We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Calla
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$428
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$446
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$425
Prestigia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
36
10
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
10
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

First time to South Africa, to participate in the Comrades. We were made to feel very welcome and part of the family, great facilities, beautiful surroundings and location. Quiet, comfortable and relaxing and just a few minutes walk into Umlangha. It exceeded our expectations and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who is looking to visit the area. Calla and Janelle great hosts and friends we will be visiting again. Thank you for your hospitality and for such a warm and welcoming experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soccerfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This bed and breakfast is very nice. first it is located in Umhlanga, which is on of the nicest neighborhoods around, 10 minutes walk to an amazing beach and to plenty of restaurants and cafes (on Chartwell drive)
the place itself is lovely, i loved all the small hotel-like touches (miniature shampoo, shower gel, body cream, soap), laundry bag in the closet, shower robes, welcome chocolates on the pillow :)
breakfast was good. It has a lovely pool, garden and braai area.
they also have free wifi.
the owner, Janelle, is really welcoming, friendly and lovely.
the only downside for me though, is that the rooms are not very well insulated. we were rather shocked when we were told that some people complained about us being noisy, as we're not the loud type at all! and just the day after, i could hear, from our room, people walking up and down the corridor, keys turning and doors opening and closing, sounds in the kitchen, the clatter of dishes and silverware, people talking, the phone ringing in the reception..., which is fine by me, but this shows that the rooms need better insulation!
and those old keys and locks could really use some renovation!
but other than that, it was a very pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DZohni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

In a pleasant part of town, easy & safe to walk to the beach & some great bars and restaurants. Well appointed b&b with friendly owner. Good breakfasts. Nice quiet garden & pool to chill out. Good value. Gay friendly.

If you are staying in Durban, seriously consider staying in Umhlanga - its a happier & safer place to be & easy to get in to town by car or taxi. Our time here was much nicer than when we stayed in Durban.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I chose Villa Calla, after a family member recommended it for its "amazing place", access & proximity to shops, the beach & all amenities & it looked great on the website. I used to live in Umhlanga but had never been to Villa Calla..It was EVERYTHING I was told it was. Janelle(a superb & warm owner),her husband Calla & their team were nothing short of a really warm welcome, helpful, a beautifully appointed room & superb breakfasts. It was a fantastic 10 days & I would recommend it to anyone visiting Umhlanga. Thank you one & all at Villa Calla.

Room Tip: I was in room 4, at the end of the passage. Large, well appointed and quiet with access to the garden and pool from your own patio.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umhlangababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Villa Calla is in an excellent position for walking access to the town and driving access to major routes.
Janelle is a wonderful hostess who looked after us extremely well. The rooms with separate access to the very attractive garden and pool are airy and well equipped. Good to have air conditioning as it was hot & humid during our stay.
Breakfasts are generous with a lovely selection of delicious things to eat.
Pool area very attractive and beautifully maintained as was every area of the B & B.
A must if we come back to this area. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillandhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews