We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Manaar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manaar House
Ranked #2 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Best Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We choose to stay at Manaar House in Umhlanga for the second time as it is the best B&B we've ever stayed at. The hosts, Jack and Mark, are very kind and sweet. They go out of their way to ensure that you feel right at home. They always offer valuable info regarding recommended restaurants, shops and attractions. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and the breakfasts are tasty and cater for every need. We feel so rested and relaxed and we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Marie_F_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
116
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We stayed in the luxury self catering apartment and it was wonderful. The apartment was large, spacious and airy with a balcony and braai area, the bathroom is big with a wonderful bath and the place is fully outfitted. Jack, Mark and Gus gave us a warm welcome and were there whenever we needed anything, making us feel welcome at all times and supplying us with information, hints and friendly chats. The service was great, from the beginning when we initially enquired about the accommodation right through to after we had left. No complaints or criticisms in the slightest, definitely recommended and will be staying there again when we venture back that way.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Jack and Mark have created the B and B as it should be but often isn't! Comfortable, well run, peaceful and good value. Our stay was marked with unending care and kindness. nothing too much trouble and many unexpected details contributing to our enjoyment - restaurant and transport bookings and local knowledge and advice. Breakfast by the pool was a highlight and G and Ts were always available at the right time (and temperature). Walking distance to the beach, but you might fancy a cab to return. The self catering apartments are delightful.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De-novo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorschoten
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Best B&B of our whole trip to South Africa. Stay for longer than the one night we did ! Wonderful breakfast and excellent accommodation. Thoroughly recommended.
Gary Minnitt, Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJazza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

For a visitor from the UK it is a little intimidating driving through the suburbs of Durban?Umhlanga to find Manaar House as there is a lot of very serious security but once we were inside it was a friendly welcome from Gus and Mark we immediately relaxed. I cannot over emphasise it when I say NOTHING was too much trouble and breakfast was a real feast. As a base for Durban this is a great choice

It is clear to me that most people stay in a different room to ours. Unfortunately the main bedroom was very small and pokey and although we had a fantastic and spacious bathroom the room was not the sort of place you would want to spend any time in... just too small. So when you book request a big room or the apartment and I think you'll have a wonderful time and will be very well looked after.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bardsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We just returned from a four night stay at Manaar House and are sad that we didn't have more time to stay longer. Our wonderful hosts, Mark, Jack and Guss did a great job of ensuring a very comfortable stay and were excellent with recommendations of "things to do and see" and were spot on with a couple of restaurant suggestions. The Manaar House is situated close to some lovely beaches, restaurants and shopping centres and it was very easy to navigate our way around with Mark's guidance. Our room and huge full bathroom was very comfortable, clean and cosy. We were lucky enough to have a lovely sunny day on the first day of our stay and spent some time soaking up the sun on the loungers next to the pool and ended up having lovely "sundowners" on the terrace later the evening. They also have a jacuzzi for the not so sunny days, which we tried out the next couple of days as it was a bit rainy and overcast. Manaar House is perfect for any occasion: business trips, short romantic weekends away or just a place from where to explore the surrounds. We'll definitly be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

We stayed at Manaar House at the beginning of April prior to our wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our experience there. We stayed in Room 1 of the B&B. It was apartment style accommodation with an open plan lounge, kitchen and dining room downstairs, and a large bedroom, bathroom and balcony upstairs. The entire place was in immaculate condition and very stylish. We particularly liked the unique sofa arm covers!! We also liked the large balcony upstairs with sunloungers and a view of the sea. Before we left, we were told the room was due for a refurbishement - we would love to see what the room looks like after that as it was already very well maintained and decorated. Although we didn't get to use it (due to being too busy) there was a lovely pool area also. The added benefit is there is secure parking for each of the rooms, and they are very happy to help reverse your car up the very steep driveway!

The other thing we loved about Manaar House were our hosts. Jack and Mark were always on hand to offer directions, advice and also for general chat. One night we had a few family members over for dinner and they happily provided extra plates, knives and forks and also spent some time chatting away to my dad.

A noteable mention also goes Gus the dog who was a Great Dane crossed with a Rhodesian Ridgeback, although I think he may have some pony in him he was so hige. He took a particular shining to Tom and gave him a big slobbery kiss when he saw him! Don't worry if you are not a dog lover as they do not let him lose unless you want to pet him!

All in all, a great stay and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_andNicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,818 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manaar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manaar House

Property: Manaar House
Address: 16 Manaar Road, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manaar House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests have the choice of B & B or self catering accommodation. 2 luxury en-suite double bedrooms with full en-suite bathrooms (separate bath & shower) and 2 well appointed self catering units with modern, fully equipped kitchens. All bedrooms / apartments have satellite TV, air-conditioning, telephone, FREE wireless internet facilities and their own private entrance. Self catering apartments are also fully serviced. Barbeque facilities are available. Swimming pool and hot tub. 2 minutes drive to the beach and Umhlanga Centre. 5 minutes drive to Gateway. Secure undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manaar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing