comfortable room and surroundings, and excellent breakfast! Tina and Wayne are superb hosts - they made us feel very welcome, and were always on hand to help with any queries and advice. Thanks for a great stay! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thanks so much for your wonderful and complimentary review. We are so pleased that Manaar House lived up to your expectations. We take pride in informing our guests of local activities as well as restaurant recommendations in and around Umhlanga.

Kind regards,
Tina and Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We chose Manaar House for our annual visit back to South Africa to visit family and friends. The location is perfect and central. If visiting Durban, Umhlanga is the only place to be with it's beautiful town/restaurants/beach. A short drive down the road to restaurants and beach and same distance to Gateway Shopping Mall. The apartment was spacious, with a king bed room upstairs and 2 single beds partitioned off, downstairs lovely kitchenette and lounge with TV. Management and staff are amazing. As frequent travelers we highly recommend Manaar House and will definitely stay again when we return in a year's time. Thank you Jack and Tina!

Room Tip: Book the apartment if you want space and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LisaTren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. We so enjoyed hosting you and we definitely look forward to your return visit to Manaar House in 2015.

Warm regards
Tina and Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was by far the best stay of our trip! The hosts (Wayne and Tina) were just great - they made us feel very welcome and they were super helpful with everything! The breakfast was superb - a wide variety, enough of everything and the fruit was extremely fresh! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerhardjvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We so enjoyed meeting you and are delighted that your stay at Manaar House was 'absolutely wonderful". We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfasts and the daily fresh fruits provided at Manaar House. We look forward to hosting you again on a return visit to Manaar House in the future.

Kind regards,

Tina and Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
372 reviews
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manaar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manaar House

Address: 16 Manaar Road, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £61 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manaar House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests have the choice of B & B or self catering accommodation. 2 luxury en-suite double bedrooms with full en-suite bathrooms (separate bath & shower) and 2 well appointed self catering units with modern, fully equipped kitchens. All bedrooms / apartments have satellite TV, air-conditioning, telephone, FREE wireless internet facilities and their own private entrance. Self catering apartments are also fully serviced. Barbeque facilities are available. Swimming pool and hot tub. 2 minutes drive to the beach and Umhlanga Centre. 5 minutes drive to Gateway. Secure undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manaar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing