We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manaar House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Manaar House
Ranked #2 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

We stayed at Manaar House at the beginning of April prior to our wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our experience there. We stayed in Room 1 of the B&B. It was apartment style accommodation with an open plan lounge, kitchen and dining room downstairs, and a large bedroom, bathroom and balcony upstairs. The entire place was in immaculate condition and very stylish. We particularly liked the unique sofa arm covers!! We also liked the large balcony upstairs with sunloungers and a view of the sea. Before we left, we were told the room was due for a refurbishement - we would love to see what the room looks like after that as it was already very well maintained and decorated. Although we didn't get to use it (due to being too busy) there was a lovely pool area also. The added benefit is there is secure parking for each of the rooms, and they are very happy to help reverse your car up the very steep driveway!

The other thing we loved about Manaar House were our hosts. Jack and Mark were always on hand to offer directions, advice and also for general chat. One night we had a few family members over for dinner and they happily provided extra plates, knives and forks and also spent some time chatting away to my dad.

A noteable mention also goes Gus the dog who was a Great Dane crossed with a Rhodesian Ridgeback, although I think he may have some pony in him he was so hige. He took a particular shining to Tom and gave him a big slobbery kiss when he saw him! Don't worry if you are not a dog lover as they do not let him lose unless you want to pet him!

All in all, a great stay and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_andNicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
115
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

Had a great week in the self catering apartment, very clean and lost of space. Jack and Mark are great hosts and do go out of their way to ensure that everything is to your satisfaction. Shops and restaurants are within a couple of minutes drive. I would recommend to anyone who needs a few days rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkshamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

We stayed a week in the Wedgewood Terrace apartment. Our little home from home was perfect in every way. Beautifully furnished, quiet and across the street from the beach. We loved the little balcony off the lounge and sat out there every evening enjoying a glass of wine and beautiful African sunset. How wonderful to have our apartment cleaned every day!
My sister and her husband joined us for the weekend - there was plenty of space and with two bathrooms it was perfect for two couples.
Mark and Jack are the perfect hosts. We travel back to Africa from the States every year and we would not stay anywhere else. We have stayed in all of the Manaar apartments and they all fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

The welcome you receive from Jack & Mark is second to none and for the rest of the stay they cannot do enough for you.

The accomodation is luxurious and the breakfast delicious with the lovely pool being a real bonus.

Jack and Mark were always on hand to give advice on trips and dining (they have excellent taste in restaurants!) and were always ready with a cool beer or glass of wine.

We stayed for 3 nights B&B and then went to the battlefields and St Lucia saying that we would definately be back. Little did we know that after a disastrous stay in St Lucia we made an emergency phone call to go back to Jack & Mark.

We spent our last two nights in South Africa at Manaar House and it really was the perfect end to a wonderful holiday.

We will build our next holiday in South Africa around a stay at Manaar House and would not hesitate to recommend it to others,

  • Liked — Jack & Mark
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AileenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

We stayed at Manaar House for 4 nights at the end of a 3 week trip in SA. There were 4 of us (2 couples) and we rented rooms 1 & 2 on a self catering basis. Both are self contained apartments with Room 1 being the larger of the 2, its set out over 2 floors with a large lounge, kitchen, guest toilet and outside area on the ground floor and the bedroom, terrace, bathroom and toilet on the first floor. Room 1 does sleep 4 but we decided that we wanted the privacy of 2 apartments. Whether or not you need to do this would depend on who you are travelling with as the two sleeping areas are only seperated with a curtain - would be ideal for a couple travelling with children.

Jack and Mark are fantastic hosts who make you feel completely at home. The apartments are beautifully appointed and come with everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Huge comfy bed, big fluffy towels and a proper power shower together with efficient air con and simple but classy decor all add up to a great place to stay. Although we were there self catering we did have breakfast in the main house on our last day and it was really good. The pool is set in really pretty gardens with lots of exotic bird life to keep you entertained as you lounge by the pool with a perfectly mixed G&T or an ice cold beer (both provided regularly by Jack/Mark). We didn't use the lounge in the main house but it was very welcoming and furnished beautifully.

Umhlanga has a number of excellent restaurants and bars and although we had planned to go into Durban for dinner on at least 2 of the 4 nights we were there we didn't need to. Both Jack and Mark are very well informed on things to do and places to eat in the area. We loved the food at Olive and Oil (Mediterranean) and Ile Maurice (Mauritian food). We also loved Zara's for breakfast and lunches. Primi Piatti at Gateway Mall does amazing pizzas, superb mojitos and the service is fast and fun. Lovers of a well made cocktail with a stunning sea view will also love the bar at the Beverley Hills hotel - perfect for sundowners. Umhlanga is a great destination for a relaxing break with the beaches, the shopping - both Gateway and La Lucia malls have everything you could possibly need - and the nightlife. You are also in an ideal location to access all the attractions of Durban and its surrounds.

We can't recommend Manaar House highly enough. We could definitely have stayed for longer. It was the perfect end to our trip.

  • Liked — Elegant luxury with friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank superstarhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

This is a fantastic little B&B where you can really make yourself at home. We had a lovely double room with an amazing bathroom. Breakfast is served on the patio overlooking the pool. It's a bit of a walk from the town centre but taxis are very cheap so it's not a problem. Jack and Mark are excellent hosts and recommended two great restaurants the two nights we were there (Kashmir and Olive and Oil). They also have a ginormous dog called Gus who is really friendly and makes you feel very welcome!

  • Liked — The owners - Jack and Mark.
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

Had a fantastic stay at the manaar guest house. Jack and Mark made us feel so welcome and felt at home as soon as we arrived. We had a room and my parents stayed in one of the apartments which were both finished off to spectacular standards. Breakfast was outside beside the pool each morning and very good it was too! We decided to stay there rather than one of the larger hotels because its nicer to receive a personal touch and be looked after. We were not dissapointed! Look forward to staying there again, miss you Jack and Mark! The beach is an easy 15 minutes walk and the centre can be reached by a 5 min car drive or a taxi which are very cheap to use. Eating out we went to Olive & Oil and the Thai restuarant. We also liked the Europa bar.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.7 mi away
Anchor's Rest
Anchor's Rest
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manaar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manaar House

Property: Manaar House
Address: 16 Manaar Road, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manaar House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests have the choice of B & B or self catering accommodation. 2 luxury en-suite double bedrooms with full en-suite bathrooms (separate bath & shower) and 2 well appointed self catering units with modern, fully equipped kitchens. All bedrooms / apartments have satellite TV, air-conditioning, telephone, FREE wireless internet facilities and their own private entrance. Self catering apartments are also fully serviced. Barbeque facilities are available. Swimming pool and hot tub. 2 minutes drive to the beach and Umhlanga Centre. 5 minutes drive to Gateway. Secure undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Manaar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing